Majority
Headnote
Marine Insurance — Freightage — Insurance While Ship is Being Loaded.—Under section 2662 of the Civil Code the owner of a ship has an insurable interest in the “freightage” while the ship is being loaded. His insurable interest is not postponed until the loading of the cargo is complete.This is an action to recover $14,602.00 as the loss upon an alleged contract of insurance in the form of a covering agreement. The findings and judgment were in favor of the defendant. The plaintiff appeals from the judgment and from an order denying its motion for a new trial.
In its defense the assurance company claimed that there was no subsisting contract of insurance at the time of the loss, that, if there was such contract, it was avoided by the failure of the plaintiff to declare the amount of the risk as soon as it became known, or prior to the loss, and that the loss which occurred was not covered by the agreement.
The plaintiff was the owner of the steamship “Victoria.” Swayne, Hoyt & Co. were its agents in San Francisco. Some time prior to February 28, 1903, the plaintiff, by Swayne, Hoyt & Co., had agreed with Renton, Holmes & Co., in San Francisco, to carry for the latter a cargo of lumber belonging to the Port Blakeley Mill Company from Port Blakeley on Puget Sound to Taku, in China, at a fixed rate per thousand feet, payable on arrival of the lumber at Taku. Plaintiff desired to insure the amount it would earn by carrying said lumber to China, under said contract, against the perils of the enterprise. Such earnings are called by the Civil Code, “freightage.” (Sec. 2661.) For the purpose of obtaining this insurance, the covering agreement sued on was made. It was executed in San Francisco on March 6, 1903, the plaintiff contracting by Swayne, Hoyt & Co. and the assurance company by Livingston, Smith & Co., its general agents in San Francisco. At that time the vessel had left San Francisco and was at Port Blakeley, in process of being loaded with said cargo. The covering agreement consisted of an application made on behalf of the plaintiff and accepted by Livingston, Smith & Co. for the defendant. It was as follows:
“Swayne, Hoyt & Co.
“Insurance is wanted by Victoria Steamship Co.
For account of “
Loss, if any, payable to “
For not to exceed $15,000 on freight on lumber on and under deck.
Valued at actual freight
shipped or to be shipped on board the Str. ‘Victoria’ at and from Puget Sound to Taku Bar.
“This insurance to be subject to the satisfactory survey and loading certificate of the surveyor of the board of marine underwriters of San Francisco at the port of loading.
“Free from partial loss and particular average.
“Rate of premium 1.10%. Double on deck.
San Francisco, March 6, 1903.
“Binding in accordance with the terms and conditions of an ordinary San Francisco cargo policy as issued by this company.
“This application is not negotiable or transferable without the consent of this company.
“The assured agree to declare the amount as soon as known to them when a policy in accordance will be issued on payment of the premium.
“Accepted. Livingston, Smith & Co.”
The loading of the vessel was not completed until March 12, 1903, and she sailed for Taku on that day. The vessel had sailed from San Francisco in February and had touched at Port Gamble on Puget Sound and was at that place surveyed by the surveyor of the San Francisco board of marine underwriters on February 28, 1903, who on the same day made and issued his certificate that he considered the steamer “in suitable condition for loading a cargo of lumber for China.” She then proceeded to Port Blakeley and there on March 6th, had begun to take the lumber aboard. This was the condition of the risk at the time the covering agreement was made. It does not appear that the San Francisco agents of either party at that time had knowledge of the contents of the certificate or that the survey and certificate thereof had then been made.
1. The claim of the respondent that there was no subsisting contract of insurance at the time of the loss is in part based on the theory that the steamship company had no insurable
“Sec. 2662. The owner of a ship has an insurable interest in expected freightage which he would have certainly earned but for the intervention of a peril insured against.”
The San Francisco form of cargo policy, referred to in the agreement, provided that the Civil Code of California should be conclusive and binding in regard to questions therein legislated upon and not provided for in said form of policy. It also declared that the insurer thereby agreed to insure against “perils of the seas, fires, pirates, assailing thieves, jettisons, barratry of the master or mariners, and all other losses and misfortunes that have or shall come to the hurt, damage or detriment of the said property or interest, to which insurers are liable by the rules and customs of insurance in San Francisco, excepting such losses and misfortunes as are excluded by this policy.” Section 2662 gives the owner of a ship an insurable interest in expected freightage at least as soon as any cargo is loaded. Some of the perils insured against in this case began as soon as any cargo was taken aboard, and the owner would then certainly earn the f reight thereon, if none of such perils prevented. Its right of freightage had begun and its responsibility for losses to cargo as well. The form of the policy referred to in the covering agreement provides that the “adventure,” that is the risk, shall begin “from and immediately following the loading” of the property on board the vessel. This implies that it would begin with respect to any part of the cargo, as soon as that part was loaded. It has been held that in cases where a ship sails under charter party to a distant port there to be loaded with freight to be carried to another port, the risk of the owner of freightage
2. The next objection to the existence of a subsisting contract, is the claim that by the terms of this agreement it was not to take effect except upon a condition precedent which has never happened. This refers to the provision that the insurance was “to be subject to the satisfactory survey and loading certificate” of the surveyor of the board of marine underwriters at the port of loading. It is contended that, by reason thereof, the contract did not take effect as a subsisting agreement until the vessel had been surveyed and loaded and the proper certificates of such survey and loading issued and submitted for approval to the defendant’s agents in San Francisco, and not then, unless such certificates were, or should have been, “satisfactory” to such agents. The ship and the loading were both satisfactory to the surveyor and he issued his certificates to that effect but the certificates were never exhibited to or approved by the defendant’s agents in San Francisco.
