Majority
Headnote
Lloyds insurance policy—defense to an action thereon by an individual underwriter, that he has paid losses up to the limit of his liability — when not demurrable—when such limit of liability does not constitute a defense—objection that matter arising after the commencement of the action should be set up by a supplemental answer, how taken.We agree with the disposition of the demurrer made by the léarned court at Special Term, and also in its opinion,[1] delivered.
* The following is the opinion of Scott, J., delivered at Special Term.: Scott, J.: This is an action against an underwriter of a so-called Lloyds insurance policy.. The complaint contains the usual allegation showing the recovery of a judgment, against this same defendant as general manager and attorney in fact for the: underwriters of what was known as the People’s Fire Lloyds; that the defendant was himself an underwriter upon the policy upon which the loss occurred, and that .the special funds designated in the. policy as the primary source from-.which losses were to be paid has long since been exhausted. The defendant sets' up two defenses, one to the whole cause of action, and one partial, to both of which plaintiffs demur for insufficiency. By the. first defense the defendant seeks to avail himself of a limitation upon his individual liability contained in *329 the policy. The complaint as. it will be observed does not set forth the facts showing the loss under the policy or the amount of such loss as it would be necessary to do if the action was brought directly upon the policy, but merely alleges that there was a loss and that in an action against the general manager judgment was rendered fixing the loss and the liability upon the policy at a certain sum. This, of course, is the proper practice and finds its justification in a clause in the policy reading as follows: “ No action shall be brought to enforce the provisions of this policy, except against the general manager and attorney in fact, and representing all of the underwriters and each of the underwriters hereby agrees to abide the result of any suit so brought, as fixing his individual responsibility hereunder. Judgment entered in such an action shall be satisfied out of the premiums in the hands of the underwriters unexpended; if such premiums shall be insufficient, then out of the deposit made by the several underwriters; if both shall be insufficient, then out of the individual liability of the several underwriters as hereinbefore expressed and limited.” From this clause in the contract, which alone furnishes a ground for this action, it appears that theseveral underwriters did not pledge their individual liability to an unlimited extent, but only as “hereinbefore expressed and limited.” What that limitation was appears from another clause in the policy upon which the defendant relies, and which reads as follows: “The liability of each of the underwriters in case of any loss, and the amount insured by each underwriter shall be his proportionate part of the aggregate amount payable to the insured upon such loss,-and no one of the underwriters shall be, in any event, liable under this policy for an amount exceeding the sum of five hundred dollars. In no event or contingency shall any underwriter hereon be liable for any part of any other underwriter's-liability hereon, the liability assumed herein by each underwriter being separate and individual only, as if each underwriter had issued to the assured herein a separate policy; their liability being several and not joint; * * * and the total liability of each underwriter on all policies now or hereafter in force after the application of the'total unexpended premiums, shall not exceed’ twenty-five hundred dollars (the original subscription of §500 each being therein included).” The defendant alleges that as an underwriter of the People’s Fire Lloyds he has been compelled to pay and did pay after the issuance of the policy referred to in the complaint, on policies of insurance of said Lloyds, existing and in force at and after the time of issuance of plaintiffs’ policy, and after the application of the total unexpended premiums, a sum greatly in excess of §2,500, whence as he claims he has paid his total fixed liability as an underwriter and is not liable in any sum whatsoever to the plaintiffs. I am unable to see why this defense is insufficient. The only liability of defendant to plaintiff was that which was expressed in the contract between them, and that contract determines the nature and extent of the liability. When the-defendent entered upon such a contract it was his right to place such *330 limitations as he saw fit upon the obligations and liabilities which he assumed, and it was open to the plaintiffs to make the contract if its terms suited them, and to leave it alone if its terms did not suit them. Th,e entering upon it was purely optional with them, but if they did enter upon it they were bound to take it as it was made. The whole contract must be read together, and being so read it clearly appears, so that any one reading the policy must have seen it, that the individual liability of each underwriter .upon all policies outstanding dr to be .issued was not to exceed the sum named. There is nothing any more