Majority
Headnote
Insurance.—Clause against Incumbrances.—Mortgage.—Renewal of Policy.—Other Insurance Clause.—Examination of Assured.—Proof of Loss.—Clause against Foreclosure Proceedings.—Waiver.—Evidence of Identity.—Misrepresentation.This is an action upon a fire policy, insuring a barn, issued by the defendant to Oliver Merrill, loss payable to the plaintiff as mortgagee. The plaintiff recovered a verdict, and the defendant now seeks to reverse the judgment entered thereon, upon various grounds, which I will separately notice.
1. It was provided in the policy that it should be void “if all the liens (whether by mortgage, judgment or otherwise) on the property are not expressed hereon.” It was also provided that the application should form a part of the policy, and that the representations therein made should be considered warranties. In the application, to the question: “Is there any incumbrance by mortgage or otherwise, and for what amount?” Merrill answered: “ Yes, §2,500.” The date of the policy was March 6, 1876. The mortgage was for §2,500, and all the interest due had been paid ; but the interest thereon running from December 27, 1875, was unpaid. The mortgage was, therefore, a security for a little more than $2,500; and hence it is claimed that there was a breach of warranty. But the representa
2. At the date of the policy there was a small judgment docketed against Merrill, which was a lien upon the insured property ; but that judgment was paid in full in the fall after the date of the policy. That judgment was not noticed in the application or in the policy, and was unknown to the defendant; and it may therefore be assumed that it avoided the policy. But the policy contained this provision: “This insurance (the risk not being changed) may be continued for such further time as shall be agreed on, provided the premium therefor is paid and indorsed on this policy, or a receipt given for the same, and it shall be considered as continued under the original contract, and for the original amount and divisions, unless otherwise specified in writing ; but in case there shall have been any change in the risk, either within itself or otherwise, not made known to the company in writing by the assured at the time of renewal, this policy and renewal shall be void.”
This clause was designed to secure the company against any increase of risk in the renewal of the policy. It is clear that it was understood that the insurance was to be continued, if at the time of any application for a renewal, the representations contained in the original application remained true. This policy expired March G, 1877, and on that day the annual premium was paid, and it was renewed for another year. The certificate of renewal contained the words “providedalways that the original policy is in full force.” The claim now is that because the original policy was avoided on account of the judgment undisclosed at the date thereof, although afterward paid, the renewal did not take effect. We think otherwise Considering the language used in the policy and in the renewal certificate, and the manifest
3. On March 2, 1877, four days before the renewal certificate was issued, the plaintiff procured of the Home Insurance Company a policy insuring the same barn, loss payable to him as mortgagee, and this insurance was not mentioned in the policy or renewal certificate issued by the defendant, and was unknown to it. It is claimed that this insurance violated that portion of the defendant’s policy which provides that it should become void “if the assured now has, or shall hereafter make, any other insurance on the property hereby insured, or any part thereof (whether valid or not), without the consent of the company written hereon.” The answer to this is that the insured, Merrill, did not procure the further insurance, that he did not know of it until after the loss, and that the plaintiff was not his agent in any sense to procure such insurance. It is true, that Merrill’s mortgage contained a clause providing that he should keep the mortgaged buildings insured, and assign the policy to the plaintiff, and that in case of default on his part, the plaintiff might procure such insurance at his expense and add the amount paid therefor to the mortgage. JBtit that clause could not operate until there was default on the part of Merrill, and he could be put in default only upon refusal or neglect to procure the insurance after some sort of notice or demand. Be: sides, the plaintiff, in procuring that insurance, acted
There was no ratification by Merrill of that insurance in such way as to make the act of procuring it his act. He did not know of it until after the loss, and thus after the rights of the parties had become fixed. All he then did was, at the request of the plaintiff, to make the formal proof which was required to procure payment from the Home Insurance Company. If the act of procuring that insurance did not at the time operate to avoid defendant’s policy, it could not after the loss have such operation by relation.
4. Defendant’s policy contained a provision that the insured should, “if required, submit to an examination or examinations under oath by any person appointed by the company, and subscribe to such examinations when reduced to writing.” It is complained that this provision was violated. Merrill did, at the request of the defendant, submit to an examination under oath; but he declined to answer some of the questions put to him. He was bound only to answer such questions as had a material bearing upon the insurance and the loss—and I cannot perceive that the questions which he declined to answer had such bearing—and hence he was justified in his refusal to answer them.
5. It is said that the proofs of loss were not as full as they should have been in some particulars. They were received by the defendant and retained without any objection, and hence it cannot complain that they were defective. If it desired more, it should have returned the proofs and pointed out the defects.
