Majority
Appeals from eight decisions of the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board, filed November 26, 2013, which ruled, among other things, that CR England Inc. was liable for additional unemployment insurance contributions on remuneration paid to claimants and others similarly situated.
CR England Inc. is a for-hire authorized motor carrier under permit from the US Department of Transportation, with headquarters in Utah. Claimants, who are New York residents, performed services for CR as long-haul tractor-trailer truck drivers transporting freight throughout the continental United States, pursuant to an agreement providing that they were independent contractors (hereinafter the agreement). After claimants applied for unemployment insurance benefits, the Department of Labor (hereinafter DOL) determined that claimants and others similarly situated were employees rather
Initially, CR contends that claimants did not engage in covered employment within New York as defined in Labor Law § 511 (3) (c). This claim is raised for the first time upon appeal. We reject CR’s contention that it is jurisdictional and may therefore be asserted at any time. The Labor Law charges DOL and the Board with the duty of determining whether a claimant engaged in covered employment (see Labor Law §§ 511, 597, 621 [3]). In carrying out this statutory obligation, a determination that a claimant was not so engaged results in a finding that the claimant is ineligible for unemployment insurance benefits, but does not affect the agency’s jurisdiction over the claim (see e.g. Matter of Allen [Commissioner of Labor], 100 NY2d 282 , 287-288 [2003]). As this contention was thus required to be preserved, it is not properly before this Court and will not be considered (see Matter of Horvath [Residence Inn/Buffalo Lodging Assoc., L.L.C. —Commissioner of Labor], 32 AD3d 1089 , 1089 [2006]; Matter of Altman [Commissioner of Labor], 3 AD3d 658 , 659 [2004]).
The Board did not err in determining that the hearing requests relative to Stevens and Murtagh were untimely. “Pursuant to Labor Law § 620 (2), an employer has 30 days to request a hearing after the mailing or personal delivery of a notice of determination from which it claims to be aggrieved” (Matter of Preyer [Dische —Commissioner of Labor], 121 AD3d 1216 , 1216 [2014], appeal dismissed 24 NY3d 1204 [2015], lv denied 25 NY3d 906 [2015] [citation omitted]; accord Matter of Tartaglia [Aegis Capital Corp. —Commissioner of Labor], 128 AD3d 1304 , 1305 [2015]; see 12 NYCRR 461.2). As to Stevens, DOL issued a notice of determination dated January 17, 2008 finding that he was an employee and not an independent contractor. This determination further directed CR to submit amended quarterly reports and to pay contributions on Stevens’ earnings and those of all other similarly employed persons dating back to “at least the first quarter of 2005.” On January 25, 2008, DOL issued a separate determination awarding him benefits. CR submitted a request for a hearing dated February 25, 2008. This request referenced only the determination of
CR’s February 25, 2008 request for a hearing was filed within the statutory period applicable to the January 17, 2008 determination, as it is deemed to have received that determination no later than five business days following the date on the determination (see 12 NYCRR 461.2). Nonetheless, the inferences to be drawn from the language of the February 25, 2008 request posed factual issues for the Board to resolve. On this record, the Board was not bound to conclude that the limited request made by CR encompassed either the January 17, 2008 determination or the issue of Stevens’ classification, and we thus defer to the Board’s determination of this issue (compare Matter of Chism [Community Blood Council of Greater N.Y.— Levine], 42 AD2d 914 , 915 [1973]).
DOL issued a notice of determination relative to Murtagh on April 18, 2008, which classified him as an employee, but later determined that he was ineligible for benefits on another ground. CR was aggrieved by the classification determination, which imposed the same requirements upon CR as the classification determination pertaining to Stevens. Nevertheless, CR failed to request a hearing until July 2, 2008. Although CR argues that its delays in both instances should be excused, as it reasonably believed that it was not aggrieved for unemployment insurance purposes if no benefits were awarded, “the statutory time period in which to request a hearing is to be strictly construed, and the statute contains no provision permitting an extension of time in which an employer can request a hearing” (Matter of Rago [Resource One, Inc .—Com missioner of Labor], 22 AD3d 1002 , 1002 [2005]; accord Matter of Hickman [Maximum Litigation Support Servs., LL C—Com missioner of Labor], 111 AD3d 1000 , 1000 [2013]; Matter of Agarwal [Bilingual Seit & Preschool, Inc. —Commissioner of Labor], 108 AD3d 807 , 808 [2013]). Accordingly, the Board’s timeliness determinations will not be disturbed.
As to the classification of claimants as employees rather than independent contractors, “[w]hether an employer-employee relationship exists is a question of fact, to be decided on the
CR further asserts that the trucking industry is heavily regulated and that many provisions in the agreement that appear to limit or control its relationship with claimants — such as requirements obliging claimants to display signs indicating that their trucks were being operated by CR and prohibiting them from carrying passengers without CR’s consent — are in fact required by federal statutes and regulations. We agree that compliance with government requirements, by itself, “should not be found to be dispositive of an employee-employer relationship” (Matter of Choto v Consolidated Lbr. Transp., Inc., 82 AD3d 1369 , 1370 [2011]; see 49 CFR 376.12 [c] [1]; see generally Matter of Leazard [TestQuest, Inc. —Commissioner of Labor], 74 AD3d 1414 , 1414-1415 [2010]; Matter of Wannen [Andrew Garrett Inc. —Commissioner of Labor], 57 AD3d 1029 , 1030 [2008]). However, here the Board did not rely solely upon required regulatory terms but, instead, found that the agreement went beyond regulatory requirements in several respects that gave CR control over the means by which claimants fulfilled their work responsibilities.[1]
CR required claimants to use electronic on-board recorders in their trucks and installed them at CR’s cost if claimants’
* The regulations require motor carriers to establish safety management controls and maintain satisfactory safety ratings (see 49 CFR 385.5, 385.7 [a], [b]; 390.11). The Board erred insofar as it determined that CR exceeded its regulatory obligations by requiring claimants to undergo retraining when CR deemed it necessary; this met, but did not exceed, these regulatory standards.
Lahtinen, J.R, Lynch and Devine, JJ., concur. Ordered that the decisions are affirmed, without costs.
Cases cited
- In re Claim of Allen 100 NY2d 282 at 287-288 p. 936
- In re the Claim of Altman 3 AD3d 658 at 659 p. 936
- In re the Claim of Preyer 121 AD3d 1216 at 1216 p. 936
- In re the Claim of Tartaglia 128 AD3d 1304 at 1305 p. 936
- In re the Claim of Rago 22 AD3d 1002 at 1002 p. 937
- In re the Claim of Hickman 111 AD3d 1000 at 1000 p. 937
- In re the Claim of Agarwal 108 AD3d 807 at 808 p. 937
- In re Charles A. Field Delivery Service, Inc. 66 NY2d 516 at 521 p. 938
- In re the Claim of Short 233 AD2d 676 at 677 p. 938
- Claim of Choto v. Consolidated Lumber Transport, Inc. 82 AD3d 1369 at 1370 p. 938
- In re the Claim of Leazard 74 AD3d 1414 at 1414-1415 p. 938
- In re the Claim of Wannen 57 AD3d 1029 at 1030 p. 938
- In re Claim of Wright 58 AD3d 988 at 989-990 p. 939
- RSM West Lake Road LLC v. Town of Canandaigua Zoning Board of Appeals 12 NY3d 843 p. 939