Majority
Headnote
Fiee Insurance—Policy to Mortgagee—Notice op Change op Ownership—Record op Undelivered Deed—Nonacceptance.—Under a policy of fire insurance issued to a mortgagee, a condition that the mortgagee shall give notice of any change of ownership in the mortgaged property, is not broken by a failure to give notice of a recorded deed which was never in fact delivered to the grantee, and which he refused to accept, and which did not therefore result in a change of ownership.This action is brought jointly against the two companies defendants upon a fire insurance policy issued by defendant, the American Insurance Company, September 6, 1893. The plaintiff is mortgagee of the land upon which the building insured was situated. Judgment went in his favor in the court below, and the appeal is taken from the judgment and an order denying a new trial.
At the date of the issuance of the policy the legal title to the land was in James E. Gordon, who had purchased it from J. F. Sullivan, who, prior to the sale to Gordon, had executed a mortgage* to the plaintiff to secure the sum of over eleven hundred dollars. The amount of the policy was a thousand dollars; and the loss, if any should occur, was made payable to the mortgagee. ‘ The mortgage clause accompanying the policy provided: -“That this insurance, as to the interest of the mortgagee or trustee only therein, shall not he invalidated by any act or neglect of thé mortgagor or owner of the property insured, or by the occupation of the premises for purposes more hazardous than are permitted by the terms of this policy; . . . . provided, also, that the mortgagee or trustee shall notify this company of any change of ownership or increase of’hazard which shall come to his or their knowledge, and shall have permission for such change of ownership or increase of hazard duly indorsed on this policy.”
In December, 1893, Gordon reconveyed the premises hack to Sullivan and assigned the policy to him, and this transfer and assignment were approved by the company.
The premises insured were located in the city of Los Angeles, and the policy of insurance- was issued by J. K. Mullcey, the agent of the American Insurance Company, residing there at that time. On May 9, 1894, one W. W. Beach, a tenant occupying the premises insured, had some negotiations with Sulli
The building insured was destroyed by fire on Hay 19th, ten days after the date of the deed from Sullivan and wife to Taylor, and a short time thereafter Beach, who held a general power of attorney from Taylor, as such attorney executed a deed back to Sullivan.
It is claimed on the part of the appellants, and this is really the main ground of defense, that the execution of the deed by Sullivan, as stated, amounted to a change of ownership of the property, and that the defendants did not receive the notice thereof as required by the conditions of the mortgage clause. But the transaction in question did not amount to a change of ownership of the property, and the finding of the court accordingly is abundantly supported by the testimony. The paper executed by Sullivan and wife never took effect as a deed to Taylor. “A grant takes effect, so as to vest the interest intended to be transferred, only upon its delivery by the grantor.” (Civ. Code, sec. 1054.) In Hastings v. Vaughn, 5 Cal. 316 , it was said: “Delivery is a question of fact depending more upon intention than upon the mode of fulfilling the intention.” In Hibbard v. Smith, 67 Cal. 547 , 56 Am. Rep. 726 , it was said: “The act, solemn and authentic, done in writing in form apt for the conveyance of land with signature and seal, does not take effect as a deed until delivery with intent that it shall operate. The intent with which it is delivered is important. This restricts or enlarges the effect of the instrument.” Even where the grantee is in possession of the deed, though that may raise a presumption of delivery, still “it may be shown by parol evidence that a deed in possession of the grantee was not delivered.” (Devlin on Deeds, secs. 294, 295.) The intention as
In March, 1894, a written contract was entered into between the American and Northwestern, by which, in consideration of certain money and property given by the former to the latter and payment by the American to the Northwestern of a certain pro rata of unearned premiums, the Northwestern assumed all the liabilities of the American upon all its policies, among which it is admitted the policy in question in this action was included." In the contract between the companies the Northwestern covenanted that it “will make as prompt adjustments and payments of loss, if any, under any and all of its policies of the said American Insurance Company hereby reinsured, as it would under its own policies if issued direct to said assured. Thereafter all the agencies of the American Company in California were revoked, and the Northwestern took the entire control and management of all matters arising out of said policies and the adjustment of
It is argued by appellants’ counsel that the contract between the companies referred to, and their subsequent action in carrying it out, amounted to nothing more than a naked contract of reinsurance under the code, which reads as follows: “A contract of reinsurance is one by which an insurer procures a third person to insure him against loss or liability by reason of such original insurance.” (Civ. Code, sec. 2646.) The facts in this case show the contract in question to be much broader than a mere technical reinsurance. In Arnold v. Lyman, 17 Mass. 400 , 9 Am. Dec. 154 , it is said: “The promise being not to Hutchins expressly, but general in its form, the assent of the creditors made them parties to the promise; and this assent is sufficiently proved, as respects the plaintiffs, by their bringing an action upon the contract.” (See, also, Morgan v. Overman etc. Co., 37 Cal. 534 ; Flint v. Cadenasso, 64 Cal. 83 ; Lockwood v. Canfield, 20 Cal. 126 .)
The finding of the court that under the said agreement between the companies defendants the Northwestern National Insurance Company assumed and undertook the care, control, and management of the business and risks of the said American Insurance Company in this state, including the policy of insurance sued on herein, is fully supported by the evidence. The holders of policies issued by the American Company in this state • could avail themselves of said promise and undertaking made for their benefit by the Northwestern Company, and, as said in the eases cited, the bringing of suit is sufficient evidence of assent on the part of the plaintiff to said agreement and undertaking. The law creates the privity necessary for the maintenance of the action. The Northwestern was jointly liable with the American on said policy, and the proof of loss was sufficient.
The judgment and order appealed from are affirmed.
McFarland, J., Garontte, J., and Harrison, J., concurred.
Temple, J., dissented.
Cases cited
- Wenzel v. Commercial Insurance Co. 67 Cal. 438 p. 465
- California State Bank v. Hamburg-Bremen Insurance 71 Cal. 11 p. 465
- Shuggart v. Lycoming Fire Insurance Co. 55 Cal. 408 at 414 p. 465
- Galantshik v. Globe Fire Insurance 10 Misc. Rep. 369 p. 465
- Hand v. Williamsburgh City Fire Insurance 57 N. Y. 41 p. 465
- Commercial Union Assurance Co. v. American Central Insurance Co. 68 Cal. 430 p. 465
- Hall v. Railroad Companies 13 Wall. 367 p. 466
- Monticello v. Mollison 17 How. 152 p. 466
- Hibberd v. Smith 67 Cal. 547 p. 467
- Black v. Sharkey 104 Cal. 279 p. 468
- Morgan v. Overman Silver Mining Co. 37 Cal. 534 p. 470
- Flint v. Cadenasso 64 Cal. 83 p. 470
- Lockwood v. Canfield 20 Cal. 126 p. 470