6. I now come to a more serious objection to this recovery. The policy contains a provision that it
But we are of opinion that the claim of the plaintiff is well founded, that the forfeiture caused by the foreclosure proceedings was waived by the defendant. After the fire, and after the defendant had notice of the proceedings, it required the insured to appear before a person appointed by it for that purpose, to be examined under the clause in the policy herein-before mentioned, and he, was there subjected to a
When there has been a breach of a condition contained in an insurance policy, the insurance company may or may not take advantage of such breach and claim a forfeiture. It may, consulting its own interests, choose to waive the forfeiture, and this it may do by express language to that effect or by acts from which an intention to waive may be inferred, or from which a waiver follows as a legal result. A waiver cannot be inferred from its mere silence. It is not obliged to do or say anything to make the forfeiture effectual. It may wait until claim is made under the policy, and then, in denial thereof or in defense of a suit commenced therefor, allege the forfeiture. But it may be asserted broadly that if, in any negotiations or transactions with the insured after knowledge of the forfeiture, it recognizes the continued validity of the policy, or does acts based thereon, or requires the insured by virtue thereof to do some act, or incur some trouble or expense, the forfeiture is, as matter of law, waived ; and it is now settled in this court, after some difference of opinion, that such a waiver need not be based upon any new agreement or an estoppel (Allen v. Vermont Mutual Fire Ins. Co., 12 Vt. 366 ; Webster v. Phoenix, Ins. Co., 36 Wis. 67 ; Gans v. St. Paul Ins. Co., 43 Id. 109 ; Insurance Company v. Norton, 96 U. S. 234 ; Goodwin v. Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 480 , 493; Prentice v. Knickerbocker Life Ins. Co., 77 Id. 483 ; Brink v. Hanover Fire Ins. Co., in this court, not yet reported).
7. Some exceptions of minor importance remain to be examined. It was shown on the cross-examination of the defendant’s local agent, who was a witness for it, that Mr. Little, the general agent of the defendant, was at the location of the insured property in August, after the fire, and there investigated the circumstances of the loss. Afterward, the plaintiff was called as a witness on his own behalf, and he testified that in that month of August a person called upon him, representing himself as Mr. little, and as representing the company, and inquired about the foreclosure proceedings and the fire, and that they had a conversation about the foreclosure proceedings. He had never before seen Mr. Little, and all lie knew about his identity was what he then learned from him. This evidence was material to charge the defendant with knowledge at that time (which Avas before the insured Avas subjected to the examination above mentioned) of the foreclosure proceedings. Defendant’s counsel objected to the evidence as hearsay, on the ground that there was no proof of the identity of the person avIio had the conversation with the Avitness, and the objection Avas overruled. We think no error Avas committed. There was proof that Little was the general agent of the defendant, that he was in
The policy contained a provision that “ any fraud or attempt at fraud, or any misrepresentation in proofs of loss,' or examination, or any false swearing’, shall cause a forfeiture of all claim ” upon the company. The claim of the defendant upon the trial was that any mis-statement, however innocently made, under this provision was a cause of forfeiture. But the judge charged the jury that under this clause in the policy a mis-statement would not avoid the policy, if is was a mere mistaken expression of opinion ; but that the misstatement must be false and fraudulent. In this there was no error. Taking all the language used, and considering the purpose for which the clause was inserted, it cannot be supposed that for any innocent mis-statement there was to be a forfeiture.
Other exceptions have not been overlooked, but they do not deserve particular notice.
The judgment must be affirmed, with costs.
All the judges concurred.
Cases cited
- Bigler v. New York Central Insurance 22 N. Y. 402 p. 320
- Robertson v. Caw 3 Barb. 410 p. 320
- Underwood v. Farmers' Joint Stock Insurance 57 N. Y. 500 p. 320
- New York Bowery Fire Insurance v. New York Fire Insurance 17 Wend. 359 p. 320
- Colt v. Phoenix Fire Insurance 54 N. Y. 595 p. 320
- Ripley v. Ætna Insurance 30 N. Y. 136 at 164 p. 320
- Brink v. Hanover Fire Insurance 70 N. Y. 593 p. 320
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 320
- Pindar v. Resolute Fire Insurance 47 N. Y. 114 at 118 p. 321
- Brown v. Cattaraugus County Mutual Insurance 18 N. Y. 385 at 390 p. 321
- Tyler v. Ætna Fire Insurance 12 Wend. 507 p. 321
- Shearman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 46 N. Y. 526 at 532 p. 321
- Insurance Co. v. Norton 96 U. S. 234 p. 321, p. 328
- Pitney v. Glen's Falls Insurance 65 N. Y. 6 p. 321
- Lasher v. Northwestern National Insurance 55 How. Pr. 318 p. 321
- Insurance Companies v. Weides 14 Wall. 375 p. 322
- Wolf v. Goodhue Fire Insurance 43 Barb. 400 p. 322
- Pratt v. New York Central Insurance 55 N. Y. 505 p. 327
- Goodwin v. Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 73 N. Y. 480 at 493 p. 328