Majority
Headnote
Life Insurance —Application — Answers — Warranties —Waiver.— Where the written application for life insurance is made part of the policy, and the statements therein are warranted to be true, the written answer of the insured made in response to a question asked him relative to whether he had ever had a specified disease is material to the risk assumed by the insurer; and where the policy contains a provision to that effect a false answer to such question avoids the policy, unless the breach of the warranty has been waived by the insurer.This action was brought by plaintiff as beneficiary to recover upon two policies of life insurance issued by defendant in favor of James E. Iverson, her husband.
The case was tried by the court, and from a judgment in favor of defendant plaintiff appeals, the appeal being presented on the judgment-roll.
The applications for both policies of insurance which were made and signed by the assured contained the following:—
“2. I have never had any of the following complaints or diseases: Apoplexy, asthma, bronchitis, . . . hemorrhage, insanity, . . . paralysis, pneumonia, rheumatism. ...”
”12. I agree that this application has been made, prepared and written by myself' or my own proper agent, and that inasmuch as only the officers at the home office of the company in the city of New York have authority to determine whether or not a policy shall issue upon any application, and as they act on the written statements, answers, warranties and agreements herein made, no statements, promises or information made or given by, or to, the person soliciting or taking
this application for a policy, or by or to any person, shall be binding on the company or in any manner affect its rights, unless such statements, promises or information be reduced to writing and presented to the officers of the company at the home office.
“And I further declare, warrant and agree that the representations and answers made above are strictly correct and wholly true, that they shall form the basis and become part of the contract of insurance, if one be issued, and that any untrue answer will render the policy null 'and void, and that said contract shall not be binding upon the company unless upon its date and delivery the insured be alive and in sound health.”
The policies issued were based on these applications and contain the following provisions:—
“This policy is void if any of the statements or warranties in the application for this policy be not true.”
The court found that at the date of the policies Iverson was alive and in sound health, and that he and plaintiff had complied with all the terms and conditions of the policy to be performed by them except as further stated in the findings, and in that regard the court made the following finding:—
“III. The defendant issued the said policies of insurance, induced by the warranties and agreements made in the application, copy of which is attached to the said policies.”
“VII. The statement made by said James E. Iverson in his application that he had never had any of the following complaints or diseases, to wit: Apoplexy, asthma, bronchitis, . . . hemorrhage, insanity, . . . paralysis, pneumonia, rheumatism, . . . was untrue in this, that he had had a partial paralysis in August, 1900, and was seriously ill at that time from said stroke of partial paralysis, and was attended by Dr. C. A. Briggs.”
The court further found:—
“VIII. That Harvey L. Clark was the agent who solicited the said James E. Iverson to take an insurance policy with the defendant company, and that he was an agent for the purpose of soliciting insurance only; that he had known James E. Iverson for more than two years, and at the time he solicited said insurance, and at the time of making said application, he knew that James E. Iverson had had said
stroke of partial paralysis, and communicated said fact to his immediate superior, who was a soliciting agent of the defendant in charge of the other soliciting agents in Pasadena, but who was under the general agent in Los Angeles, to whom he reported; but the fact that said James E. Iverson had had a partial stroke of-paralysis as aforesaid was not communicated to said general agent at Los Angeles, or to any other agent or officers of the defendant company.”
As a conclusion of law the court held “that the said policies of insurance were null and void by reason of the statement of said James E. Iverson in his applications that he had had no paralysis.”
There can be no question but that the written answers in the application for insurance made by the insured in response to the questions asked him relative to whether he had ever had any of the diseases specifically mentioned in the questions were material to the risk assumed by the respondent; that the contract of insurance was based on them and on the agreement of the insured that if any answer was untrue the policy to be issued thereon should be void. As the insured stated in response to an inquiry on the subject in his application that he had not had paralysis, and this statement was untrue, the conclusion of the court that the policy was void was proper, unless the contention made by appellant is to be sustained. That contention involves the legal effect to be given to the finding of the trial court that Clark, the soliciting agent of the defendant, who solicited the insured to apply for the policy, knew when the insured made his application to the company in which he stated that he had not had paralysis that applicant had in fact suffered a stroke of paralysis.
