Majority
Proceeding pursuant to CPLR article 78 (transferred to this Court by order of the Supreme Court, entered in Albany County) to review a determination of respondent finding, among other things, that petitioner had engaged in untrustworthy conduct, and imposed a fine.
At all times relevant, petitioner was licensed in this state as an insurance agent/broker. In 1999, petitioner was contacted by Mutual Benefits Corporation (hereinafter MBC), a Florida-based company, about the possibility of becoming a sales agent for its products. Thereafter, between 2001 and 2004, petitioner sold viatical settlement agreements to investors on behalf of MBC.
During the relevant time period, petitioner sold approximately 400 interests in viatical settlements to roughly 200 clients, and each client signed a 23-page, largely single-spaced contract with MBC. In conjunction therewith, MBC provided its agents with “ad slicks” or advertisements to assist in marketing the viatical settlements. The advertisement selected by petitioner in 2001 proclaimed “NOW THERE’S A BETTER ALTERNATIVE TO THE TRADITIONAL CD OR ANNUITY,” indicated that investors would “EARN 12-72% DOUBLE-DIGIT FIXED RETURN” and advised that “12, 18, 24, 48, 60 or 72 Month Plans” were available. No mention of viatical settlements was made in the advertisement, and no disclaimers were contained therein. Although petitioner sold interests in viatical settlements to many of his existing clients, at least two individuals contacted petitioner in response to this advertisement.[1] MBC paid petitioner a commission — between 1.5% and 12% — for each interest in a viatical settlement that he sold.[2]
1 Although the former Department of Insurance investigated this advertisement in 2003 for compliance with the provisions of Insurance Law § 2122, which governs advertising by insurance producers, the Department subsequently closed its file — concluding that the matter was “outside of [its] jurisdiction.”
2 In 2004, the Securities and Exchange Commission accused MBC of engaging in a Ponzi scheme based upon, among other things, its failure to escrow sufficient funds in a reserve account to pay the future premiums due on the subject policies, thereby resulting in a loss to investors of millions of *1402 dollars. A federal court subsequently authorized the Securities and Exchange Commission to seize MBC’s assets and place the company into receivership, whereupon investors were given the option of retaining, selling or forfeiting their interests in the viatical settlement(s) purchased. Although the insurance policies themselves survived, petitioner acknowledged that, “in most instances],] there was no premium reserve account remaining to pay future premiums” on the subject policies; hence, those investors “who wished to retain their interest[s] were responsible for future premiums on a prof ]rata basis as provided in the fc]ontract” with MBC.
Initially, we reject petitioner’s contention that respondent is collaterally estopped from relying upon the relevant newspaper advertisement to sustain the finding of untrustworthiness. According to petitioner, because the former Department of Insurance looked into the advertisement in 2003 in terms of its compliance with the provisions of Insurance Law § 2122 and thereafter closed its file, concluding that the matter was “outside of [its] jurisdiction,” respondent cannot now be heard to complain that the subject advertisement was misleading. Contrary to petitioner’s assertion, this brief and investigative inquiry, which did not include any sort of evidentiary hearing or formal administrative adjudication, does not constitute the type of quasi-judicial determination subject to collateral estop-pel (see generally Auqui v Seven Thirty One Ltd. Partnership, 22 NY3d 246 , 255 [2013]; ABN AMRO Bank, N.V. v MBIA Inc., 17 NY3d 208 , 226-227 [2011]).
Here, the finding that petitioner demonstrated untrustwor-thiness is grounded upon the misleading newspaper advertisement placed by petitioner and his failure to fully explain to certain clients the risks associated with viatical settlements. “The standard to be applied to determine whether an advertisement is misleading is not whether it is deceptive to the hypothetical reasonable person, but to ‘the ignorant, the unthinking and the credulous who, in making purchases, do not stop to analyze but are governed by appearances and general impressions’” (DeSantis v Sears, Roebuck & Co., 148 AD2d 36 , 38 [1989], quoting Guggenheimer v Ginzburg, 43 NY2d 268 , 273 [1977]; see DeAngelis v Timberpeg E., Inc., 51 AD3d 1175 , 1178 [2008]). As noted previously, the advertisement placed by petitioner boldly proclaimed “NOW THERE’S A BETTER ALTERNATIVE TO THE TRADITIONAL CD OR ANNUITY,” represented that investors would “EARN 12-72% DOUBLE-DIGIT FIXED RETURN” and indicated that “12, 18, 24, 48, 60 or 72 Month Plans” were available. No mention of viatical settlements was made in the advertisement, and no disclaimers were contained therein.
We reach a similar conclusion with respect to the finding that respondent failed to fully disclose the risks of viatical settlements to some of his clients. In this regard, respondent clarified — and the record confirms — that there is no dispute surrounding the terms of the contracts that the individual investors entered into and/or any of the written materials
Finally, to the extent that petitioner argues that respondent’s determination is internally inconsistent, we disagree. The mere fact that respondent, in reducing the penalty imposed
3 As noted in respondent’s determination, “[t]hese materials disclose[d], in plain language, the nature of the contract, that it was the purchase of an interest in a life insurance policy, that the insured had to die before any payments would be received by the investor, that the life expectancies were estimates and not guaranteed to be accurate, and that, under certain circumstances, the investor might have to pay premiums.”
4 It is apparent from petitioner’s testimony, however, that — in terms of describing the nature and risks of viatical settlements — he relied more upon the language of the subject contracts than his “discussion[s]” with individual clients.
Peters, P.J., McCarthy, Rose and Mulvey, JJ., concur.
Adjudged that the determination is confirmed, without costs, and petition dismissed.
Cases cited
- Auqui v. Seven Thirty One Ltd. Partnership 22 NY3d 246 at 255 p. 1402
- ABN AMRO Bank, N.V. v. MBIA Inc. 17 NY3d 208 at 226-227 p. 1402
- Sullivan Financial Group, Inc. v. Wrynn 94 AD3d 90 at 94 p. 1403
- Herman v. Serio 28 AD3d 909 at 910 p. 1403
- McKie v. Corcoran 162 AD2d 535 at 536 p. 1403
- Universal Systems Insurance Agency, Inc. v. State of New York Insurance Department 278 AD2d 238 at 238 p. 1403
- DeSantis v. Sears, Roebuck & Co. 148 AD2d 36 at 38 p. 1403
- Guggenheimer v. Ginzburg 43 NY2d 268 at 273 p. 1403
- DeAngelis v. Timberpeg East, Inc. 51 AD3d 1175 at 1178 p. 1403
- Dona v. Levin 263 AD2d 602 at 604 p. 1405
- Schermerhorn v. Lewis 86 AD2d 934 at 935 p. 1405