Majority
Headnote
Life Insurance—Renewable Term Policy—Guaranty Fund—Reserve Fund—Construction of Statute against Forfeiture.—The guaranty fund provided for. upon a renewable term policy of life insurance without re-examination, must be construed the same as the “reserve” fund on an ordinary life policy, within the meaning of the New York statute, the purpose and object of which is to prevent a forfeiture of the policy by non-payment of premiums where there was a fund in the hands of the insurers belonging to the insured which might be applied to extend the insurance or purchase a paid-up policy. The spirit of the statute requires a broad meaning to be given to it for the benefit of the insured.Action to recover twenty-five hundred dollars upon a policy of life insurance. The case was tried with a jury, and verdict rendered for plaintiff for the amount claimed. Judgment was accordingly entered, and from the judgment and order denying a new trial the defendant appeals.
On January 21, 1893, the defendant, in consideration of a premium of $43.70, issued its policy of insurance by which it promised to pay Mathilda Nielsen, wife of John Nielsen, twenty-five hundred dollars, within sixty days after proof of the death of John Nielsen, provided such death should occur
The plaintiff argues in support of the third count that, un
There is no serious contention that there was not on January 21, 1896, in the hands of the insurance company, the amount of $5.10 in excess of the expense charges and death-losses' which had not been used by the company towards offsetting any increase in the premium, and which properly be
Appellant contends, however,' that it is a misnomer to call this amount a reserve. The cost of insurance for any year is the actual sum which will reimburse the insurer for its outlay, including death claims and operating expenses. Any excess in the premium over this sum is a fund held by the insurer for the benefit of the insured in certain contingencies. If the policy is for the whole period of life, and having a yearly premium, the excess thus paid in the earlier years of the policy is used to apply on the cost of insurance of the later years, thus reducing the premium and lightening the burden of keeping up the insurance as age advances. If the policy is for life, and requires yearly payments for a certain number of years, the effect is the same; the excess of the first years is applied to reduce later premiums. If, as in this case, there is an unqualified agreement to insure for one year only, accompanied by an additional agreement to renew the insurance from year to year without re-examination, on the payment of a fixed annual or semi-annual premium, and the further agreement that the excess of such premiums over operating expenses and the insured’s share of death-losses shall constitute a guaranty fund to apply in reduction of, or as an offset to, later premiums, and after five years to extend the insurance in case of lapse, if there is any excess, the effect is the same. If the policy continues, the excess is used to reduce future premiums; if it lapses, the excess is applicable to a reinsurance, or extension, the same as an ordinary reserve. The only real difference between this policy and an ordinary life policy with respect to the existence of a reserve is, that in an ordinary policy both the reserve and the premiums are calculated on estimated death-losses, based on mortality tables, and this estimate is not corrected by the actual losses as they occur; whereas, under this policy, the premiums are fixed with reference to estimated death-losses, and the guaranty fund,
It is claimed that the New York statute has no application to policies of insurance for a single year, with an agreement for reinsurance at a fixed rate, as in this case. What has been said disposes of this claim. The fact that the guaranty fund is substantially the same thing as a reserve clearly makes the statute apply to policies of the class here in question as well as to ordinary life policies. It refers by its own terms to “any policy of life insurance . . . after being in force three years,” and there is nothing in its purpose or object, or in the condition of this policy as we have interpreted it, which requires policies of this class to be excepted from the broad meaning of the words here used.
It is also clear that the statute of New York must be considered as a part of the contract of insurance and inserted for the purpose of a construction of the policy, as an additional provision, with the same effect as if it had been originally incorporated therein.
The statute in question provides that the reserve shall be applied “as shall have been agreed in the application and policy,” either to continue the insurance or purchase a paid-up policy. It does not appear that either the application or the policy contains any agreement with reference to the application of this reserve. If such agreement was necessary in order to give this part of the statute effect, it would follow that, as the option given by the statute had not been exercised at the
It is not necessary that the demand and surrender of the policy referred to in the statute should be made before the death of the insured. The provision in the statute concerning a “demand made” does not expressly require that this, “demand” shall come from the insured. And inasmuch as. any other construction of the statute might result in a forfeiture of her rights, we will give the statute a liberal, and at the same time a not unreasonable, construction, and hold that this demand may be made by the beneficiary, the only party really interested in the policy after the death of the insured. The contract of insurance does not require any demand. The statute does not say that the demand shall be made in the lifetime of the insured, nor by the insured. It is but natural that the demand should come from the real party in- interest, and the legislature could not have intended that it should come from any other source after the death of the insured. In case a choice of a paid-up policy is made, it is to be considered as a policy issued at the date of the lapse, and the same is true where the choice is for an extension of the insurance. In that case the extension is manifestly to be deemed as having been made at the time of the default, although the option to take such extension was not exercised until after the death of the insured. The principle that under such-circumstances a demand may be made after the death of the insured was decided in Wheeler v. Connecticut Mutual Life Ins. Co., 82 N. Y. 554 .[1] In that case the policy provided that upon a lapse or forfeiture the company would grant a paid-up policy for such amount as the dividend would purchase, upon
1 37 Am. Rep. 594 .
So far as the surrender of the policy is concerned, we thfnir the conduct of the defendant was a waiver of any surrender that might have been necessary under the strict terms of the policy or of the statute which we have been considering. It is alleged in the complaint, and not denied in the answer, “that immediately subsequent to the death of said John Nielsen the defendant expressly disclaimed and denied any and all liability under or by virtue of said policy arising from the-death of said John Nielsen, and informed the plaintiff that it would not pay the amount named in said policy, nor any part thereof.”
It is plain from what has been said that the plaintiff was entitled to recover upon the third count of her complaint. It will therefore be unnecessary to consider the other counts of the complaint or the appellant’s objection appertaining to them. We can presume, for the sake of upholding the judgment and verdict, that they were based upon the count in the complaint which we have found to be good, and which the evidence supports, and in this view the other counts and the objections that go with them are of no further consequence.
The objections to certain instructions and evidence appertaining to the third count have been carefully examined, and,.
Concurrence
The judgment and order are affirmed.
Shaw, J., Henshaw, J., and Lorigan, J., concurred.
McFarland, J., dissented.
I concur in the judgment. As I construe the stipulation contained in the policy, the defendant agreed to extend it for the full amount, unless the insured prior to its lapse had elected to take a paid-up policy. The insured died after lapse of the policy for non-payment of the premium and without having elected at any time to take a paid-up policy. The agreement to extend thereby became absolute, and to entitle the plaintiff to recover it is only necessary to read into the policy the statutory term of three years in place of the unlawful term of five years.
Rehearing denied.
Cases cited
- Knapp v. Homeopathic Mutual Life Insurance 117 U. S. 411 p. 333
- Stayner v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of United States 22 Misc. Rep. 53 p. 333
- New York Life Insurance v. Statham 93 U. S. 24 p. 333
- Cook v. Barr 44 N. Y. 156 p. 333
- De Frece v. National Life Insurance 136 N. Y. 144 p. 333
- Osborne v. Home Life Insurance 123 Cal. 610 p. 333