Majority
Headnote
Life Insurance Policy—Assignment as Collateral Security— Bights of Assignee and Assignor.-—One to whom a policy of life insurance is assigned by another, as security either for his own debt or for the debt of a third person, is entitled to collect from the insurance company the whole amount of the policy when it falls due, if he is still entitled to hold the security.In the year 1878 the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Company issued to one Charles L. Taylor a policy of life insurance, whereby it agreed to pay his wife, defendant Alice A. Taylor, the sum of three thousand dollars, and accruing profits, upon his death, provided that he and his beneficiary complied with all the terms and conditions of said policy. On January 6, 1895, in settlement of an indebtedness of $2,501.00 then existing on the part of Mr. Taylor in favor of plaintiff Carrie E. Bridge and found to be due her upon a statement of an account, Mr. Taylor made, executed, and delivered to Mr. Bridge for Mrs. Bridge his promissory note, payable to the order of Mrs. Bridge, for $2,501.00, with interest thereon at the rate of one and a half per cent per month from date until paid. As security for the payment of said promissory note and as part of the settlement, the same being executed and delivered contemporaneously with the note, Mr. and Mrs. Taylor and their son, Charles L. Taylor, Jr., executed and delivered to Henry S. Bridge, who was at all times acting as the agent of his wife in the matter, an assignment in writing of said insurance policy, the same purporting to be an absolute transfer of the policy. This assignment was consented to by the insurance company, and was never altered or revoked. On December 8, 1898, a new note was given by Mr. Taylor to Mrs. Bridge, payable one day after date, for $4,806.30, with interest at the same rate, being the amount of principal and accrued interest on the indebtedness evidenced by the first note, none of which had been paid, and the first note was delivered to Mr. Taylor. On October 18, 1902, a new note was given by Mr. Taylor to Mr. Bridge for seven thousand dollars, with interest at six per cent per annum, being the principal and accrued interest due on the second note, none of which had been paid. No part of the principal or interest on the indebtedness evidenced by the original note has ever been paid, unless the same was extinguished by the so-called renewal notes. Said original promissory note was never changed in any respect, except by the renewal thereof as hereinbefore set forth. Mrs. Taylor took no part in either
As is substantially said in respondents’ brief, the insurance company having admitted its liability and paid over the amount due on the policy to be awarded in accord with the determination by the court of the question which of the two claimants is entitled thereto, the contest is now between two rival claimants, both of whom are actors.
The right of one to whom a policy of life insurance is assigned by another, as security either for his own debt or for the debt of a third person, to collect from the insurance company the whole amount of the policy when it falls due, if he is still entitled to hold the security, cannot be doubted. The assignee in such a case has the legal title to the policy to such an extent as is necessary to enable him to do this, and the assignor is without any right to maintain any action for the money due thereon, upon the theory that he is the owner thereof. The assignor’s only interest in the policy, “upon that condition of fact, is in what remains of it after the advances, for the security of which it was assigned, have been
It can make no difference in so far as the right of the creditor to continue to hold the security is concerned, that the obligation on account of which he holds it is barred by the statute of limitations. That question was fully and carefully considered by this court in Puckhaber v. Henry, 152 Cal. 425 , [ 125 Am. St. Rep. 75 , 14 Ann. Cas. 844, 93 Pac. 114 ], and decided against the contention of the appellant here. We see no reason why the views expressed in the opinion in that case on that question should be modified or departed from. While recognizing that where the judgment is barred by the statute of limitations, any lien which the creditor holds as security, “is extinguished” and the creditor is without any right to take affirmative action to enforce the same, it was held that he may still retain possession of the pledged property, and that the debtor may not in any way interfere with such possession without paying the debt, which has not been satisfied or extinguished. It was held that section 2911 of the Civil Code, “was not designed to prevent the application of the equitable principle which has always been recognized as warranting courts in refusing to aid the debtor in the recovery of possession of his property from the mortgagee in possession or pledgee . . . without paying his debt.” It is true that in that case the contest was between the creditor and the administratrix of the estate of the debtor, who had apparently pledged a life insurance policy payable to his personal representatives instead of to some designated person, so that no question as to the rights of one who had pledged his property for the debt of another, and who was, therefore, so far as such property was concerned, a surety, was involved. But we do not see that the distinction is at all material so far as this question is concerned. One who delivers his property in pledge to a creditor as security for a debt of another can be in no better position, in this regard, than the debtor who so delivers his
Learned counsel for Mrs. Taylor relies somewhat on what is said in Faxon v. All Persons, 166 Cal. 707 , [ 137 Pac 919 ] ; to the effect that the equitable rule that notwithstanding the lien of a mortgage is extinguished by the barring of the debt by limitation, the mortgagor cannot, without paying his debt, quiet his title against the mortgagee, “should not be extended to a case in which the liability to pay the debt does not, in morals and equity, rest upon the plaintiff, or his property.” Here the liability to pay the debt did, in morals and equity, rest on the pledgor’s property. The case referred to does not assist appellant.