“The rule of law is that policies are to be construed liberally in favor of the assured.” (Wells, Fargo & Co. v. Pacific Ins. Co., 44 Cal. 411 .) “Any uncertainty or ambiguity in a contract of insurance is to be interpreted most strongly against the insurer.” (Goorberg v. Western Assur. Co., 150 Cal. 515 , [ 119 Am. St. Rep. 246 , 11 Ann. Cas. 801, 10 L. R. A. (N. S.) 876 , 89 Pac. 132 ].) “Courts are disinclined to construe the stipulations of a contract as conditions precedent, unless compelled by the language of the contract plainly expressed. The reason for this disinclination is that such a construction prevents the court from dealing out justice to the parties according to the equities of the case.” (Front Street etc. Co. v. Butler, 50 Cal. 577 ; Deacon v. Blodgett, 111 Cal. 418 , [ 44 Pac. 159 ] ; Antonelle v. Kennedy etc. Co., 140 Cal. 315 , [ 73 Pac. 966 ].) These well established rules apply with greater force to a covering agreement. Such contracts, being
In this case the empty vessel had been surveyed and the certificate thereof issued, as we have seen, seven days before the covering agreement was signed. The loading certificate was not made until the loading was completed. At that time the vessel would be ready for immediate departure. According to the evidence, the master would be expected to sail immediately upon the making of the latter certificate to the effect that she was properly loaded and seaworthy. In the ordinary course of events, that certificate could not have reached San Francisco for presentation to and approval by the agents of the insurance company there, until several days after the vessel would have sailed. During this interval it would be encountering the perils against which the owner desired insurance. According to the theory now advanced it would have been for thát period wholly at the risk of the owner and the insurance would not have begun. Upon the same theory the owner could not have obtained insurance for that interval upon this contract unless it had detained the vessel until after the loading certificate had been received at San Francisco and approved by the insurance company, and further, until that fact could be communicated to the master. The defendant was a marine underwriter of San Francisco. The certificates of the survey and of the loading are each entitled “Board of Marine Underwriters of San Francisco,” and are signed by “E. 0. Genereaux, Surveyor.” It is a fair inference and one consistent with the evidence in the case that the board of marine underwriters of San Francisco, mentioned in the agreement, was a board of which the defendant was a member, organized for some purpose in aid of the defendant’s business. The surveys and certificates were apparently made in the usual and regular course of the surveyor’s business, and it is to be presumed from this that it was his duty to survey each departing vessel, examine the stowage of its cargo, and certify the result for the parties concerned with the insurance of ship, cargo, or freightage. The agreement does not state that these certificates were to be forwarded to the agents
3. The next point arises from the failure of the plaintiff to perform the stipulation that “The assured agree to declare the amount as soon as known to them, when a policy in accordance will be issued on payment of the premium.” The “amount” here referred to is the- amount of freightage to be earned by the plaintiff on the cargo. On March 12th, before departing from Port Blakeley, the master issued bills of lading to Renton, Holmes & Company, the charterers. The amount of freight was either stated or was ascertainable from these bills of lading, and the plaintiff’s agents in San Francisco could have obtained advices of the amount within a few days thereafter by inquiry of the charterers at Port Blakeley. On April 9, 1903, the vessel was wrecked on a reef ninety miles from Taku, and the loss in question was caused thereby. The plaintiff did not declare to the defendant the amount of the freightage until May 8, 1903. The court found that the plaintiff knew, or by reasonable diligence could have known, said amount a long time before it declared the same, and that it was not true that it declared the amount as soon as known.
If we are correct so far, there can be no doubt that the policy was not a mere agreement upon a condition precedent, to become effective only in the event that the amount of freight was declared by the plaintiff, and it is clear that at the time the vessel departed for Taku, there was a subsisting agreement to insure the entire freightage on the cargo and that the liability of the defendant had then attached. The remaining question, under this head, is whether or not the failure to declare the amount avoided the policy, or at least gave the insurer a right to refuse the premium, rescind the agreement, and thereby avoid liability thereon.
