Majority
Headnote
[1] Fire Insurance Law—Action on Policy—Falling op Material P'art op Building—Inconsistent Findings.—In an action on a fire insurance policy, a finding that all of the property described in the policy was destroyed by a bomb or other explosion and that a material part of the building fell at the time of the explosion is inconsistent with a finding that a material part of the building fell as the result of the fire, and will not support a judgment in favor of the defendant under the explosion exemption clause of the policy.—The plaintiff in this action sought to recover a loss alleged to have been occasioned by fire under a policy of insurance, standard in form, issued to him by the
The clauses of the contract of insurance upon which the defense of the defendant is dependent are these:
(1) “This company will not be liable for loss . . . unless fire ensues, (and in that event for damage by fire only), by explosion or any kind of lightning.
(2) “Unless otherwise prescribed by agreement, ... if the building or any material part thereof fall, except as a result of fire, all insurance by this policy on such building, or its contents, shall immediately cease.
(3) “Unless otherwise provided by agreement . . . this company shall not be liable for loss or damage occurring (a) while the hazard be materially increased by any means within the control of the insured ... (e) while there be kept, used or allowed on the described premises . . . gasoline . . . exceeding one quart.”
Even if these findings were capable of reconciliation, nevertheless, they will hot suffice to warrant and support a judgment for the defendant grounded upon either the “explosion” or “fallen building” clauses of the contract of insurance. [2] Where the contract of insurance contains a “fallen building” clause, and also a clause exempting the company from liability, for loss caused by an explosion of any kind unless fire ensues, and in that event limiting the liability to the damage caused by the fire only, it is the settled rule that the company is liable for the damage result
[3] Under the' “explosion exemption” clause of the policy, if the explosion preceded the fire, plaintiff would be entitled to recover for the damage resulting from the fire alone; on the other hand, notwithstanding the destructive effect of an explosion, the whole loss would be a loss by fire within the meaning and protective purpose of the policy if the explosion occurred after the commencement of the fire and was a resulting incident of the fire. (German American Ins. Co. v. Hyman, 42 Colo. 156 , [ 16 L. R. A. (N. S.) 77 , 94 Pac. 27 ]; 14 R. C. L., p. 1218; 1 Clement on Fire Insurance, p. 123, and cases cited.) [4] The burden of proof under the “explosion exemption” clause of contracts of insurance dévolves as follows: There having been shown the execution of a contract, the occurrence of a fire with a resulting loss, and notice to the insurer, if the insurance company claims exemption by reason of the breach of a proviso or condition subsequent, the burden rests upon the company to prove that a loss, or part thereof, falls within one of the prohibitive clauses of the policy. In other words, the company must plead and prove the exception or breach which it sets up as defeating plaintiff’s prima facie right of recovery. If such burden is sustained and the case proved, for example, to be within the explosion exemption clause by a showing that the explosion occurred first in point of time, plaintiff is then called upon to prove the extent of damage, if any, suffered from the subsequent and resulting fire. (German American Ins. Co. v. Hyman, supra; Western Assur. Co. v. J. H. Mohlman Co., 83 Fed. 813 , [ 40 L. R. A. 561 , 28 0. C. A. 157].) Under the facts of this case it thus became the duty of defendant to show that the explosion preceded the fire. For this reason, the mere finding that all of the insured property was destroyed by an explosion is not, in and of itself, sufficient to support the judgment upon the theory that the loss came within the explosion exemption clause of the contract of insurance. It is an undis
[5] In arriving at this conclusion we are not unmindful of the general rule that “the findings of the trial court are to receive such a construction as will uphold rather than defeat its judgment,” and that from the facts found ultimate facts may be inferred in support of the judgment. (Breeze v. Brooks, 97 Cal. 72 , 77, [ 22 L. R. A. 257 , 31 Pac. 742 ].) Nevertheless, it is not within the province of this court to infer from the findings ultimate facts which would support the judgment when such facts do not necessarily follow from the facts actually found. (Emmal v. Webb, 36 Cal. 197 ; Bull v. Bray, 89 Cal. 286 , [ 13 L. R. A. 576 , 26 Pac. 873 ]; Estate of Benton, 131 Cal. 472 , [ 63 Pac. 775 ]; Holzheier v. Hayes, 5 Cal. Unrep. 965 , [ 52 Pac. 838 ] ; Ellis v. Bonebreak, 180 Cal. 168 , [ 179 Pac. 893 ].) [6] The finding that the goods were destroyed by an explosion and that a material part of the building fell at the time of the explosion does not necessitate the inference that the explosion preceded the fire. Non constat, but that the explosion may have followed the fire, and, if that be so, the explosion, even though it were the direct cause of the entire destruction of the insured property, would itself have resulted from the fire, and would, therefore, be an incident of the fire, which fire, in such case, must, in the last analysis, be held to be the agency which destroyed the insured property.