unreasonable in such a limitation than there is in any limitation an obligor may see fit to place upon his liability upon any contract he may see fit to enter upon. There is certainly nothing more unreasonable in the limitation than there is in'the limitation placed by law upon the individual liability of stockholders in ordinary fire insurance companies. The partial defense to which the plaintiffs demur sets up that on June 13,1903 (after the commencement of this action), the judgment against the general manager of the People’s Lloyds was reduced, on appeal, whereby the defendant, if liable at all, is liable in a less sum than that claimed in the complaint. Whatever liability the defendant may be under depends upon the judgment against the general manager, and of course his liability is lessened or wholly obliterated, as the case may be, if that judgment be reduced or reversed. The defendant’s point appears to be that, inasmuch as the modification took place after the commencement of this action, the plea of such modification should be contained in a supplemental, as distinguished from-an original or amended complaint. In my opinion this objection cannot properly be taken by demurrer, for the defense is sufficient upon its face, by whatever,name thé pleading containing it may be called. If the defense was improperly included- in the present answer the proper remedy was to strike it out. The answer now before me is styled an amended answer. It does hot show in what the amendment consists, but I am informed by brief of counsel that it does' not consist in the insertion of this partial defense, which was included in the original answer. The question then is whether modification of the original judgment haying taken place after the commencement of the action, but before answer, could properly be pleaded by the answer, or whether it was the duty of the defendant to first answer without reference to the modification, and then, serve a supplemental answer setting up the modification of the judgment. The question seems' to -be answered by section 544, Code Civil Procedure, which permits the service by either party of supplemental pleadings “ alleging material facts which occurred after his former pleading, or of which he was ignorant when it was made,” the obvious inference being that facts which occurred before the original pleading was drawn should be included therein. The demurrer must be Overruled, with-costs, with leave to plaintiff to withdraw demurrer and reply upon payment of costs within twenty days.
Dissent
It follows that the interlocutory judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
Van. Brunt, P. J., Patterson and O’Brien, JJ., concurred ; Ingraham, J., dissenting in part. •
This action is upon a policy of reinsurance. The 9tli clause of the complaint alleges that the policy contained the following pro
This allegation of the complaint is not denied, and, therefore, stands conceded. The first defense demurred to alleges that the policy of insurance mentioned in the complaint contained the following provision: “All policy holders who" shall sustain loss or damage from such fire or fires shall be entitled to recover as against each underwriter only that proportion of the adjusted claim on each policy which the aggregate of such claims shall bear to the total liability of each underwriter, as thus limited; and the total liability of each underwriter on all policies now or hereafter in force after the application of the total unexpended premiums shall not exceed twenty-five hundred dollars (the original subscription of $500 each being therein included).” It is also alleged “ that this defendant as an underwriter of the said People’s Fire Lloyds has been compelled to pay and did pay after the. issuance of the policy referred to in plaintiffs’ complaint, on policies .of insurance of the said People’s Fire Lloyds, existing and in force at and after the time of issuance of the said policy Ho. 102,388, and after the application of the total unexpended premiums received by said People’s Fire Lloyds, a sum greatly in excess of $2,500, his total fixed liability as an underwriter aforesaid, provided in the said policy aforesaid;” and “that having paid, as heretofore alleged, his total fixed, liability as an underwriter of the said People’s Fire Lloyds, this defendant is not liable in any sum whatsoever to the plaintiffs herein.” And the question is, whether this is a defense to a cause of action to recover against the defendant individually for a loss under the policy, the plaintiffs having recovered a judgment against the agent and attorney in fact which they have been unable to collect.
The whole policy is not made a part of the pleadings, the defend
If this is a good defense, then upon proof of this clause of the contract pleaded and the fact that the defendant has paid $2,500, the defendant will be entitled to judgment. If the defense fails to set tip facts as to the agreement which will discharge the defendant, then the defense is insufficient and the demurrer thereto should have been sustained. As pleaded, I do .-not think the defense is sufficient and I, therefore, think that the demurrer to it should have been sustained, I concur with Hr. Justice Hatch as to the second defense.
Judgment affirmed, with costs.