4. “A statement in a policy, which imports that it is intended to do or not to do a particular thing which materially affects the risk, is a warranty that such act or omission shall take place.” (Civ. Code, sec. 2608.) Section 2610 declares that “The violation of a material warranty, or other material provision of the policy, on the part of either party thereto, entitles the other to rescind.” Section 2611 is as follows: “A policy may declare that a violation of specified provisions thereof shall avoid it, otherwise the breach of an immaterial provision does not avoid it.” Under these provisions, no right to avoid or rescind a subsisting policy occurs from the violation of any provision thereof, whether technically a warranty or not, unless such provision is material, except in cases where the policy itself declares that such breach shall avoid it. This policy makes no such declaration. We cannot agree with the defendant’s counsel in their contention that the principles stated in sections 2608 and 2610 are applicable only to implied Warranties and that the principle of the common law that a violation of an express warranty avoids the policy, although the warranty be immaterial, applies to and controls this case. Under section 2608, with respect to a future act or omission,
If this is the true meaning and application of the word “material” as used in the code, it is clear that the agreement to declare the amount as soon as known was not material to the risk. The maximum amount of the defendant’s liability was irrevocably fixed by the completion of the loading upon which it depended. The subsequent declaration of a different amount by the plaintiff would not change the actual amount. It may well be that a subsequent declaration of a less amount, followed by the payment and acceptance of a premium based thereon would, upon principles of estoppel, reduce the liability to the amount declared, or avoid the policy, at defendant’s option. But no such false declaration was made and that question is not involved. Furthermore, in that event the estoppel would arise directly from the payment and acceptance of the premium and not immediately from the declaration. The main reason for inserting this clause was not to have the amount fixed, but to obtain an early payment of the premium. While the true amount was not actually known at the time the agreement was made, the vessel had been for some time engaged in the lumber trade and its capacity was known. The amount of freight could be nearly approximated, and was in fact very closely approximated in this case. Since the amount of the risk was fixed by the quantity loaded, re< gardless of the declaration, it would follow that if no loss had occurred, the defendant could have demanded and collected the premium on the entire freightage even if a less amount had been declared, or if no declaration at all had been made. The fact that a loss did occur would not change this right. We perceive no reason why the same rule should not be applied to the plaintiff, in case of a loss. Its failure to declare would have no effect whatever either upon the amount at hazard, or upon the perils to be encountered during the voyage, and it would not tend to increase the danger of loss or the amount thereof. The ease is in this respect similar to Arnold v. Pacific etc. Co., 78 N. Y. 7 . That case involved an open, running policy, to cover one-sixth of all goods shipped
The cases cited by defendant on this point are easily distinguished from the Arnold case and from the ease at bar. In all of them the terms of the policy, or the nature of the risk, made the contract incomplete until something more was done or agreed to by one or both of the parties. In Shearer v. Louisiana etc. Co., 14 La. Ann. 797 , the policy did not determine the goods to be insured, the value thereof, the place or time of shipment, the mode of carriage, or the person insured. All these terms of the contract were to remain unascertained until the risk was reported. In Edwards v. St. Louis etc. Co., 7 Mo. 382 , the policy was on all shipments by water to or from St. Louis and any river port or from Atlantic coast ports to St. Louis, and it specified that “indorsements on this policy to be the evidence of property, at the risk of the company under the same.” There was no contract, nor any evidence thereof, as to any particular risk, until the indorsement was made, or at least until the risk was reported
4. Lastly, the defendant contends that from the fact that the cargo was partly saved and because of the statement in the covering agreement that it was “free from partial loss and particular average,” the loss was not within the terms of the policy. As we have seen, the policy form declared that the provisions of the Civil Code should control the rights of the parties, so far as they were not provided for in the policy. The code declares that: “A total loss may be either actual or constructive.” (Civ. Code, sec. 2703.) This policy covered both kinds of total loss and it would be effective upon the occurrence of either. “A constructive total loss is one which gives to a person insured a right to abandon” the thing insured, as provided in section 2717. (Civ. Code, sec. 2705.) It is not necessary, under this section, that there should be an actual abandonment. It is sufficient to make a constructive total loss if the right to abandon exists. This right to abandon exists, with respect to freightage, when the situation of the vessel, brought about by one of the perils insured against, is such that the cargo cannot be taken to its destination and the freightage thereby earned, “without incurring
The plaintiff further claims that, under the terms of the policy form incorporated into the covering agreement, it is entitled to recover even if the loss be considered as partial only. The argument, as we understand it, is as follows: The declaration in the covering agreement that it is “binding in accordance with the terms and conditions- of an ordinary San Francisco cargo policy as issued by this company,” comes after the statement that the insurance is “free from partial loss and particular average” and immediately after the date line, and it appears from its language to be the statement of the company, intended as an amplification and modification of the covering agreement, so far as applicable. Applying the rule that policies should be liberally construed in favor of the assured, and the rule of section 1654 of the Civil Code, that an uncertainty should be interpreted most strongly
The.judgment and order are reversed.
Angellotti, J., and Sloss, J., concurred.
Hearing in Bank denied.
Beatty, C. J., dissented from the order denying a hearing in Bank.
Cases cited
- Arnold v. Pacific Mutual Insurance 78 N. Y. 7 p. 358
- Orient Mutual Insurance v. Wright ex rel. Maxwell, Wright, & Co. 16 L. Ed. 524 p. 361