Majority
— Judgment, Supreme Court, New York County (Okin, J.), dated September 17, 1981 vacating respondents’ (essentially the New York City Police Pension Fund, Article II) determination denying petitioner service-connected accident disability retirement and directing that petitioner be granted such service-connected accident disability retirement, is unanimously reversed, without costs, on the law, and the petition is dismissed. The petitioner had the burden of proving that his loss of hearing was caused by a line-of-duty “accident”. (Matter of Drayson v Board of Trustees of Police Pension Fund of City of N. Y., Art. 2, 37 AD2d 378 , 380, affd 32 NY2d 852 .) The evidence adduced before the medical board and the board of trustees indicated that the petitioner had never complained of a hearing loss prior to the submission of his application for accidental disability retirement. The proof also showed that he might have sustained his hearing loss while exposed to combat during World War II. Moreover, it was possible to conclude from the evidence that petitioner did not sustain a loss of hearing during mandatory practice sessions on the pistol range. For 10 years he had voluntarily participated as a member of the police department’s fifth division pistol team. Upon
Concurrence
Petitioner, a sergeant in the New York City Police Department (Department), with 31 years of service, applied for a service-connected accidental disability retirement, pursuant to section B18-43.0 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York.[1] The basis for his claim was that during the course of his performance of duty he lost his hearing, and this resulted from continuous exposure to the noise of the police firing range. In 1946, at age 24, the petitioner was appointed a police officer. Prior to appointment, the Department tested his hearing and found it to be acceptable for regular duty. This court will take judicial notice of the fact that ever since New York City police officers have been armed, the Department has been committed to the objective that these officers attain the highest skill possible in the use of their service revolvers. Accordingly, the Department encouraged officer interest in firearms training. Among other things, the Department awarded two days off every four months to an officer 'who qualified as an “expert marksman”. Additionally, the Department sponsored pistol teams. In the early 1950’s, petitioner was detailed to the Department’s fifth division pistol team. For a decade he served on the team, first as a member and then as a supervisor. Besides practicing alone at the Department’s indoor firing ranges, he also participated in the team’s three weekly practice sessions that took place on these ranges. Every one of the 8 to 10 team members was required to fire at least 50 rounds of .38 calibre ammunition at each session. In addition, petitioner competed in departmental shooting matches. None of these indoor police ranges was soundproofed or had any other type of sound-deadening material on the walls or ceilings to muffle the explosions. Throughout this period of time, the Department did not provide its officers, including team members, with any type of personal protective equipment for their ears, even though an investigation conducted by the Department made it aware that its officers’ hearing was being imperiled by shooting on these indoor ranges. For example, in 1968, the Federal Bureau of Investigation had advised the Department that: “Numerous conferences have been held with Naval Hospital doctors
1 “§B18-43.0. Retirement; for accident disability — Medical examination of a member in city-service for accident disability and investigation of all statements and certificates by him or on his behalf in connection therewith shall be made upon the application of the commissioner, or upon the application of a member or of a person acting in his behalf, stating that such member is physically or mentally incapacitated for the performance of city-service, as a natural and proximate result of such city-service, and certifying the time, place and conditions of such city-service performed by such member resulting in such alleged disability and that such alleged disability was not the result of wilful negligence on the part of such member and that such member should, therefore, be retired. If such medical examination and investigation shows that such member is physically or mentally incapacitated for the performance of city-service as a natural and proximate result of an accidental injury received in such city-service while a member, and that such disability was not the result of wilful negligence on the part of such member and that such member should be retired, the medical board shall so certify to the board, stating the time, place and conditions of such city-service performed by such member resulting in such disability, and such board shall retire such member for accident disability forthwith. (As added by L.L. 1940, No. 2, March 29.)”
2 During World War II petitioner served as a clerk-typist in the United States Army Finance Department and seldom, if ever, heard a weapon fired.
Concurrence
Petitioner’s disability was not the result of an “accidental injury” as required by section B18-43.0 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York (Matter of Lichtenstein v Board of Trustees of Police Pension Fund of Police Dept. of City of N. Y., Art. II, 57 NY2d 1010 ).
Cases cited
- Drayson v. Board of Trustees 37 AD2d 378 at 380 p. 890
- Drayson v. Board of Trustees of Police Pension Fund 32 NY2d 852 p. 890
- Lichtenstein v. Board of Trustees 57 NY2d 1010 p. 891, p. 893, p. 894
- City of New York v. Schoeck 294 NY 559 p. 892
- Uniformed Firefighters Ass'n v. Beekman 52 NY2d 463 p. 893
- Manzolillo v. New York City Employees' Retirement System 87 AD2d 791 p. 894
- Arthur A. Johnson Corp. v. Indemnity Insurance 6 AD2d 97 at 100 p. 894
- Arthur A. Johnson Corp. v. Indemnity Insurance Co. of North America 7 NY2d 222 p. 894