Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Change of Interest—Option to Purchase not Exercised.—A mere option given to a third party to purchase which is not exercised by payment of the purchase money does not create a change of interest in the property insured against fire within the meaning of the fire-insurance policy, avoiding it for a change of interest.The action is upon a policy of insurance. The judgment was given for the defendant. The appeal was taken from the judgment within sixty days after its rendition, and the record is accompanied by a bill of exceptions.
The insurance company, in defense, alleged that there had been four several violations of the terms of the policy by the insured, without the consent of the company, and that the policy had been forfeited thereby, to wit: 1. That there had been a change of possession of the property; 2. That there had been a change of interest in the property insured; 3. That there had been an increase of hazard which was prohibited by the conditions of the policy; 4. That the property insured was idle and inoperative, and the insured had failed to keep a watchman constantly on duty, as the policy, in that event, required. The findings were in favor of the defendant on all these points. There was no substantial conflict in the evidence, and no serious dispute about the facts. The findings were manifestly based upon the court’s conclusions as to the meaning and legal effect of the policy and the subsequent transactions of the parties. The decision of the case depends on the question whether or not the findings were justified by the evidence.
1. The first two defenses may be considered together. The change of interest and possession, if any, arose out of a proposed sale by the plaintiff to one G. W. Baker, after the issuance of the policy. A written agreement was executed between them, Mackintosh being the party of the first part and Baker being the party of the second part. It recited that the price of twenty-two thousand dollars for the property and certain slag and ore situated thereon had been agreed on, and that Baker was desirous of buying it at that price. It thereupon declared that he agreed that he would “purchase said premises and property” for said price, “in the following manner, that is to say:—
“It is agreed between the parties hereto that the said party of the first part shall execute to the said party of the second
part a good and sufficient deed of the premises above mentioned and described, together with a bill of sale of the slag and ore situated thereon, and place the same in escrow with A. M. McDonald to be delivered to the party of the second part upon the payment of the said sum of $22,000 on or before sixty days from the date hereof.
“In ease the said $22,000 is not fully paid within sixty days from the date hereof as aforesaid, said premises shall be vacated by the Vulcan Smelting and Refining Company and surrendered by the party of the second part free and clear of all encumbrances of whatsoever kind or nature made or suffered by the said Vulcan Smelting and Refining Company, and shall also surrender to the party of the first part the product of all ores smelted or reduced in its furnace from said slag-dumps while occupying the same.
“It is further agreed between the parties hereto that, during the time the party of the second part is in possession of said property, the said party of the first part or his agent A. M. McDonald shall have free access to said property and its management in every respect, the same as though to all intents and purposes the work was being done by him, instead of by the party of the second part, and during the time said work is carried forward the said party of the second part shall in every way protect said property and premises from any encroachments or depredations or damage of any kind, and not endanger the said premises by fire, or from any other cause.
“The sum of $400 is hereby acknowledged to have been received upon this contract by the party of the first part and the further sum of $173 is to be paid to A. M. McDonald upon demand,'which said sum, in case of purchase, is to be credited as part of the purchase price, and in case of default is to be considered as rent of the premises during the occupation of the party of the second part, as herein stated, and forfeited to the party of the first part.
“Time is of the essence of this contract.
“This contract shall not be assigned by the party of the second part until payment is made.” (The italics are ours.)
Baker was acting in the premises as agent of the Vulcan Company. Prior to the execution of this agreement a previous agreement had been made between the same parties whereby Baker had obtained an option for sixty days for the purchase
Taking the circumstances thus surrounding the parties and .the language of the contract together, we are of the opinion that it was not' an absolute agreement on the part of Baker to purchase the property, but was simply an option whereby he had the privilege of purchasing the same at any time within the sixty days mentioned, by payment of the price as therein provided. There was therefore no change of interest in the premises by virtue of the contract. The title, interest, and estate in the property remained in Mackintosh, subject to be divested only by the payment of the money as- provided in the contract. Upon failure to pay the money as provided therein, without any further act whatever on the part of Baker, the privilege to purchase, which he had obtained under the contract, ceased, and the property then remained free from any right in him whatever. All that he possessed prior to the payment of such purchase money was a mere right at his option to purchase or not. This right did not create an interest in him within the meaning of that term as used in the policy of insurance. The change of interest referred to in the policy, in view of the well-known rule of construction applied to insurance .policies requiring them to be construed most strongly against the insurer, refers to some change of interest which would make the loss, in case of destruction, fall upon the buyer, so that by such change the original policy-holder would lose his interest in maintaining the property and protecting it from fire. It does not refer to a mere right which another party may acquire which does not change the risk in
The same considerations apply to the contention that there was a change of possession of the premises which Baker was holding under the owner, Mackintosh. He had no exclusive right to the property, and it further appeared that during the occupancy of Baker a watchman was kept on the property who was under the employment of and was holding for the seller, Mackintosh. Such common possession did not work the change of possession which would be required to avoid the policy. Furthermore, as will be hereafter seen, we think the conduct of the agents of the company was such as to waive any forfeiture on the ground of this particular change of possession.
