Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Loss by Several Companies—Contribution—Contract for Adjustment Pro Rata—Mistake—Unjust Payment —Relief in Equity.—Although in the absence of contract between several fire insurance companies whose policies require a pro rata payment of loss, the contracts are independent, and there is no contribution between them in case of payment of any excess by one or more, yet where several companies entered into an agreement to determine the amount of their loss, and to apportion it among themselves as their policies may require, and solely by reason of such agreement, in course of common adjustment, plaintiff companies were compelled, by mutual mistake of all the insurers, through their adjuster to pay all of the loss on specified machines insured by them, for which defendant companies, by the general terms of their policies, were-liable pro rata, plaintiffs, upon discovery of the mistake, after such payment, were entitled, as parties to the contract, to be relieved in equity from the unjust and inequitable burden imposed upon them through such mistake.This is an appeal from a judgment for defendants entered upon the sustaining of a general demurrer to plaintiffs’ complaint, and the refusal of plaintiffs to amend.
This action was one brought by two insurance companies against six other insurance companies, all of which companies, both plaintiffs and defendants, had insured by their several policies certain property of the Standard Publishing Company, also a defendant, against loss by fire. The policies issued by plaintiffs in terms covered “five type-setting machines, with fixtures and appurtenances thereunto belonging, contained in the said building of the said insured,” and the policies issued by defendant companies in terms covered “printing presses, stereotyping machinery, and other fixed and movable machinery, implements, ¿tools, furniture and fixtures contained in the building of the said insured.” The policies of plaintiffs were each for two thousand five hundred dollars, and the policies of the defendant companies were each for smaller amounts. Each policy contained*a provision to the effect that the insuring company should not be liable under its policy for a greater proportion of any loss than the amount thereby insured should bear to the whole insurance covering said property. The property having been “damaged or de
This is the case made by the complaint. Upon these facts, plaintiffs asked that the adjustment be set aside and reformed, ' that an accounting be had between plaintiffs and defendants in respect to the amount of said loss and the moneys paid and
We think there can be no doubt, under the allegations of the complaint, that the policies of the defendant companies, by their terms, covered the type-setting machines. There can be no question as to the fact that if plaintiffs’ policies had not been issued at all, the broad terms of defendants’ policies would necessarily have included not only the -property specifically mentioned, but also all other fixed and movable machinery contained in the building of insured, for it is so expressly declared thereby. The language could not have been more inclusive. The mere fact that plaintiffs’ policies were limited in terms to a portion of the property not specifically mentioned in defendants’ policies, and only included in the general designation of machinery, does not authorize us to exclude from defendants’ policies property coming clearly within their provisions. There was no connection between the contracts of plaintiffs and defendants. Each of the companies had a separate, independent contract with the insured, which must be separately construed. Defendants’ contracts were clear and free from ambiguity so far as the descriptions of property insured were concerned, and must be read according to their terms, regardless of the manner of description used in other contracts to which defendants were not parties.
Defendants’ policies, therefore, covered not only the property other than type-setting machines, but also, concurrently with those of plaintiffs, covered such machines. Under the pro rata clause contained in all the policies, each of the insurers, plaintiffs and defendants, was originally liable to the insured for such proportion of the loss on such machines as the amount of the insurance thereon bore to the whole of the insurance covering the same. Plaintiffs have, therefore, in paying to insured the whole amount of the loss on the typesetting machines,, paid not only the amounts for which they were liable under their policies, but also the amounts for which defendants were liable under their policies.
If this were all, whatever might be said as to moral reasons in favor of the reimbursement of plaintiffs by defendants,
We are of the opinion, however, that the contract made by the insurers for the payment of the loss materially changed the situation. The insurers came together for the purpose both of determining the amount of loss and apportioning the same among themselves as their policies might require. It was immaterial whether they did this each by its own agent, or by a common agent jointly authorized to act for all. Having determined the total amount of loss satisfactorily to the insured and to themselves, they jointly agreed with the insured as to the respective amounts each insurer should pay. It was entirely immaterial to the insured in what proportion the various insurers paid, as long as the aggregate amount paid equaled the total loss. The insured was at liberty to accept whatever apportionment of liability the insurers jointly proposed, regardless of its own views as to whether thereunder each company was paying its proper proportion. If the insured was satisfied with the apportionment made, that was a matter which only concerned the insurers among themselves, and it is immaterial whether or not the insured believed each company was paying its proper proportion. Any mistaken theory of the insured in that behalf would not affect the validity of the settlement as to it, so long as it was satisfied therewith. It had the right to accept the joint proposition of the insurers as to the amount each should pay, and when it accepted it, the adjustment and apportionment
We are of the opinion that the complaint sufficiently states a cause of action as against a general demurrer.
The judgment is reversed.
Shaw, J., and Sloss, J., concurred.
Hearing in Bank denied.
Cases cited
- Stockton Combine Harvester & Agricultural Works v. Glen's Falls Co. 98 Cal. 557 at 569 p. 257