Majority
Headnote
Hire insurance—'validity of a "binding slip," either as a renewal of a former policy or as an independent complete contract —proof of a custom substituting a different liability for that expressed by the slip, is inadmissible — a denial by the insurer of all liability excuses the insured from making tender of the premium ■— effect of knowledge by the insurer that a building stands on leased ground — construction of a statement that the insured, a tenant of the land, is the sole owner of the building insured.This cause has been tried three times. On the last trial it was presented on amended pleadings. ■ The trial judge directed a verdict for the plaintiff, and from the judgment entered thereon this appeal is taken.
The action was brought upon a contract purporting to be one of insurance, and by which, the plaintiff claimed, the full relation of assured and insurer vyas established between him and the defendant. That contract consisted of an instrument called a binding slip, which, was delivered by the defendant to insurance brokers employed by the plaintiff, and is in these words:
“Beecher & Benedict
“New York, 189
“Insure E. M. Van Tassel
“ $10,000 for 12 months, at “ On Building N. E. corner 13th Av. and W 11 St.,
“N. Y. City “ In Store.
“Binding this 1 day of Jany., at noon “ (this memo, to be void on delivery of the policy “ at the
“ office of Beecher & Benedict).
“Company Amount. Accepted.
“ Greenwich 10000 A.
“ Renewal
“ 559298 not in force
“WM. ADAMS.”
It appeared in evidence that the plaintiff, in the year 1889, held a policy of insurance issued by the defendant, which covered the premises mentioned in the binding slip and rah for one year from the 1st of January, 1889, and that that policy was renewed for the year 1890. Thereafter, and about the 1st of January, 1891, the binding slip was delivered by the defendant to the plaintiff’s brokers. No policy in form was issued subsequent to January 1, 1891, upon the risk mentioned in the binding slip. On the 13th or 14tli day of January, 1891, there was a total destruction by fire of the building mentioned in the contract.. It was held by the-General Term of the Supreme Court on a former appeal in this action ( 72 Hun, 145 ) that the binding slip was the equivalent of a renewal of the prior policy; that by that instrument the defendant contracted to continue its policy in force for $10,000 during, the year 1891; that the -slip bound the company as effectually as the usual renewal receipt issued by insurers, and that there was no way by which the -defendant could, without the plaintiff’s consent, terminate its contract, except in the mode provided in the policy. Upon an appeal to the Court of Appeals from the decision of the General Term, above mentioned, definition was not distinctly given to the full contract relations existing between the parties and arising upon this
It is contended, however, on the part of the appellant that the plaintiff was not entitled to recover because he failed to allege or prove that before suit brought he had either paid or tendered to the defendant a premium of insurance for $10,000. This point is urged, not as affecting the validity of the contract, but as' going to the right of the plaintiff to maintain an action upon the contract without actual payment or tender of- payment of the premium, as a condition precedent to his right to sue. In the complaint credit is given for the amount of premium on $10,000 (which was $75), and the recovery is for the amount of the insurance less that -premium. The defendant is not in a position to urge that objection, even if it were one that can be taken in any event. It is quite clear from the evidence that if any premium had been tendered, it would have been rejected by the-defendant. It does appear that immediately after the loss occurred, the plaintiff tendered a premium upon a risk assumed to be to the extent of $5,000 only, and that that was rejected, not on the ground of its insufficiency in amount, but on the specific ground that the defendant did not insure the building referred
It' is further urged that there can be no recovery by the plaintiff because he did not show that he owned the building mentioned in the contract of insurance, and the rule is invoked that a breach of warranty of ownership or a false representation as to the ownership avoids the policy. It is alleged in the complaint that at the time the loss occurred the plaintiff was the absolute owner in fee of the property and the building erected on the premises. That allegation of the complaint is denied.. There is no proof that the plaintiff owned the land Upon which the building was erected, but it does appear that that building stood upon leasehold ground/ In the absence of any proof of misrepresentation or concealment it was not necessary for the plaintiff to prove that he was the absolute owner in fee of the land; it was only necessary for him to show an insurable interest in the building. There was nothing in the binding slip, nor 'anything, so far as appears, stated at the time that slip was issued, concerning the plaintiff’s ownership of the property; but it does distinctly appear that the defendant knew that the plaintiff was not the owner in fee of the land and that the policies previously issued by it to the plaintiff were so issued with that knowledge. In other words, the defendant knew the building was on leased ground, and assuming that in some former application (which, however, does not appear) the statement was made that the plaintiff was the owner in tee of the property, all that- was-waived by the defendant. ( Van Schoick v. Niagara F. Ins. Co., 68 N. Y. 438 .) It appears from - the policy issued for the year-
It is further contended that the trial judge erred in refusing to allow the case to go to the jury upon the question whether or not the plaintiff consented to a cancellation of the insurance by acquiescence in the letter of June seventh of the defendant to the brokers. That matter was disposed- of by the Court of Appeals. The same circumstances and situation -with reference to the sending
The judgment must be affirmed, with costs.
Van Brunt, P. J., Barrett, Rúmsey and McLaughlin, JJ., concurred.
Judgment affirmed, with costs.
Cases cited
- Lipman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 121 N. Y. 454 p. 166