Majority
Headnote
Insurance—Nature of Policy—Indemnity;—Actual Loss.—A policy of insurance is a contract of indemnity against loss; and the insured is entitled to recover under the policy such loss as he has actually sustained, not exceeding the sum stipulated.This is an action on a policy of fire insurance. The facts are undisputed, such of them as were put in issue by the pleadings having been found by the court upon the agreement of the parties.
“Northern Assurance Company of London,
“In consideration of the stipulations herein named and of sixty-six 20-100 dollars premium does insure the Whitney Estate Company for the term of one year from the 1st day of June, 1905, at noon, to the 1st day of June, 1906, at noon, against all direct loss or damage by fire, except as hereinafter provided, to an amount not exceeding fifteen thousand four hundred no-100 dollars, to the following described property while located and contained as described herein, and not elsewhere, to wit:
“15,400. On rents of the brick building known as the Starr King building, situate No. 117 to 125 on the south side of Geary Street, between Grant Avenue and Stockton Street, San Francisco, California. . . .”
“It is understood and agreed that in case the above-named building or any part thereof shall be rendered untenantable by fire, this company shall be liable to the assured for the actual loss of rent ensuing therefrom, based upon the rentals in force from the rented portions of the premises at the time of fire, not exceeding the sum insured. Loss to be computed from the date of the fire for the time it would require to put the premises in tenantable condition, excluding from such time such portion thereof as may be consumed by a strike or by any other delay beyond the control of the assured.
“In the event of disagreement as to the time required to put the premises in tenantable condition, the same shall be ascertained by two competent and disinterested appraisers, . . . etc.
“The assured stipulates and agrees to carry insurance on said rents in an amount equal to the annual rents of said premises, and it is understood and agreed that if at the time of fire, the aggregate amount of insurance shall be less than the annual rentals at the time of the fire, the assured shall be held to be an insurer in the amount of such deficiency, and in that capacity shall bear a proportionate share of the loss.”
All of the foregoing, except the first paragraph quoted, is contained in a slip or “rider” attached to a policy in the form usually employed for fire insurance. One of the clauses
On April 18, 1906, the Starr King building was owned by the plaintiff, and on that day it was totally destroyed by fire. At the time of the fire of April, 1906, the total amount of insurance on rents carried by plaintiff, including and concurrent with that of the defendant, was $69,175.00, and the total amount of rents being collected by plaintiff from tenants occupying the rented portions of the building was a sum which if paid for one year would aggregate $68,298.00. For such rents the plaintiff was required to and did furnish to its tenants certain services, including the operation of an elevator, the supply of water and light, and the services of a janitor. The cost to the plaintiff of such service, if paid for one year, would aggregate ten thousand dollars. The time required to put the building in tenantable condition was agreed upon by the parties to be twelve and one half months.
The position of the plaintiff was that, on these facts, it was entitled to recover from the insurers the gross amount of the rents for one year,—viz. $68,298.00. The defendant contended, however, that the loss or damage sustained by plaintiff and recoverable by it was only the sum remaining after deducting from the gross annual rentals the ten thousand dollars which, if there had been no fire, plaintiff would have been obliged to expend in furnishing the aforesaid services to tenants. The latter view was accepted by the trial court, which, after finding, as a conclusion of law, that plaintiff’s loss or damage was $58,298.00, awarded judgment for $12,964.47, the proportion of such loss payable by defendant. From this judgment plaintiff appeals.
The question thus presented is, so far as we are able to leam, a novel one. Rent insurance is a comparatively recent development of underwriting, and eases dealing with its peculiar problems are few. In their briefs the learned counsel for the respective parties present various authorities, but none of the eases cited on either side can be said to be closely in point. They are valuable in so far as they illustrate general
The contention of the respondent is that the application of these rules requires the affirmance of the judgment. The “loss of rent” suffered by plaintiff was not, it is said, the gross amount of rents which it would have received, but only the surplus remaining after deducting the expense to which it would have been put in collecting such rents. This position would have much force if the subject of insurance consisted of such property that the loss occasioned by a fire could be accurately determined. But, in the case of rents of a building it is not, in the nature of things, possible to determine, at any particular period, just what the income from rents for the ensuing year would .be. It may be that a greater or a less part of the building may be occupied during the year than at its commencement. So, with the matter of expense. The annual outlay for elevator service, wages of janitors, light, and water will depend upon a variety of contingencies which cannot be foretold. Furthermore, the fact that a building is rendered untenantable may cause a loss of rents to the owner in ways that are even more incapable of measurement. A building vacated by its tenants in consequence of fire may remain vacant, in whole or in part, long after it has been restored and is again ready for occupancy. In view of all these uncertainties, it is perfectly competent for the parties to a contract of rent insurance, without in any degree violating
The respondent relies on Lite v. Firemen’s Ins. Co., 119 App. Div. 410 , [ 104 N. Y. Supp. 434 ]. The policy there involved was one on “the profits of the lease” of certain buildings leased by plaintiff, and by him sublet to various tenants. In the course of the opinion it is said that plaintiff’s recovery was to be “measured by the difference between the rentals which he is able to realize from the property, less the rent paid by him, plus the expense of running and maintaining the building.” The subject of insurance being the profits of the lease, it was obviously necessary, in estimating plaintiff’s loss, to deduct from the rents received by him, all expenses incurred. The case is not at all analogous to the present one, where the insurance is on rents. Barry v. Farmers’ etc. Ins. Assoc., 110
Upon a consideration of the entire policy, we think it was intended to make the defendant liable for such amount of rent, at the rate paid for the portions rented at the time of the fire, as would have become payable to plaintiff during the period required to restore the premises to a tenantable condition, without deduction for any expenses connected with the renting.
The judgment is reversed, with instructions to the trial court to enter judgment in accordance with the views herein expressed.
Angellotti, J., and Shaw, J., concurred.
Hearing in Bank denied.
Cases cited
- Lite v. Firemen's Insurance Co. of Newark 119 App. Div. 410 p. 526
- Shoemaker v. Acker 116 Cal. 239 p. 527
- Holt Manufacturing Co. v. Thornton 136 Cal. 232 p. 527
- Teller v. Bay & River Dredging Co. 151 Cal. 209 p. 527