2. The next defense is that there was an increase of hazard caused by the acts of the insured which, by the terms of the
The effect of such limitations upon the power of agents to waive the conditions in a policy has been a frequent subject of decision in the courts. The doctrine is well settled that such stipulations and limitations in a policy regarding the powers of agents, and the manner of waiving its conditions, do not preclude a waiver by the conduct of authorized agents in regard to future operations upon the premises. In Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance (vol. 3, p. 2607), with respect to limitations of this character, it is said: “Even this limitation will not prevent an insured from relying on a parol subsequent waiver by an authorized agent or officer, as ‘there can be no more force in an agreement in writing not to agree by parol than in a parol agreement not to agree in writing. ’ ” (Orient Ins. Co. v. Knight, 197 Ill. 190 , [ 64 N. E. 339 ]; Hanover Fire etc. Co. v. Dole, 20 Ind. App. 333 , [ 50 N. E. 772 ] ; Home Ins.
In Gladding v. California etc. Ins. Co., 66 Cal. 6 , [ 4 Pac. 764 ], the agent who attempted to waive the conditions was a local agent, and not, as here, a general agent, who, for contractual purposes, impersonated the company itself. The general remarks contained in the opinion in that case cannot be deemed authority, so far as they indicate a lack of power in the general agent to waive such conditions by acts amounting to a new contract or an estoppel, and without indorsement upon or attached to the policy. In Shuggart v. Lycoming Fire Ins. Co., 55 Cal. 408 , and Enos v. Sun Ins. Co., 67 Cal. 621 , [ 8 Pac. 379 ], it was held that a mere local agent was without such authority unless specially empowered. This is the substance of the decision of the supreme court of the United States in Northern Assur. Co. v. Grand View B. A., 183 U. S. 308 , [ 22 Sup. Ct. Rep. 153 , 154]. In the present case it clearly appears that the agents who gave the permission and made the written indorsement were the general agents of the company, with full powers. This indeed is not controverted. The failure to accurately describe the six-ton smelter in the slip attached to the policy was the fault of the defendant, and any attempt on its part to avoid the policy because of such failure would at once create an estoppel which would prevent the company from taking advantage of the misdescription. We are therefore of the opinion that the company waived the forfeiture which otherwise might have been caused by the increase of risk and partial change of possession in this case, and that it is now estopped from claiming such forfeiture after having knowingly allowed the parties to act in the belief that they had received the privilege which they were exercising and for which they had paid the additional premium.
3. The remaining defense is that the plaintiff has violated
From the 16th of March until the night of the fire the six-ton furnace erected by Baker under a shed on the premises thirty feet from the main building was in daily operation in the smelting of slag and ore. This operation required the work of five or six men on the premises. In connection with this work they were using one of the boilers belonging to the works and the water-pipes and tools of the plaintiff, and were
The findings are not sustained by the evidence, and the judgment is therefore erroneous.
Dissent
Angellotti, J., Sloss, J., McFarland, J., Henshaw, J., and Lorigan, J., concurred.
Rehearing denied.
Beatty, O'. J., dissented from the order denying a rehearing, and filed the following opinion thereon on the 11th of March, 1907:—
I dissent from the order denying a rehearing of this cause. It is conceded that there was no watchman on duty, but it is held that the works were in operation. This conclusion, in my opinion, is opposed to any reasonable construction of the policy.
I dissent also from the doctrine that the parties to a written contract cannot bind themselves by a stipulation that it shall not be altered except by an agreement in writing. By such a stipulation they merely import into the particular contract the beneficent principle of the statute of frauds, thereby protecting themselves from, the consequences of false claims of alterations.
I deprecate especially the disposition of courts to deprive insurers on slight and insufficient grounds of the benefit of proper stipulations- and conditions inserted in their policies for the legitimate and laudable' purpose of compelling the insured to protect the insured property from unnecessary and easily prevented hazards.' The necessary effect of such a course of decision is to increase premium rates, and the final result in the long run is that careful and honest policy-holders pay for the losses of the reckless and dishonest.
Cases cited
- Knarston v. Manhattan Life Insurance 140 Cal. 57 p. 448
- Gladding v. Cal. Farmers' Mut. Fire Ins. Ass'n 66 Cal. 6 p. 449
- Shuggart v. Lycoming Fire Insurance Co. 55 Cal. 408 p. 449
- Enos v. Sun Insurance Co. 67 Cal. 621 p. 449
- Northern Assurance Co. v. Grand View Building Ass'n 183 U. S. 308 p. 449
- Whitney v. Black River Insurance 72 N. Y. 117 p. 450
- Halpin v. Phenix Insurance 118 N. Y. 165 p. 450
- McKenzie v. Scottish Union & National Insurance 112 Cal. 548 p. 451