The trial court was amply warranted in concluding that the consideration for the execution of the original promissory note by Mrs. Taylor, and the contemporaneous execution of the assignment of the policy, was the settlement and satisfaction
We are of the opinion that the conclusion of the trial court that no part of the original promissory note to secure which the policy was assigned in pledge has ever been paid, cannot be held to be without sufficient support in the evidence. The claim of appellant in this connection is based entirely on the taking of the so-called renewal notes, and the surrender in each ease of renewal of the old note. In Savings and Loan Society v. Burnett, 106 Cal. 530 , [ 39 Pac. 925 ]; it is said: “It is the general rule that one executory contract does not extinguish another, It is also the rule that there must be an express agreement or understanding to that effect before another note, bill or check extinguishes and satisfies the indebtedness evidenced by an earlier one. Without multiplying authorities upon these propositions it is sufficient to refer to Comptoir D’Escompte v. Dresbach, 78 Cal. 15 , [ 20 Pac. 28 ], where the California cases are collated. ’ ’ In the case referred to it is said, at page 20: “It has been repeatedly held by this court that the acceptance of a note for a debt does not discharge the debt unless expressly agreed to be payment; that in such case the right of action on the debt is suspended until the maturity of the note given, and suit may be brought on the original debt in case of the nonpayment of the accepted note (citing numerous cases). The language used in the opinion is, unless it is expressly agreed that the note is ac
It is claimed that Mrs. Taylor was a mere surety in so far as the assigned policy was concerned, and that her property was released by the change in the original obligation for which the policy was assigned as security effected by the taking of the renewal notes. The first of these renewal notes was given, as we have seen, on December 8, 1898, and was payable, “one day after date.” The second was given on October 18, 1902, and, it will be assumed, was also payable “one day after date.” We do not think it can be seriously questioned th-at she did stand in the position of a surety of a debtor with relation to the property assigned, and that any change in the contract of the principal which would discharge a surety,
Plaintiffs’ claim, based upon Dewes v. Osborn, 178 Ill. 39 , [ 52 N. E. 942 ], that Mrs. Taylor was not a surety, but a principal acting through her husband as her agent, cannot be upheld in view of the findings of the trial court which, of course, are conclusive on them on this appeal by Mrs. Taylor. These findings show a plain case of simple suretyship so far as she was concerned, a debt of Mr. Taylor alone, the giving of a note therefor by Mr. Taylor alone, and the execution and delivery of the assignment of the policy by Mr. and Mrs. Taylor “as security for the payment of said promissory note.” In the case relied on by learned counsel, the agreement made at the time of the pledge by the husband clothed with ostensible authority to deal with the policy as he saw fit, contemplated all that was done, and the question was one to be determined by the law of agency. Whatever may be said as to the effect of the evidence in this case regarding the execution and delivery of the assignment, the findings show simply what we have stated, and we have no question of agency thereunder.
