Majority
Headnote
[Reversing 44 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 163.]The plaintiff was nonsuited upon the ground that the cause of action stated in his complaint was for a tort, and rested upon allegations that his money was obtained from him by the false and fraudulent representations of the defendant. If that is the true and only proper construction of the complaint, the nonsuit was right, for no false representations as to facts were either alleged or proved. Those alleged were only that the artistic decorating business,’ into which the plaintiff was invited to put his capital, “would yield large profits,” and the only representation proved was “ that it was a good paying business.” The representations were promissory, and matter of opinion, and had respect to the developments of the future. There was nothing in them on which to found an action ex delicto.
But we do not think that is a just or proper construction of the complaint. It alleges no facts to sustain an action for a tort, but does allege facts sufficient to sustain an action on contract. Its allegations are these: that the plaintiff is an infant; that he loaned and advanced to the defendant, various sums of money, amounting to $401.95; that .thereafter defendant, by false and exaggerated representations of the profitable nature of his business, induced the plaintiff to become his partner; that plaintiff was thereby induced to agree to put $1,000 as capital into the business j that he did so, by allowing the previous loan to be applied on his share of capital and paying the balance in cash; that, becoming satisfied of the falsity of the representations, he demanded his money back, which was refused ; wherefore he demands judgment for $1,000. These allegations make a good cause of action on contract. The pleader may not have so intended, and he is certainly wrong in insisting that the mere numbered paragraphs of his complaint were so
Almost all the contracts of an infant are voidable and liable to be rescinded. This contract was of that character (Van Winkle v. Ketcham, 3 Caines, 323; Miltard v. Hewlett, 19 Wend. 301 ; Chapin v. Shafer, 49 N. Y. 407 ; Bool v. Mix, 17 Wend. 119 ; Stafford v. Boof, 9 Cow. 626 ; Goode v. Harrison, 5 Barn. & Ald. 159; Corpe v. Overton, 10 Bing. 252; Everett v. Wilkins,[2] 29 Law Times, N. S. 846; Green v. Green, 69 N. Y. 556 ). The infant avoided it, as he had a right to do. The proof shows that he had received no benefit from it, except the sum of $112.69, which on the trial he said had been paid him out of the business, arid which he offered to restore by deducting it from his claim, and asking judgment only for the balance, with interest (Heath v. Stevens, 48 N. H. 252 ). He, therefore, both alleged and proved a good cause of action on contract.
That there were allegations of fraudulent representations in the complaint, does not, of necessity, fix the
It follows, therefore, that the nonsuit was erroneous, and the plaintiff’s exception thereto well founded.
The judgment is reversed, and a new trial granted ; costs to abide the event.
All the judges concurred.
Judgment accordingly.
* Affirming 34 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 505. In Wheeler v. American Life Ins. Co., in the same court, November, 1880, the same principle was applied, reversing 16 Hun, 317 . In that case, plaintiff alleged that the insurance company, defendants, insured the life of John G-. Vose, and Vose assigned the policy and the moneys to bd paid under it to his children; he paid the premiums for 1870, 1871, and 1872; in 1873, defendants declared a dividend to policy holders, and the amount of Vosc’s dividend (it being less than his annual premium) they retained possession of; that Vose became insane, and by reason thereof unable to pay the premium of 1873, and died in that condition in 1874; that defendants did not untilafter his death assert any forfeiture of the policy; that, after his death, notice and proofs were given to defendants, and they refused to pay the policy; that, with the proofs, the policy was transmitted to and received by defendants, but they refused to grant a paid-up policy, and also refused to pay the amount of insurance to which the dividend, as an annual payment made on the premium day of 1873, would have entitled Vose. Besides these, were allegations as to guardianship, &o., of the children. The policy (which was made a part of the complaint) provided *7 that it was not to take effect until premiums were actually paid, and that it should cease and determine if any subsequent premium should not be paid when due; also, that if, after the payments of two or more annual premiums, the policy should cease