The position of appellant relative to this finding is, that this knowledge of the soliciting agent Clark was knowledge of the company, and that the company, having issued the policy with knowledge that the statement of the insured in his application that he had not had paralysis was untrue, must be deemed to have waived the warranty with respect to it, and cannot be heard to insist upon the falsity of the statement to avoid the policy. Undoubtedly, if the company did have such knowledge, the issuance of the policy after possession of it would amount to a waiver. Warranties in an
An insurance company can, like any other principal, prescribe limitations upon the power and authority of agents, and
As, by the terms of the application and to the knowledge of the insured, the soliciting agent had no authority to bind the company in any way, either by express agreement or the possession of any knowledge or information concerning the falsity of any of the statements or warranties contained in the application, mere possession of knowledge of such falsity was
Counsel for appellant cites us to cases where the company has been held bound by the conduct of its soliciting and other special agents. But these are cases where either the agents had ostensible authority to act • in the matters in question there or had deceived the insured; been guilty of some misrepresentation or perpetrated some fraud upon him, the insured not being in fault and acting in good faith, without notice of any limitation upon the authority of the agent. But the case at bar presents none of these situations. It is not claimed that the agent perpetrated any fraud on the insured; that he represented he would or had authority to waive the truthfulness of any statements in the application or the accompanying warranty respecting its truth. The position taken here by appellant simply is that because the agent had information that a statement the assured warranted to be true was false, the mere possession of this knowledge bound the company and relieved the assured from his warranty, notwithstanding it was expressly provided in the application, and the insured knew, that the company could not be so bound, and could only be bound by having such information imparted in writing to the home officers who were authorized to act upon it. This position could only be sustained by holding that it was not competent for the company to limit the authority of its agents, and that the insured is not bound by the knowledge of such limitations. Of course, it cannot be so held. In the case at bar there is no question of fraud, deception, or misrepresentation practiced by the agent. The sole question is one of contract. The application contained a limitation on the authority of the agent expressly providing against the company being bound by any information possessed by him not disclosed in the application, and declaring the only way it could be bound,—namely, by written statements furnished the officers at the home office for their action upon them. The assured knew all this and agreed to it. It was the contract of the parties upon the subject of the agent’s authority, and prescribed the only method in which the company could be bound, which it is not pretended was followed, and we know no reason why the assured should not be con
Concurrence
_ In discussing this matter we have referred simply to the finding of the court as to the knowledge possessed by Clark, the soliciting agent, who actually solicited the application for the policy by the assured. We have in mind the fact that the court found that Clark had imparted this information to his immediate superior, also a soliciting agent of defendant in charge of the other soliciting agents in Pasadena. That he imparted this information to him does not affect the question. The knowledge of the superior soliciting agent, under the limitation as to the authority of such agents, bound the defendant no more than did the knowledge possessed by Clark.
It follows from the view we take of the law applicable here, —that the insurance company had not waived the warranty made by the assured in his application for a policy relative to paralysis; that knowledge by the soliciting agent of the falsity of this statement as to that matter did not have that effect in view of the limitation on his authority contained in the application and known to the assured, and the further provision as to the only method by which the warranty might be waived by the company,—that the judgment is supported by the finding that there was a breach of such‘warranty, and is affirmed.
McFarland, J., Sloss, J., and Henshaw, J., concurred.
I concur in the judgment, and generally in what is said in the opinion. I, however, base my concurrence solely upon the presence in the application for the policy of the provision set forth in the opinion, and the knowledge thereof which, by the record before us, must be imputed to the applicant at the time he made the application. Mr. Cooley, in his Briefs upon the Law of Insurance, states that the general rule that the knowledge of an insurance agent is
Shaw, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Westerfeld v. New York Life Insurance 129 Cal. 68 at 79 p. 750
- New York Life Insurance v. Fletcher 117 U. S. 519 p. 753
- Northern Assurance Co. v. Grand View Building Ass'n 183 U. S. 308 p. 753
- Clemans v. Supreme Assembly Royal Society of Good Fellows 131 N. Y. 485 p. 753