Majority
Headnote
Insurance—Warranty of Status of Assured—Waiver.—An insurance corporation may usually stand upon the letter of its contract, and where the policy is based upon a warrant of status by the person, firm, or corporation seeking insurance, the insurer may in qortain cases be relieved of liability by misrepresentations of the applicant, even when there is an absence of fraud. But an insurance company may waive provisions placed in the policy solely for its own benefit, and may by its conduct be estopped from asserting defenses which might otherwise be available.Defendant appeals from the judgment and from an order denying its motion for a new trial.
The facts are simple. Cousins, an employee of plaintiff, was injured and brought suit for a large sum of money in damages. Defendant, a surety company, which had issued a policy in favor of plaintiff, took charge through its counsel
Appellant’s first point is that it was not bound by the terms of the policy to indemnify plaintiff for any loss, because it did not, as found by the court, enter into a contract of insurance with “the plaintiff” (a corporation), but with J. Frank & Company, an individual. Undoubtedly an insurance corporation may usually stand upon the letter of its contract, and where the policy is based upon a warrant of status by the person, firm, or corporation seeking insurance, the insurer may in certain eases be relieved of liability by misrepresentations of the applicant even when there is an absence of fraud. But an insurance company, like any other contracting party, may waive provisions placed in the policy solely for its own benefit and may by its conduct be estopped from asserting defenses which might otherwise be available. We do not mean to say that the mere statement by the assured of individual rather than corporate. status would avoid the policy if timely objection were made, but it is certain that whatever the rights of the Casualty Company may have been by reason of the false statement in the policy, it is now prevented by its own conduct from taking any advantage of that representation because it undertook the defense of its assured, under the recognized duty imposed by the contract, when J. Frank & Company was sued as a corporation. The same able counsel who represented the interests of the defendant on behalf- of the surety company in'Cousins v. Frank & Company (a Corporation) conducted the defense in this action. The complaint in the action for damages described J. Frank & Company as “a corporation duly organized and existing under and by virtue of the laws
Appellant attacks as not sustained by the proof the finding to the effect that the insurer erroneously inserted in the policy a designation of the assured as an individual. In view of our decision with reference to waiver of conditions, this finding is immaterial, and we are relieved from the necessity of discussing the alleged lack of evidence applicable to it.
Another finding which, according to appellant, is unsupported is the one by which the court declared that “defendant through its attorneys had entire charge of the defense of said action” (meaning the suit of Cousins against J. Frank & Company). It is asserted that because there was a claim by Cousins for an amount in excess of the maximum liability under the policy, the surety company deemed itself bound to invite Mr. Brownstone, who had acted in other matters for J. Frank & Company, to become associated with its counsel. Unquestionably he was asked to participate in the preparation and trial of that case, but he refused to accept the invitation. Mr. Raymond, one of the attorneys for defendant in this action, while on the witness-stand, speaking
The court found that plaintiff paid in full the judgment in favor of Cousins on the 24th of February, 1913, together with interest and costs, amounting in the aggregate to $2,635. In attacking this finding appellant again lays great stress upon the personal as distinguished from the corporate entity. The evidence tends to show, as appellant admits, that M. M. Morris loaned to the corporation two thousand dollars to be applied to the payment of the judgment, but appellant insists that the remainder, $635, was paid by Mr. Frank personally. Appellant calls attention to the provision in the policy to the effect that no action by the assured against the surety company will lie to recover for any amount except a loss “actually sustained and paid in money by the assured.” After the recovery of judgment and before its payment J. Frank & Company made an assignment for the benefit of creditors. Subsequently the sum of two thousand dollars was borrowed from Morris on the security of a purported assignment by the corporation, J. Frank & Company, of its rights under the policy and the satisfaction of judgment was obtained on the same day. Yet there is no proof, according to appellant, of any corporate act, either in the execution of the note to Morris, the making of the assignment, or the payment of the judgment; and further, it is argued in appellant’s behalf that by failure to produce the corporation’s records (although ordered to do so by the court), respondent established the presumption against it that there was no corporate act touching the matter of the settlement of the judgment. This last contention is without merit. It is true that the court suggested to counsel for J. Frank & Company that he would better get the minutes and other books of the corporation during an adjournment, but there was no order to produce them, and if there had been the surety company easily might have requested its enforcement. This was not done. The mere fact that the books and papers were not brought into court did not create the presumption for which appellant contends. There is no pretense that the' proof does not show the payment of the judgment in
There was a motion for nonsuit based upon alleged failures on the part of the assured to obey certain requirements of the policy, namely, to send to the home office of the insurer written notice of the accident to Cousins, and after the commencement of the action by said Cousins to forward to the home office the summons served upon J. Frank & Company in that suit. Of course the conditions of the policy requiring notice to the home office of probable liability are intended primarily to afford opportunity to the insurer promptly to take charge of a defense. Such requirements are reasonable and just, but they are waived when, as in this case, the insurer actually does assume control of the litigation growing out of the accident. (Knarston v. Manhattan Life Ins. Co., supra.) There was no error in the denial of the motion for nonsuit.
Certain rulings relative to the admission of evidence are specified - as erroneous. The admission of the policy issued to J. Frank & Company, an individual, and the acceptance in evidence of the judgment-roll in Cousins v. J. Frank & Company (a corporation) were justified upon principles discussed above. Certain questions were propounded to Mr. Faull, a representative of appellant, by which it was sought to bring out the details of a certain conversation between
Another exception was based upon the ruling sustaining the objection of plaintiff to a question directed to Mr. Morris in which it was sought to have him say with whom he had a conversation about the loan to plaintiff. If the ruling was erroneous, it was not harmful to appellant, because later in the examination Mr. Morris testified very fully concerning the conversations and all of the circumstances connected with the making of the loan.
An expert insurance broker, Mr. MacMeans, was asked if the rates of insurance for individuals were different from those charged to corporations. Over defendant’s Objection he was permitted to answer. In view of that which we have decided with reference to the waiver in the matter of the incorrect designation of plaintiff in the policy, this error, if it was error, is entirely immaterial.
The waiver evidenced by the conduct of the insurer is also a sufficient answer to the specification of error based upon the admission in evidence of certain conversations between Mr. Frank and Mr. Raymond, attorney for the surety company, and others between Mr. Frank and Mr. Vella, that corporation’s adjuster. These conversations did not, as appellant insists, relate to prohibited waivers of the terms of the policy on the part of agents. They merely referred to the action of the company through its agents after it had waived all informalities and all possible objections by assuming control of the litigation. The prohibition in a policy against waiver, except in writing, does not apply to those stipulations which are to be performed after loss, such as giving notice and furnishing preliminary proof. (Carroll v. Girard Fire Ins. Co., 72 Cal. 297 -300, [ 13 Pac. 863 ];
Appellant’s final point admittedly is not supported by the record, but in the brief of appellant it was announced that a motion in diminution of the record would be made, to the end that the argument might become relevant. No such motion has been made. Therefore, we may not consider the argument on that point.
Judgment and order affirmed.
Henshaw, J., and Lorigan, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Murray v. Home Benefit Life Ass'n 90 Cal. 402 p. 296
- Knarston v. Manhattan Life Insurance 124 Cal. 74 p. 296
- Knarston v. Manhattan Life Insurance 140 Cal. 57 p. 296
- Carroll v. Girard Fire Insurance of the City of Philadelphia 72 Cal. 297 p. 299
- Wheaton v. North British and Merchantile Insurance 76 Cal. 415 p. 300