Upon the issue of defendant’s exemption from liability because of the alleged violation of the clauses of the policy concerning the keeping of gasoline and the increase of hazard, the trial court found: “That at the time of the destruction of said property as above mentioned, and for some days prior thereto, there was Trept, used, and allowed upon the premises described in plaintiff’s complaint and said policy of insurance, gasoline in excess of one quart, to wit, 150 gallons thereof, and that no agreement consenting thereto was indorsed on or added to said policy of insur
In considering the scope and effect of these findings and conclusions, reference must be had to the terms of the policy and the allegations of the complaint. The only “premises” there described are “the story frame building, with roof, now and while occupied as general merchandise and situated No. 2104 East Ninth Street in Los Angeles, California.” Admittedly the insured property was situated exclusively in these premises at the time of the issuance of the policy and at the time of the fire. [7] The word “premises,” as employed in fire insurance policies, means no more than the insured building or the building which contains the insured property, and cannot be held to be coextensive with the lot upon which the building is constructed or a lot contiguous thereto. (Rau v. Westchester Fire Ins. Co., 36 App. Div. 179 , [ 55 N. Y. Supp. 459 ]; Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Shearman, 20 Tex. Civ. 343, [ 50 S. W. 599 ]; 2 Clement on Fire Insurance, p. 334.)
[ Upon this phase of the case the record shows .that the evidence was all to the effect that the tank which contained the gasoline was situated on a separate, lot six feet from the building described in the complaint and in the policy of insurance, fourteen feet below the surface of the ground, and in no way connected with the said building. [8] This being so, there is no escape from the conclusion that the finding that there was kept upon the premises, which contained the insured property, gasoline in excess of the quantity permitted by the policy is not supported by the evidence, and, as a consequence, this finding will not support the conclusion of law deduced therefrom that there was a violation of the provision of the policy concerning the keeping of gasoline on the “premises.”
This brings us to a consideration of the finding—misplaced in the conclusions of law—to the effect that the plaintiff materially increased the hazard of the risk insured against by the keeping of gasoline on the premises. This finding is not sustained by the evidence, even though it be assumed in aid of the finding, as counsel for the defendant would have us do, that the court employed the word “premises” with
It further appears from the evidence that plaintiff was not^the owner of, nor in control of the use of, the tank at the time the policy was issued nor at any time thereafter. Soon after the tank was installed and several months before the fire, as previously noted, plaintiff transferred all interest therein to one LoBue. The gasoline was owned by LoBue, who ordered it placed in the tank, and even if it could be said that the continued use of the tank was an in
The view which we have taken as to the insufficiency of the evidence and findings to warrant a judgment for the defendant under the provisions of the “gasoline” and “increased hazard” clauses of the contract makes it unnecessary for us to discuss and decide the question of whether or not the “increase of hazard” clause of the California standard form fire insurance policy is limited in its operation by section 2755 of the Civil Code, which provides that a contract of fire insurance is not affected by an act even though it increases the risk, unless the act violates the provisions of the policy.
[13] Prior to the institution of the action, plaintiff made an assignment of the sums due under the policy in question to a third party and it is urged that he thereby parted with his right to sue on the contract. The assignment, however, only purports to create an agency under which the assignee was empowered to adjust the claim and apply the proceeds in part settlement of debts owing by plaintiff. The assignee secured no personal interest in the benefits to be derived by collection of the insurance money, all authorized action being on behalf of plaintiff. Plaintiff, therefore, is still the real party at interest and has not lost his right to sue.
The judgment is reversed and the cause remanded for a new trial.
Wilbur, J., Shaw, J., Angellotti, C. J., Lawlor, J., and Olney, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Breeze v. Brooks 97 Cal. 72 at 77 p. 421
- Emmal v. Webb 36 Cal. 197 p. 421
- Bull v. Bray 89 Cal. 286 p. 421
- Benton v. Benton 131 Cal. 472 p. 421
- Holzheier v. Hayes 5 Cal. Unrep. 965 p. 421
- Ellis v. Bonebreak 180 Cal. 168 p. 421
- Rau v. Westchester Fire Insurance 36 App. Div. 179 p. 423
- Williams v. People's Fire Insurance 57 N. Y. 274 p. 424
- Whitney v. Black River Insurance 72 N. Y. 117 p. 424, p. 425
- Tischler v. Cal. Farmers' Mut. Fire Ins. Co. 66 Cal. 178 p. 424
- Breuner v. Liverpool & London & Globe Insurance 51 Cal. 101 p. 426