Majority
Headnote
[1] Workmen’s Compensation Act — Temporary and Permanent Disability—Change op Award prom One to the Other.—In this proceeding to annul an award of the Industrial Accident Commission under the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act, it is held that under the state of the case as shown by the record and the law the Industrial Accident Commission had the authority to change the award from a permanent disability payment to a temporary disability payment.This is an application for the annulment of an award made by the Industrial Accident Commission of this state under the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act. (Stats. 1917, p. 831.)
Respondent, Leo Vane, employed as an autotruck driver by the Floribel Farm and Cattle Company, a corporation, was injured June 15, 1918, in the course of his employment
The record' shows that respondent filed on February 7, 1921, with the Industrial Accident Commission an application for the adjustment of his claim. It is stated therein that a permanent disability rating of 30.3 per cent had theretofore been made. This rating entitled respondent to receive as compensation a weekly payment of $16.67 for a period of 123 weeks, totaling $2,060.41. The payment of this sum, together with payments in full for medical care and attendance, was acknowledged. The primary purpose of the respondent seems to have been to obtain from the Commission an order for another operation to relieve him from the ill effects of the injury. The statement of facts in support of the application is, in part, “that a permanent disability rating of 30.3% or 123 weeks at $16.67 was given applicant for one inch shortening of right (major) radius, limited motion of thumb and wrist; partial loss of grasping power and deformity. The rating has
On May 17, 1921, the Commission found that the injury had resulted in a permanent disability the extent of which could not then be determined. It further found that there existed an ununited fracture of the right radius with deformity at the wrist producing restricted motion of the wrist and hand and that an operation would probably reduce the same as outlined by the reports of physicians in the case. The operation was ordered and- accordingly performed at the expense of petitioner. The employer was released from liability thereon.
On May 22, 1922, the application of respondent requesting that a rating of permanent disability be made and that the findings and awards theretofore made be amended accordingly was granted without opposition. The commission found that the injury had caused a permanent disability equal to 30.75 per cent of total disability, amounting to $2,040.50, which sum had been paid, and it ordered that “applicant take nothing further by reason of his injury forming the basis of this proceeding.” On the following day, to wit, May 23, 1922, respondent petitioned for a rehearing. This petition was based on the ground that the evidence did not support the findings and that respondent had discovered new evidence which he could not with reasonable diligence have discovered and produced at the hearing. It was also urged as a ground for rehearing that he “had no notice of the amount of the permanent disability rating which was to be given him and had no opportunity of showing to the Commission what the period of temporary disability was.” He also claimed that he was unable to do any work from the day he received the injury, to wit, June 15, 1918, to the day the petition was filed, to wit, May 22,
By the application filed February 7, 1921, the only relief sought was an order for a surgical operation. It was specifically so stated in the following language: " Question: Whether operation should be resorted to to relieve from the
Prior to the filing of said application the permanent disability rating department of the Commission made on November 30, 1920, the following entry of record: “Digest: One inch shortening of the radius of major forearm; limited motion of thumb and wrist; partial loss of grasping power and deformity. 30.75 per cent, 123 weeks at $16.67 per week.” This order seems to furnish the original ground or basis for the claim that a finding of permanent disability had been made. It was carried into both the petition requesting further operative treatment and the order granting said treatment contains a statement or recital that the injury had resulted in permanent disability the extent of which could not then, to wit, May 17, 1921, be determined but that probably the injury would be materially decreased by surgical operation.
Respondent’s condition seems to have baffled medical skill. Eminent surgeons disagreed as to whether he would be improved by another operation. There is but little of definiteness expressed in the testimony or reports of experts with respect to the extent of the injury. It seems quite certain that whatever use respondent was able to make of the injured member prior to the operations performed pursuant to the order of May 17, 1921, was totally lost, temporarily, at least, as the result of said operations, which,' however, in the end, proved to have been wisely performed. He was sufficiently restored thereby in body to resume farm labor on May 24, 1922. As before stated, there was a decided difference of opinion shared by the medical profession, both as to the treatment that should be administered and as to the prognosis of the case. Two delicate operations of bone grafting had been performed. A supposedly united fracture had upon two occasions become loosened. Severed nerves and tendons caused new trouble. Under such circumstances it was practically impossible in the earlier stages of the injury for the Commission to determine with any degree of definiteness the extent or permanency of the disability.
The objections of petitioner have their origin entirely in the amendments to the award and findings made and entered May 22, 1922. By that amendment the disability
[2] We are persuaded that the power of the Commission to allow a temporary disability payment in lieu of a permanent disability payment is a power, which, from the nature of the object to 'be accomplished, must be a continuing power and within the scope of continuing jurisdiction for which provision is made by the act. Otherwise the act, in part at least, would be self-destructive.
But aside from what has been said on the subject of continuing jurisdiction it is by no means certain that the act requires a formal application to be made on the part of an injured employee to entitle him to a change from one kind of disability classification to another if such change is for his benefit. The act seems to indicate that it is the duty of the Commission to make such a change whenever the facts before it clearly disclose that a change would be beneficial to the employee. The language of the statute is that the employee, when the injury causes both a temporary and a permanent disability, “shall not be entitled to both a temporary and permanent disability payment but only to the greater of the two.” (Italics ours.) Thus it is seen that the larger amount is awarded by force of the statute itself. There is no denial of the fact that the temporary disability payments exceed the permanent disability payments. The weekly amounts in each instance are the same, the advantage of a temporary disability payment being accounted for by the greater period over which it extends.
No question of the violation of the provisions of paragraph (c) of section 17 of the act under consideration, which provides that there shall be but one cause of action for each transaction coming within the provisions of the act, and that certain claims may be joined in the same proceeding, is here involved as contended for by petitioner. There was but one injury suffered and but one action
If the order made May 17, 1918, is in legal effect a finding and award, as claimed by respondent, then beyond question sufficient new facts have arisen in this case, but which were absent in Georgia Casualty Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, to sustain the final award made October 13, 1922. If, on the other hand, said order of May 17, 1918, did not amount to an award, the Commission was not concluded by it and the final award was authorized.
The eases cited to sustain petitioner are totally different in material respects from the facts constituting the instant case and the provisions of law relied upon to sustain those cases are not repugnant to the conclusion we have reached in the case at bar.
The award is affirmed.
Lennon, J., Lawlor, J., Myers, J., Waste, J., Wilbur, C. J., and Kerrigan, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Ehrhart v. Industrial Accident Commission 172 Cal. 621 p. 425
- Georgia Casualty Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 177 Cal. 289 p. 425