Majority
These causes, consolidated for purposes of trial and appeal, were, upon petition of the plaintiff and respondent, taken over after decision by the district court of appeal, second appellate district, division one, Wood, J., pro tem., writing the opinion, in order that we might more fully examine into and consider the questions of law presented. Further consideration has served only to impress us with the correctness of that court’s conclusion, and we therefore adopt as and for the decision of this court, with such additional observations as will hereinafter appear, the following portions of the opinion of the district court of appeal:
“Defendant issued to Dora M. Rose an accident insurance •policy on August 16, 1920, in the principal sum of $15,000. Dr. C. E. Calm was named as - beneficiary in the policy. On August 19, 1920, Charles Emil Calm, the same Calm named as beneficiary in the Rose policy, applied for and obtained from the defendant an accident policy in the principal sum of $15,000, the beneficiary being Dora M. Rose. At the expiration of one year from the receipt of her policy Dora M. Rose, by rider attached thereto, changed the beneficiary to her estate. On May 22, 1923, Dora M. Rose and Dr. C. E.
“At the trial defendant produced two witnesses, Warren Griffith and George A. Calkins, who qualified as experts in matters of insurance and testified that according to the usage and custom of insurance companies in August, 1920, applications for insurance would not be accepted if made under the circumstances shown in evidence. They further testified that they were of the opinion that the statements contained in the applications to the effect that Dr. Calm was a brother of Dora M. Rose were material to the acceptance of the risk and to the hazard assumed by the defendant. At the close of the evidence that part of the testimony giving their opinion on the subject of the materiality of the statements was stricken out by the court upon motion of plaintiff. The court did not err in so doing. (25 Cyc. 937.) In Penn Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Mechanics’ Savings Bank & Trust Co., 72 Fed. 413 [ 19 C. C. A. 286 , 38 L. R. A. 33 , 61], it is said: ‘The great weight of authority in this country, however, is against the view that an insurance expert may be asked his own opinion whether the undisclosed or misrepresented facts were materia] to the risk. . . . The better authorities, however, seem to sustain the rule that the insurance experts may testify concerning the usage of insurance companies generally in charging higher rates of premium or rejecting risks, when made aware of the fact claimed to be material. ’
“ Insurance policies are governed by the same general rules which pertain to all contracts. There must be a meeting of the minds. Subject to the rule that their provisions must not be against public policy or in contravention of specific provisions of law, parties to the contract may make such agreements as they see fit, and the courts will enforce the terms mutually agreed upon. The policy and the ap
“In her application for the policy Dora M. Rose agreed that recovery would be barred ‘if any one of the following statements ... is false and made with intent to deceive.’ If the words ‘Relationship Brother’ constitute a ‘statement’ and were made ‘with intent to deceive,’ plaintiff cannot, in view of the rule just set forth and the stipulation of the parties, prevail in the action. It is not necessary to decide whether the words amount to a warranty or representation, since the contract uses the word ‘statement.’ The entire application consists of fifteen items, preceded by the agreement hereinabove set forth and followed by the signature of the applicant. Item 8 appears in the midst of the others, all of which contain statements of fact. If it were in narrative form there could be no doubt but that a statement was made. For instance, if the language used were, ‘The relationship is that of brother,' it could not possibly be contended that a statement was not made. Manifestly the two words ‘Relationship Brother’ were used for the sake of
“Next is presented the question whether the statement concerning the relationship of the beneficiary was made ‘with intent to deceive. ’ Plaintiff argues that in order to bar a recovery there must be shown an intent to injure defendant. It was not so provided in the contract and, as has been seen, the court can enforce such agreements only as were made by the parties. If the parties had agreed that the intent referred to in the application was an intent to deceive the company to its injury, it would have been a simple matter to add to the application appropriate language to that effect after the word ‘ deceive. ’ Such language, embracing a different idea and an additional condition, cannot be supplied by the court. Doubtless the parties meant to agree that if the false statement were made knowingly and intentionally, the recovery would be barred. If, on the other hand, the statement were made inadvertently, it would not bar recovery, even though false, because there would be no intent to deceive. An example of such a false statement could be found in an error on the point of the age or the residence of the beneficiary. Erroneous statements by Dora M. Rose in her application that Dr. Calm was 54 rather than 55 years of age, and that he lived at a club other than the California Club, would doubtless be false statements, but not necessarily made with intent to deceive. They might be mistakes resulting from incorrect information on the part of the applicant. The statement on her part, however, that Dr. Calm, a married man and only a friend, bore the relation of brother to her could not possibly have been a mere mistake. There could be no inadvertence here. She must have intentionally stated
“It cannot be successfully argued that the situation of the parties was changed by the act of Dora M. Rose in changing beneficiaries a year after the policy was issued. Section 2612 of the Civil Code is as follows: ‘ A breach of warranty, without fraud, merely exonerates an insurer from the time that it occurs, or where it is broken in its inception prevents the policy from attaching to the risk. ’ In Wolverine Brass Works v. Pacific Coast Casualty Co., 26 Cal. App. 183 [ 146 Pac. 184 ], it is said: ‘The above mentioned warranties being false, the policy issued in reliance upon them was in our opinion void ab initio.’ One who has practiced deceit upon an insurance company by making a false statement and thus has induced the issuance of a void policy cannot thereafter by merely changing the beneficiary compel the company to accept her as a risk and give life to the void policy. . . . "
As indicated in that portion of the opinion herein-above adopted, the application upon which the respective policies sued on were issued contained an introductory clause which provided in part that the applicant understood and agreed “that the right to recovery under any policy which may be issued upon the basis of this application shall be barred in the event that any one of the following statements, material either to the acceptance of the risk or the hazard assumed by the company is false, or in the event that any one of the following statements is false and made with intent to deceive.” (Italics ours.) That such an agreement might reasonably be exacted of an applicant for accident insurance is set at rest by section 6 of an act (Stats. 1917, p. 957) having to do with the provisions of policies of accident and health insurance. The section reads: “The falsity of any statement in the application for any policy covered by this act shall not bar the right to recovery thereunder unless such false statement was made with actual intent to deceive or unless it materially affected either the acceptance of the risk or the hazard assumed by the insurer." The similarity between the statutory provision and the introductory clause of the form of application employed by the appellant is immediately apparent. Said clause, reading in the disjunctive, constitutes an express agreement between the parties that any false statement as to a material matter,
Inasmuch as the judgments, for the reasons above stated, must be reversed, we have not found it necessary to definitely decide whether a representation or statement of relationship of the designated beneficiary to an assured is “material either to the acceptance of the risk or the hazard assumed.” However, we are not thereby to be understood as having found appellant’s contention in this regard to be entirely without merit. In our opinion the contention presents a subject upon which reasonably prudent men might well differ. We can readily perceive of circumstances under which such a representation as to the relation sustained between the beneficiary and assured might be a consideration of considerable moment to the insurer.
The judgments are, and each is, reversed.
Cases cited
- McKenzie v. Scottish Union & National Insurance 112 Cal. 548 at 556 p. 277
- Jeffries v. Life Insurance 22 L. Ed. 833 p. 277
- Wolverine Brass Works v. Pac. Coast Cas. Co. of S.F. 26 Cal. App. 183 p. 280
- Wilkinson v. Standard Accident Insurance Co. of Detroit 180 Cal. 252 at 260 p. 281