and determine by default in the payment of any subsequent premium when due, then, notwithstanding such default, the company would grant a paid-up policy for such amount as the then present value of the policy would purchase as a single premium, provided the policy Should be transmitted to and received by the company, and due application be made for such paid-up policy. Upon these facts plaintiff claimed to be entitled to full payment upon the policy. Defendants demurred. The Supreme Court held that, as by reason of the forfeiture and the inadequacy of the dividend to pay the premium, plaintiff could not recover upon the policy as a whole, he could not be allowed, without amendment, to recover for'the refusal to give a paid-up policy, the former being a contract with Vose, and the latter obligation accruing .after his death. The Court of Appeals reversed the judgment, holding that, although the conclusion of the court below in regard to the recovery of the amount insured was correct, yet the facts in regard to the obligation to issue a paid-up policy being fully stated in the complaint, they entitled plaintiff to recover damages for an equivalent amount, and it was error to sustain a demurrer to the complaint. For other illustrations of this rule and its limitations, see, besides those cited in the text, the following cases: Wright v. Hooker, 10 N. Y. 51 ; Marquat v. Marquat, 12 Id. 336; Farron v. Sherwood, 17 Id. 227; New York Ice Co. v. Northwestern Ins. Co., 23 Id. 357; S. C., 12 Abb. Pr. 414 ; Jordan & Skaneateles Pl. R. Co. v. Morley, 23 N. Y. 552 ; Barlow v. Scott, 24 Id. 40; Wood v. Brown, 34 Id. 337; Davis v. Morris, 36 Id. 569; Bradley v. Aldrich, 40 Id. 504; Connaughty v. Nichols, 42 Id. 83; Dyckman v. Valiente, 42 Id. 549; Austin v. Rawdon, 44 Id, 63; Elwood v. Gardner, 10 Abb. Pr. N. S. 238; S. C., 45 N. Y. 319 ; affirming 9 Abb. Pr. N. S. 99; Hale v. Omaha National Bank, 49 N. Y. 626 ; reversing 33 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 40; Degraw v. Elmore, 50 N. Y. 1 ; Ross v. Mather, 51 Id. 108 ; reversing 47 Barb. 582 ; Ledwick v. McKim, 53 N. Y. 307 ; affirming 35 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 304; Wright v. Wright, 54 N. Y. 437 ; affirming 59 Barb. 505 ; Mills v. Bliss, 55 N. Y. 139 ; Sussdorf v. Schmidt, 55 Id. 319; Larned v. Hudson, 57 Id. 151; Rindge v. Baker, 57 Id. 209; Vilmar v. Schell, 41 Id. 564; affirming 35 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 67; Arnold v. Angell, 62 N. Y. 508 ; reversing 38 Super. Ct. (J. & S.) 27; Indianapolis, &c. Rw. Co. v. Tyng, 63 N. Y. 653 ; affirming 2 Hun, 311 ; S. C., 4 Sup’m. Ct. (T. & C.) 524; Pensylvania Coal Co. v. Delaware & Hudson Canal Co., *8 3 Abb. Ct. App. Dec. 470 ; Read v. Lambert, 10 Abb. Pr. N. S. 428; Barker v. Clark, 12 Abb. Pr. N. S. 106. The new rule introduced by the amendments of 1379 to section 549 of the Code of Civil Procedure,—providing that where it is alleged in the complaint that defendant was guilty of a fraud in contracting or incurring the liability, plaintiff cannot recover unless Improves the fraud, —might have made a difference in the conclusion reached by the court, in the case in the text, if the allegations of the pleading liad shown a case of fraud; but as the allegations were wholly inadequate, showing only promissory representations, that section seems not to be applicable.
Footnotes
- * In Everett v. Wilkins, the plaintiff, an infant, agreed to buy a one-half interest in the defendant’s business of keeping a public house. An installment of the purchase money was paid, and the plaintiff and his wife went to board at the public house. The plaintiff was not entitled to receive any profits untilhe had paid all his purchase money, although he participated in the management of the business. He rescinded the contract and sued to recover the amount he deposited. Held, that he was entitled to recover it back, less the amount expended for board. 1874, Everett v. Wilkins, 29 Law Times, 846. In Corpe v. Overton, the plaintiff, while a minor, agreed to enter into a partnership, and made a deposit of 100Z., which was to be forfeited if he did not complete the contract. Finding that he had been deceived as to value of the business,' he rescinded the contract as soon he became of age. Held, that he had a right to rescind and recover back the money, in an action for money had and received, as he had obtained no benefit from the contract. 1833, Corpe v. Overton, 10 Bing. 252 .
Cases cited
- Millard v. Hewlett 19 Wend. 301 p. 5
- Chapin v. Shafer 49 N. Y. 407 p. 5
- Bool v. Mix 17 Wend. 119 p. 5
- Stafford v. Roof 9 Cow. 626 p. 5
- Byxbie v. Wood 24 N. Y. 607 p. 6
- Neftel v. Lightstone 77 N. Y. 96 p. 6