Majority
Headnote
[l] Pleading—Failure to Answer—Belief.—In an action wherein the judgment is entered by reason of the failure of the defendant to appear and answer the complaint, the relief granted cannot exceed that which is demanded in the complaint; and where relief is given beyond the scope of that asked for, it is a nullity, and may be attacked collaterally, or its effect avoided under theThis is an action in interpleader instituted by the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company against the appellant, Marietta Gross, and the respondent, Lawrence J. Welch, who were formerly husband and wife. On October 28, 1903, and while appellant and respondent were husband and wife, a policy of insurance was issued by the plaintiff, the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company. This policy
[1] In an action wherein the judgment is entered by reason of the failure of the defendant to appear and answer the complaint therein, the relief granted cannot exceed that
[2] That part of the judgment in the divorce case of Welch v. Welch purporting to set aside to plaintiff therein “all of the community property of plaintiff and defendant” is therefore a nullity, and said judgment cannot be held to have had the effect of awarding to plaintiff in said action any of the community property of said parties except that specifically described in the complaint, which did not include the life insurance policy, the proceeds of which are in controversy in this action. No mention of said life insurance policy was made in the pleadings, findings, or either of the decrees in said divorce action. There is nothing in the case of White v. White, 86 Cal. 212 , 219 [ 24 Pac. 996 ], cited by appellant, inconsistent with the foregoing conclusion. The appellant, therefore, acquired no right to said insurance policy by virtue of the decree of divorce awarding to her “all of the community property of plaintiff and defendant, ” or by any other provision of said decree. If she has any right to said policy, or its proceeds, it must be by virtue of some interest therein acquired while she and the defendant were husband and wife, and which was not determined by said decree of divorce. The trial court, however, held that the decree of divorce was an adjudication in favor of respondent that he was the owner of said policy of insurance, and accordingly gave judgment in his favor for the full amount of the proceeds thereof.
In support of said judgment respondent contends that the appellant having in her complaint in the divorce action specifically described the community property belonging to her and her then husband, and the court having found said community property to consist of the articles so described in her complaint, and having made an award of said com
“It is earnestly contended by the respondent that the final decree is of no force whatever upon the right of the plaintiff in the property of the husband. In this we think the plaintiff is mistaken. Where a defendant is served with a summons and complaint stating the facts upon which he is required to act, and he makes default, he is presumed to admit all the facts which are well pleaded in the com
plaint. The judgment which follows upon this sort of admission is, in contemplation of law, a complete adjudication of all the rights of the parties embraced in the prayer for relief and arising from the facts stated in the complaint, including the facts in his favor as well as those against him. The defendant here is presumed to have acceded to the proposition embraced in the complaint and to have consented that plaintiff should obtain the relief therein prayed for, upon the conditions and facts set forth in the complaint. The proceeding is equivalent to a statement by Brown to plaintiff that he did not object to a divorce for the cause alleged, based upon the theory that there was no community property existing at the time the action was begun. When judgment is rendered upon such a complaint and default, it becomes, in effect, a contract between the parties that the judgment shall be final with respect to everything properly embraced within the allegations of the complaint and in the prayer for relief. (1 Freeman on Judgments, sec. 330; Hoh v. Hoh, 84 Wis. 378 [ 54 N. W. 731 ].) Although the final decree is silent as to property, it nevertheless operates as an adjudication that at the time the action was begun there was no community property. (.Thompson v. McKay, 41 Cal. 227 ; Champion v. Woods, 79 Cal. 17 [ 12 Am. St. Rep. 126 , 21 Pac. 534 ].)”
In the present proceeding we find that the trial court in the divorce action, following the allegations of the complaint therein, found that the parties thereto had acquired as community property the property described in said complaint, and in the final decree of divorce this property was awarded to the plaintiff in said action as community property. While the decree is silent as to any other property either of said parties may have then owned or have been interested in, yet we think from what was said in the case of Brown v. Brown, supra, that said decree operates as an adjudication that at the time said action was begun there was no other community property. Therefore, whatever other property either of said parties then owned or was interested in, in so far as its community character was concerned, was by said decree determined to be the separate property of the particular spouse in whose name it was then held. Not only would this be so from the reasoning of the court in Brown v. Brown, supra, but for other reasons as
Again referring to the second of the Brown cases, supra, where the court was referring to the life insurance policy and in which it was held that the judgment which described no property whatever, but which was based upon a complaint that there was no community property, was “a conclusive determination against the plaintiff that this property is not community property,” then upon the same principle the judgment in the present action awarding to plaintiff all the property described in her complaint and claimed by her as community property is a conclusive determination as against plaintiff that the life insurance policy in the present action, not being mentioned in said final decree, is not community property. By its terms it was made payable to respondent in case he survived the twenty-year period mentioned therein. Being alive at the end of said period the proceeds thereof legally belong to him, and
[3] Appellant further contends that the evidence shows that after the divorce proceedings were terminated she paid all premiums falling due on the policy, and therefore the respondent is estopped from claiming that she has no interest therein. We are unable to see how the principle of estoppel can apply under these facts. Appellant undoubtedly had an interest in the policy during the time she paid the said premiums. Had respondent died before the expiration of said twenty-year period she would have been entitled to the face of said policy upon his death. It was to protect this right in part, at least, that she kept the premiums paid up, and the fact that respondent knew that she was making these payments and permitted her to do so cannot in any way be held to estop him from asserting whatever rights he may have under said policy when by the terms thereof they shall have matured.
The judgment is affirmed.
Richards, J., Seawell, J., Shenk, J., Langdon, J., and Waste, C. J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Brooks v. Forington 117 Cal. 219 p. 315
- Mudge v. Steinhart 78 Cal. 34 p. 315
- Lang v. Lang 182 Cal. 765 at 769 p. 315
- Staacke v. Bell 125 Cal. 309 at 312 p. 315
- White v. White 86 Cal. 212 at 219 p. 315
- Champion v. Woods 79 Cal. 17 p. 317
- In re Estate of Brix 181 Cal. 667 at 676 p. 318