Majority
In an action, inter alia, to recover damages for breach of contract and for a judgment declaring that the defendant is obligated to defend and indemnify the plaintiffs in an underlying personal injury action entitled Kubicsko v Westchester County Elec., Inc., commenced in the Supreme Court, Westchester County, under index No. 19179/10, the defendant appeals from an order of the Supreme Court, Westchester County (Walker, J.), dated January 16, 2013, which, inter alia, granted the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment declaring that the defendant is obligated to defend the plaintiffs in the underlying personal injury action and that the defendant’s policy is primary to any other coverage that the plaintiffs may have procured, and denied the defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment, inter alia, dismissing the complaint.
Ordered that the order is affirmed, with costs, and the matter is remitted to the Supreme Court, Westchester County, for the entry of a judgment declaring that the defendant is obligated to defend the plaintiffs in the underlying personal injury action, the defendant’s policy is primary to any other coverage that the plaintiffs may have procured, and the defendant is obligated to reimburse the plaintiffs for their out-of-pocket expenses incurred as a result of the defendant’s failure to defend.
Westchester County Electric, Inc. (hereinafter WCE), as tenant, and the predecessor-in-interest to Mack-Cali Realty Corporation and Mack-Cali CW Realty Associates, LLC (hereinafter together Mack-Cali), as owner, entered into a business lease. Among other things, under the terms of the lease, WCE was to obtain comprehensive general liability insurance and
The Supreme Court properly determined that Mack-Cali is entitled to a judgment declaring that NGM is obligated to defend it in the underlying personal injury action. An insurer’s duty to defend its insured is “exceedingly broad” (Regal Constr. Corp. v National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, PA, 15 NY3d 34 , 37 [2010] [internal quotation marks omitted]). “[A]n insurer will be called upon to provide a defense whenever the allegations of the complaint ‘suggest ... a reasonable possibility of coverage’ ” (BP A.C. Corp. v One Beacon Ins. Group, 8 NY3d 708 , 714 [2007], quoting Automobile Ins. Co. of Hartford v Cook, 7 NY3d 131 , 137 [2006]). “If [a] complaint contains any facts or allegations which bring the claim even potentially within the protection purchased, the insurer is obligated to defend” (BP A.C. Corp. v One Beacon Ins. Group, 8 NY3d at 714 , citing Technicon Elecs. Corp. v American Home Assur. Co., 74 NY2d 66 , 73 [1989]). “[A]n ‘[additional insured is a recognized term in insurance contracts . . . [and] the well-understood meaning of the term is an entity enjoying the same protection as the named insured’ ” (BP A.C. Corp. v One Beacon Ins. Group, 8 NY3d at 714-715 , quoting Pecker Iron Works of N.Y. v Traveler’s Ins. Co., 99 NY2d 391 , 393 [2003]). Thus, the standard for determining whether an additional insured is entitled to a defense is the same as that which is used to determine if a named insured is entitled to a defense (BP A.C. Corp. v One Beacon Ins. Group, 8 NY3d at 715 ).
It is undisputed that Mack-Cali is entitled to additional insured coverage only if liability arose out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of the leased premises. The phrase “arising out of’ has been interpreted to mean “originating from, incident to, or having connection with” and requires “only that there be some causal relationship between the injury and the risk for which coverage is provided” (Worth Constr. Co., Inc. v Admiral
In addition, the loading dock where the accident occurred was necessarily used for loading and unloading deliveries intended for WCE. Thus, by implication, it was part of the premises that WCE was licensed to use under the lease (see ZKZ Assoc. v CNA Ins. Co., 89 NY2d 990 [1997]; Ambrosio v Newburgh Enlarged City School Dist., 5 AD3d 410 [2004]). “[T]he perimeters of coverage afforded under the policy must be viewed not in strictly territorial terms but rather in operational terms covering the extent of control over the premises” that the lease vested in WCE (Maldonado v Kissm Realty Corp., 18 AD3d 627 , 628 [2005]). The use of the loading dock was incidental to the covered premises as a means of delivering packages to WCE in the operation of its business. The fact that the UPS worker may be found to have been negligent by attempting to use the loading dock to access the office on the interior of the building instead of using the stairs adjacent to the loading dock is irrelevant.
Accordingly, the injury arose out of the use of the leased premises and falls within the scope of the “additional insured” clause of the insurance policy (see Regal Constr. Corp. v National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, PA, 15 NY3d 34 [2010]).
Furthermore, the allegations that trigger a duty to defend also trigger an obligation to pay defense costs (see Federal Ins. Co. v Kozlowski, 18 AD3d 33 , 40 [2005]). Since NGM’s duty to defend under the terms of the policy is triggered by a “suit” against an insured, such duty arose upon the commencement of the underlying personal injury action (see HRH Constr. Interiors, Inc. v Royal Surplus Lines Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 115 [2005]).
The Supreme Court also properly determined that Mack-Cali is entitled to a judgment declaring that the NGM policy is primary to any other coverage which Mack-Cali may have procured. WCE procured the NGM policy, which, by endorsement, named
Accordingly, the Supreme Court properly granted Mack-Cali’s motion for summary judgment declaring that NGM is obligated to defend Mack-Cali in the underlying personal injury action and that the NGM policy is primary to any other coverage Mack-Cali may have procured.
NGM’s remaining arguments in opposition to Mack-Cali’s motion for summary judgment and in support of its cross motion for summary judgment are without merit. Accordingly, the Supreme Court also properly denied NGM’s cross motion for summary judgment, inter alia, dismissing the complaint.
Since this is a declaratory judgment action, we remit the matter to the Supreme Court, Westchester County, for the entry of a judgment declaring that NGM is obligated to defend Mack-Cali in the underlying personal injury action, NGM’s policy is primary to any other coverage that Mack-Cali may have procured, and NGM is obligated to reimburse Mack-Cali for the out-of-pocket expenses incurred as a result of NGM’s failure to defend (see Lanza v Wagner, 11 NY2d 317 , 334 [1962]).
Dillon, J.E, Hall, Sgroi and Barros, JJ., concur.
Cases cited
- Regal Construction Corp. v. National Union Fire Insurance 15 NY3d 34 at 37 p. 906, p. 907
- BP Air Conditioning Corp. v. One Beacon Insurance Group 8 NY3d 708 at 714 p. 906
- Automobile Insurance v. Cook 7 NY3d 131 at 137 p. 906
- Technicon Electronics Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co. 74 NY2d 66 at 73 p. 906
- Pecker Iron Works of New York, Inc. v. Traveler's Insurance 99 NY2d 391 at 393 p. 906
- Maroney v. New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance 5 NY3d 467 at 472 p. 907
- Jenel Management Corp. v. Pacific Insurance 55 AD3d 313 p. 907
- ZKZ Associates LP v. CNA Insurance 89 NY2d 990 p. 907
- Ambrosio v. Newburgh Enlarged City School District 5 AD3d 410 p. 907
- Maldonado v. Kissm Realty Corp. 18 AD3d 627 at 628 p. 907
- Federal Insurance v. Kozlowski 18 AD3d 33 at 40 p. 907
- HRH Construction Interiors, Inc. v. Royal Surplus Lines Insurance 16 AD3d 115 p. 907
- William Floyd School District v. Maxner 68 AD3d 982 p. 908
- Lanza v. Wagner 11 NY2d 317 at 334 p. 908