Majority
The petitioner for a writ of review herein was at the time of the injuries for which he sought an award an employee of the respondent San Francisco Bridge Company of which its co-respondent, Federal Mutual Liability Insurance Company, was at said time the insurance carrier. The petitioner’s injuries were caused by his being struck by a plank on the head while in the course of his employment and on or about the thirty-first day of March, 1927. No immediate disability followed and he continued in his usual employment until June 2, 1927, when he became paralyzed and bedridden and totally disabled and so continued thenceforth and down to and including the hearing of his cause before the Commission. The undisputed evidence presented at such hearing showed that his paralyzed and bedridden and totally disabled condition was the direct result of his injuries received as aforesaid. The claim of the applicant for an award was not filed before the Commission until November 1, 1927, and not within six months after the date of his injury, and the main defense of the respondents, his employer and its insurance carrier, upon the hearing before the Commission consisted in the plea that the belated application of the petitioner for an award was barred by the limitation prescribed by section 11 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act. The Commission in denying the applicant relief based its findings and order solely upon' that ground and also denied the application of the petitioner for a rehearing presumably upon the same ground.
In his said application for a rehearing said petitioner urged, and also urges in his application for this writ, that the respondents have waived their right to plead the bar of the limitation prescribed in section 11 of said act by their failure to present said plea upon the first hearing before the Commission, the basis of his said contention being that according to the record of said hearing before the Commission his application for compensation was filed on November 1, 1927; that notice of the hearing thereon was given on November 7, 1927, wherein the date of November 23, 1927, was the day fixed for said hearing. The record, however, discloses that at the date of such hearing the time of the respondents to answer had not expired,
The second contention upon which the petitioner strongly relies is that the Commission was wholly in error in holding that the claim of the applicant for an award was filed too late and in denying him relief upon that sole ground. Section 11 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act (Stats. 1917, pp. 831-841) provides as follows: “(b) The periods within which proceedings for the collection of compensation may be commenced are as follows:
“ (1) Proceedings for the collection of the benefit provided by subsection (a) of section nine or for the collection of the disability payment provided by subsection (b) of said section nine must be commenced within six months from the date of the injury, except as otherwise provided in this act.
“(c) . . . provided, further, that the provisions of this section shall not apply to an employee who is totally disabled and bedridden as a result of his injury, during the continuance of such condition or until the expiration of six months thereafter. ’ ’
It is the contention of the respondents herein that the foregoing provision of section 11 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act embodying as it does a period of limitation within which proceedings for the collection of the benefits provided for in said act must be commenced is to be given the same interpretation that has been uniformly applied to similar statutes of limitation from the time of the en-grafting of such statutes upon the common law of England down to the present time and which interpretation is to the effect that when the prescribed period of a statute of limitation begins to run it continues to run, with certain specified and limited exceptions, during the prescribed
We note at the very outset a marked distinction between the terms of the limitation embraced therein and those employed in the various provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure which relate to the limitations of actions and proceedings thereunder. The code provisions relating generally to the time within which civil actions and proceedings must be commenced are embraced in part II, title II of said code and in each instance wherein a period of limitation is prescribed for the commencement of a particular action or proceeding such action or proceeding can only, with certain exceptions, be commenced within the periods prescribed in said title “after the cause of action shall have accrued.” The provisions of said title which embody the exceptions to the general rule also expressly refer and relate to the time “when the cause of action accrues.” Had the legislature intended, in the adoption of the Workmen’s Compensa
It is our conclusion, therefore, that a liberal interpretation of section 11 of said act requires us to hold that whenever it is made to appear that if at any time during the period of limitation provided for in said act the injured employee has become “totally disabled and bedridden as a result of his injury” the period of limitation within which he must begin proceedings before the Commission for the
It is argued by the respondents herein that such an interpretation would have the effect of prolonging unreasonably the period within which such proceedings must be begun. We see little force, however, in this suggestion for the twofold reason that traumatic injuries as a result of which persons become totally disabled and bedridden are not in ordinary circumstances followed by any great prolongation of such conditions, and for the further reason that with regard to statutes of limitation generally the tolling of the statute continues during the period when the exceptions to it are in operation even though that period may be prolonged for as much as twenty years (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 328). The respondents herein have relied strongly upon the case of Rose v. Petaluma & Santa Rosa Railway Co., 64 Cal. App. 214 [ 221 Pac. 406 ], as not only sustaining their contention herein but as having been decided in the year 1923, since which time several state legislatures have convened and wherein the Workmen’s Compensation Act, while amended in other respects, has not been changed in respect to the provision of section 11 thereof so as to alter the interpretation of said section imputed to it in that case. An examination of the record, however, in that case discloses a state of facts the existence of which would have debarred the injured employee from the benefit of the exception to section 11 which the court in that case undertook to interpret and apply. Upon the facts as stated in said opinion the applicant for an award was never at any time during the period of limitation in any or at most any prolonged situation which could be described as a “totally disabled and bedridden condition.” This being so, the exception provided for in section 11 of said act could have had no application to the applicant’s case, and hence whatever comment the court in that case made upon the meaning to be accorded to the language of said exception was obiter dictum which the courts were not required to follow nor the legislature to regard. A fuller consideration of the subject leads us to the conclusion above set forth, from which it follows that the rule of interpretation adopted by the appellate tribunal in the case last above cited must be disapproved.
It is so ordered.
Shenk, J., Seawell, J., Curtis, J., Preston, J., and Waste, O. J., concurred.