In response to Mrs. Taylor’s claim in this regard, set up in her pleading denominated her ‘‘ amended answer and amended cross-complaint,” filed August 18, 1911, as well as to other claims made by her, plaintiffs interposed the defense that the claim was barred by certain provisions of our statute of limitations, viz.: Subdivision 1 of section 339 and section 343 of the Code of Civil Procedure, and the trial court found in accord with this defense. We may assume that section 343, of the Code of Civil Procedure, which prescribes a limitation of four years after the cause of action shall have accrued, is the provision of our statute of limitations applicable to such a case as this, the limitation in subdivision 1, section 339 of the Code of Civil Procedure, being only two years.
The first renewal note was given, as we have seen, on December 8,1898, and the second on October 18,1902. Obviously if Mrs. Taylor’s rights because of the extension accrued at the time thereof, so that she might then have legally asserted the same, they became barred at least as early as December 8, 1902, and October 18, 1906, respectively.
The evidence shows without conflict that the insurance policy was delivered to Mr. Bridge at the time of the giving
No sufficient reason is suggested why Mrs. Taylor’s right to recover the policy on account of the extensions of the time of payment of the original note did not accrue at the time of such extensions. Such extensions, according to the contention of her counsel, each at once released the policy, so far as she was concerned, from any claim under which it could legally be held by plaintiffs as security for the payment of her husband’s debt. She was thenceforth entitled to assert her right in this behalf by action. During the full period prescribed by the statute of limitations and thereafter to the death of her husband, plaintiffs continued to hold the same under claim of right and adversely to her, with no claim whatever on her part that they were not entitled so to do. The trial court found, it is true, that she took no part in either of the renewals, “and had no knowledge thereof,” and that “said renewals were made without her knowledge or consent.” But we think that all this is entirely immaterial in so far as any question in connection with the statute of limitations is concerned. There is nothing in either the findings or the evidence to warrant the application of the rule discussed and applied in Lightner Mining Co. v. Lane, 161 Cal. 689 , [Ann. Cas. 1913C, 1093, 120 Pac. 771 ], to the effect that “a fraudulent concealment of the fact, upon the existence of which the cause of action accrues, is a good answer to the plea of the statute of limitations.” There is nothing in this case to warrant a conclusion of anything in the nature of a fraudulent concealment. Ordinarily, of course, the time when the cause of action accrues marks the beginning of the running of the statute of limitations. There is nothing here to take the case from the operation of this general rule. We are of the opinion that the findings of the trial court to the effect that Mrs. Taylor’s claim in this behalf is barred by certain provisions of the statute of limitations must be held to be sustained by the evidence.
The judgment and order denying a new trial are affirmed.
Rehearing denied.,
' Beatty, C. J., does not participate in the foregoing.
Cases cited
- Gilman v. Curtis 66 Cal. 116 p. 778
- Works v. Merritt 105 Cal. 467 p. 778
- Faxon v. All Persons 166 Cal. 707 p. 779
- Stroud v. Thomas 139 Cal. 274 p. 780
- Comptoir D'Escompte De Paris v. Dresbach 78 Cal. 15 p. 780
- Welch v. Allington 23 Cal. 322 p. 781, p. 782
- Merchs. Nat'l Bank of Santa Monica v. Bentel 166 Cal. 473 p. 781
- Valentine v. Donohoe-Kelly Banking Co. 133 Cal. 191 at 195 p. 782
- Sather Banking Co. v. Arthur R. Briggs Co. 138 Cal. 724 at 729 p. 782
- Parke & Lacy Co. v. White River Lumber Co. 110 Cal. 658 p. 782
- Tuohy v. Woods 122 Cal. 665 p. 782, p. 783
- Daneri v. Gazzola 139 Cal. 416 p. 782
- Koutz v. Vancliee 55 Cal. 345 p. 782
- Lightner Mining Co. v. Lane 161 Cal. 689 p. 784
- Mutual Life Insurance of New York v. Pacific Fruit Co. 142 Cal. 477 p. 785
- Conway v. Supreme Council Catholic Knights of America 131 Cal. 437 p. 785
- Allen v. Allen 95 Cal. 184 p. 785
- Alferitz v. Borgwardt 126 Cal. 201 p. 785