Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Fallen Building Clause—Increase of Bisk—Instructions.—Under a provision in a policy of fire insurance that if the “building or any part thereof fall, except as the result of fire, all insurance by this policy on such building or its contents shall immediately cease,” it is not necessary, in order to avoid the insurance, that the fall had the effect of increasing the fire risk, and an instruction to the contrary is erroneous.J.—This is an appeal from an order denying the defendant’s motion for a new trial.
The plaintiff sued to recover upon an insurance policy issued by the defendant to Henry S. Davis, in his lifetime, covering a stock of drugs belonging to Davis, contained in a store-room on the ground floor of a two-story brick building situated in the city of Santa Rosa. The fire which occasioned the loss took place on the morning of April 18, 1906, immediately after the great earthquake of that day.
The policy issued by the defendant contained the following clause: “If a building or any part thereof fall, except as the result of fire, all insurance by this policy on such building or its contents shall immediately cease.”
Upon the trial the defendant stated that its sole defense was based upon the aforesaid clause, and that unless that defense was sustained by the evidence the judgment should be given for the plaintiff.
In addition to the general verdict for the plaintiff, the jury returned answers to a number of interrogatories submitted to them. Some of these were in respect to the question whether the fall of a part of the building was before or after the fire started. The answers of the jury stated in substance that no
The appellant complains of several instructions relating to the subject of the fall of a part of a building and how much of it must have fallen in order to bring about a cessation of the insurance under the clause above quoted. One of them stated that the jury must find that such a portion had fallen as would destroy its distinctive character as a building; another that the fall must have had the effect of increasing the fire risk. We have considered the latter instruction in our decision in Fountain v. Connecticut Fire Ins. Co., ante, p. 760, [ 112 Pac. 546 ], and held it to be erroneous. The other instruction is too vague to be a safe guide for the jury. Reasonable men might reasonably differ upon the question of its meaning. To destroy a building’s distinctive character, as such, might merely refer to a change in its appearance,' or to a fall that would require a change of its use, or its practical destruction as a building. But in view of the clear, conclusive, and uncontradicted evidence that the entire upper story was shaken down by the earthquake alone, so that the roof fell down upon the second floor, we cannot believe that the instructions on this branch of the subject could have prejudiced the defendant in the least. The proof showed conclusively that the earthquake alone caused the fall of a sufficient part of the building to destroy its distinctive character as a building and to increase the risk from fire. There was, in fact, no real controversy at the trial in regard to this point. The interrogatories and the answers thereto show that this fact was conceded and, indeed, the jury could not have found otherwise upon the evidence, for there was absolutely none to the contrary. The whole defense turned upon the question whether or not the fire attacked the goods before a part of the building had fallen. The jury answered that it did. It is claimed that this finding is not supported by sufficient evidence.
The strongest evidence in favor of the proposition that the fire attacked the goods before the walls fell is the testimony of the witnesses Duncan, Bailey, and Faught. Bailey testified that
It is not improbable that the first effect of the strain caused by the earthquake was to break some wire charged with electricity, thereby instantaneously starting a fierce fire, and that the falling of the wall did not occur until the last severe vibration and after the fire had begun. The earthquake continued for forty-five seconds. Even this brief period was long enough for the two events to occur consecutively, with an interval between them of more than half a minute. The evidence does not show the particular, place in the building where
The appellant contends that it is immaterial whether the building was on fire or not at the time the wall fell, provided fire did not cause the fall. The court charged the jury that if it found that a material part of the building fell from a cause other than fire, before the insured goods were attacked by fire, the plaintiff could not recover. The case appears to have been tried upon the theory that this was the extent of the burden of proof resting upon the defendant. The jury, as we have said, obviously found that the goods were on fire before any part of the building fell. It appears from the evidence, however, that at the time the walls were thrown down by the earthquake, only a small part of the goods could have been consumed or injured by the fire. The claim is that if there was a falling of the wall, not caused by fire, the above clause of the policy thereupon immediately became operative, the insurance immediately ceased, and that, although the fire began before the wall fell, the defendant is liable only for so much of the goods as were consumed or injured by fire before the wall fell and for none that were consumed or injured afterward.
The ease of Keisel v. Insurance Co., 88 Fed. 243 , [ 31 C. C. A. 515 ], is cited in support of this proposition. That was a loss of insured goods in a building. Counsel quotes from the opinion in that case the following: “If it (the building) was on fire, and it would have fallen by the force of the wind if there had been no fire, then its fall could not be said to have been the result of the fire, and the defendant was not liable. . . . The cause of the fall was the test of liability.”' Wrenched from its context, this passage may seem to support appellant’s claim. But a reading of the entire decision shows that the precise question here in issue—the liability where,
Upon the question last stated we think the most reasonable interpretation of the fallen-building clause is that it does not apply to the case of a building, or part thereof, falling after it has begun to burn, if the insurance is on the building, and perhaps even if it is only on goods therein, and that where goods only are involved, it does not apply where the goods
The witness Muther was asked the question: "Was the falling of the Davis Building the result of fire.?” An objection to the question was properly sustained. It called for a mere conclusion or opinion as to a fact which was not the subject of expert testimony. If the testimony he had previously given as to the facts was true, the conclusion that the fall was not the result of fire necessarily followed. Moreover, as we have stated before, the. entire evidence showed conclusively that the earthquake caused the fall, and there was not
Dissent
We find no prejudicial error in the record.
The order is affirmed.
Angellotti, J., Sloss, J., Lorigan, J., and Henshaw, J., concurred.
I dissent. I think the conclusion by the jury that the fire attacked the goods before a part of the building had fallen is not supported by sufficient evidence. To hold that the testimony of Duncan, Bailey, and Faught sustains such a finding, is to ignore the rule that the plaintiff’s case must be sustained by a preponderance of evidence. All of these men saw the fire some minutes after a material portion of the building had fallen. Their stories comport as well with the theory that combustion followed the greatest and most destructive movement of the earthquake as with the deduction that the first vibration broke the electric light wire and so caused the fire. Indeed, according to the doctrine of probabilities it is very likely that the same force which destroyed the 'upper walls of the building broke the wire and liberated its current. Whether a mass of loosened brick can leave a wall sooner than a vagrant electric current can set fire to a stock of goods is a question too difficult for satisfactory solution even by all the combined wisdom of the members of a trial jury, and unless we can ignore the necessity of plaintiff’s establishing his ease by preponderance of evidence, I cannot see how the proof sustained the jury’s finding. I think it clear that the destruction of a portion of the building having been shown, the burden was on tho plaintiff to prove the occurrence of the fire in some manner other than from any of the accepted risks. (Beach on Insurance, sec.
Cases cited
- Rankin v. Amazon Insurance Co. 89 Cal. 203 p. 774