Majority
Headnote
Accident Insurance—Burden of Proof—Accidental Means of Death —Suicide.—In an action on a policy of accident insurance, under which the insured was indemnified “against bodily injuries effected directly and independently of all other causes through external, violent, and accidental means,” suicide, whether sane or insane not being covered, the burden of proof to establish the issue of suicide is on the defendant; on the issue as to whether or not the death of the insured had been effected through “accidental means,” the burden of proof is on the plaintiff.The plaintiff, wife of Gustave Postler, was the beneficiary named in two policies of accident insurance issued by the defendant to said Postler. By each of the policies Postler was insured in the principal sum of one thousand dollars “against bodily injuries effected directly and independently of all other causes through external, violent, and accidental means (suicide, whether sane or insane, is not covered).” The complaint alleged that on the twenty-seventh day of January, 1911, said Gustave Postler “received a bodily injury through external, violent and accidental means . . . to wit, by the discharge of a revolver in the hands of one Ed. Kripp, which said injuries caused the immediate death of said Gustave Postler.” These allegations are denied by the answer, which also set up as a separate defense that Postler committed suicide.
The case was tried before a jury, which returned a verdict in favor of plaintiff for the full amount claimed on both policies. The defendant appeals from the judgment entered upon this verdict, and from an order thereafter made denying its motion for a new trial.
There was some conflict in the evidence, but the facts which we are about to state appear in the testimony without substantial dispute. Postler was a painter, living with his wife and son in San Francisco. He had visited the Saratoga Club, a gambling resort located on Mason Street in the said city, and had, apparently, lost money in gambling there. On January 27, 1911, Postler left his home accompanied by his son, a boy of about sixteen years. They were riding in a buggy. After going to various places, among others a hardware store where Postler bought a revolver and some cartridges, he, with the boy, drove to the location of the Saratoga Club on Mason Street, arriving there about noon. During
There was some evidence which, so the defendant claimed, tended to show that Postler had himself fired the shot which ended his life. On the issue of suicide the burden of proof rested upon the defendant (Dennis v. Union Mutual Life Ins. Co., 84 Cal. 570 , [ 24 Pac. 120 ]), and it cannot be questioned that the jury was fully justified in finding that this burden had not been sustained.
But the defendant relied, in addition, upon its denial that the injuries which caused Postler’s death had been effected through accidental means. On this issue the burden of proof was upon the plaintiff. “The plaintiff was bound to estab
A man who attempts to obtain money from others by the display of a deadly weapon, aiding such display by threats of killing, must contemplate, as the natural and probable consequence of his actions, that there will be resistance to or interference with the consummation of his plan, and that such resistance or interference will be likely to result in armed conflict and serious injury to one or more of the participants. To all intents and purposes, Postler’s position, so far as concerns the probable consequences of his acts, was that of any man who attempts robbery at the point of a firearm. If such a man were killed by his intended victim, it could hardly be claimed that his death was caused by “accidental means,” in the sense in which those words are used in policies like the ones before us. We are not suggesting that, from an ethical standpoint, Postler’s action was to be judged by the standards which would be applied to the commission of an ordinary robbery. The conditions under which he had lost his money in gambling may have been such as to make him feel, whether rightly or wrongly, that he was justified in resorting to extreme and lawless measures in the effort to recoup his losses. But these considerations do not affect the ultimate question, which is whether the killing was the natural and probable consequence of his own voluntary acts. Under the authorities above cited, this question must be answered in the affirmative. (See, also, Hutton v. State Acc. Co., 267 Ill. 267 , [Ann Cas. 1916C, 577, L. R. A. 1915E, 127, 108 N. E. 296 ]; Prudential Casualty Co. v. Curry, 10 Ala. App. 642 , [ 65 South. 852 ].)
In reaching the conclusion just indicated, it is immaterial whether the first shot was fired by Postler or by Kripp. Conceding that there is evidence to show that Kripp fired the first shot, it still remains that such shooting was the consequence naturally to be anticipated by a ihan taking the course which Postler took. The respondent makes the suggestion
Some of the instructions to the jury were inaccurate, but since the case must be remanded for the reasons already stated, these matters need but brief mention. Instruction IV, stating the rule for interpreting exceptions in a policy of insurance, should not have been given to the jury. It stated the rule correctly, but the construction of the contract was a matter of law for the court, and the jury could not have been aided by this instruction in deciding the questions of fact submitted to them. Instruction IX was misleading. We shall not here quote the instruction, but content ourselves with repeating that upon the issue whether the death was effected by accidental means the burden of proof was on the plaintiff, and she was not entitled to recover unless she satisfied the jury by a preponderance of evidence that the injuries had been so inflicted. On the issue of suicide, on the other hand, the burden of proof was on the defendant and before it could prevail on this ground it was bound to establish by the evidence that Postler’s death had been caused by suicide. It is true that where a violent death has occurred the presumption, in the absence of further evidence, is in favor of accidental death and against suicide. (Jenkin v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 131 Cal. 121 , [ 63 Pac. 180 ].) This presumption is, however, merely an item in the evidence, and does not impair the force of the rule that on the whole evidence, including the presumptions, the plaintiff must show as a part of her case the fact that injuries were effected by accidental means.
In instruction X the court told the jury that the defense set up by the defendant was an affirmative defense to be established by the defendant by a preponderance of testimony. The instruction should have been limited to the defense of suicide. Stated in general terms it might have been understood to apply to the defense that the injury was not received through accidental means. As so applied it did not state the. true rule of law.
The judgment and the order denying a new trial are reversed.
Shaw, J., and Lawlor, J., concurred.
Hearing in Bank denied.
Cases cited
- Dennis v. Union Mutual Life Insurance Co. 84 Cal. 570 p. 3
- Price v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. 169 Cal. 800 at 802 p. 4
- Jenkin v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. 131 Cal. 121 p. 4, p. 6
- Rock v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 172 Cal. 462 p. 4