Majority
Petitioner by this proceeding seeks to have annulled an award against it and in favor of Antone Cabral. Cabral was in the employ of petitioner as a farm laborer, and while so employed on June 1, 1928, sustained injury
The Commission found that Cabral, while employed by the Henry Cowell Lime and Cement Company, sustained injuries arising out of and in the course of his employment, when a team of horses which he was driving ran away, causing various injuries to his right eye, neck and head, and that at the time both employee and employer were subject to the Workmen’s Compensation Insurance and Safety Act (Stats. 1917, p. 831), hereinafter referred to as the Workmen’s Compensation Act. Finding two was as follows: “Defendant (the employer) paid medical expenses on account of aforesaid injury to the applicant. The injuries now complained of and which are the result of the aforesaid accident are permanent. The claim is, therefore, not barred by the statute of limitations.” The remaining findings relate simply to the age of the employee; that the injury caused permanent disability consisting of loss of sight of right eye; the amount of wages the employee was receiving at the time of the injury; the compensation to which the employee was entitled; the fixing of a reasonable attorney’s fee and future medical expenses. Leave was also reserved to the employee to file a new petition for increased permanent disability rating in the event that the permanent disability as found had increased and for any permanent condition which was not included in the rating fixed therein.
It was insisted by petitioner before the Commission that Cabral’s claim was barred by the statute of limitations. Petitioner now makes the same contention before this court. Independent, however, of the defense of the statute of limitations we think the award must be annulled. As shown above, Cabral’s claim was originally filed against Henry Cowell only, and the Henry Cowell Lime and Cement Company was not made a party to said proceedings until March 7, 1930. Before that date and on August 29, 1929, the Commission held a hearing at which the testimony of Cabral and that of Dr. Cowden was taken and the matter was submitted to the Commission for decision. Neither petitioner, nor anyone representing petitioner was present at said hearing. After the submission of the matter, the Commission made an order bringing in the petitioner as a party to said proceeding and a further hearing was had.
As this matter will in all probability again be brought before the Commission and as the parties hereto have devoted their arguments mainly to the question of whether or not the claim involved herein was barred by the statute of limitations, we consider it only proper to express our views upon the question thus presented and which, at least from the standpoint of counsel, appears to be the principal question involved in this proceeding. In discussing this
By the provisions of section 11 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act proceedings for the collection of any benefit provided by the terms of said act (and this includes compensation for medical treatment and for temporary and permanent disability but not for death benefits) must be commenced within six months from the date of the injury, except as provided in said act. The only exception contained in the act to this six months’ limitation is found in subdivision (c) of section 11, and is as follows: “The payment of compensation, or any part thereof, or agreement therefor, shall have the effect of extending the period within which proceedings for its collection may be commenced, six months from the date of the agreement or last payment of such compensation, or any part thereof, or the expiration of the period covered by any such payment, provided, however, that nothing contained in this section shall be construed to bar the right of any injured employee to institute proceedings for the collection of compensation within two hundred and forty-five weeks after the date of the injury upon the grounds that the original injury has caused new and further disability; and the jurisdiction of the commission, in such cases, shall be a continuing jurisdiction at all times within such period; provided, further, that the provisions of this section shall not apply to an employee who is totally disabled and bedridden as a result of his injury, during the continuance of such condition or until the expiration of six months thereafter.”
The facts in this case recited above show that Cabral did not file his application for compensation with the Industrial Accident Commission within six months of the date of the injury, nor did he file said application within six months after the payment by his employer of the doctor who attended him for his said injuries. He has, therefore, not brought himself within the terms of subdivision (c) of said section 11 unless his claim is saved by the terms of the proviso contained in said subdivision. This proviso,
It was held in the cases of Hutchinson Lumber Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 77 Cal. App. 141 [ 246 Pac. 118 ], General Acc. etc. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 77 Cal. App. 314 [ 246 Pac. 570 ], and Ocean A. & G. Corp., Ltd., v. Industrial Acc. Com., 90 Cal. App. 725 [ 266 Pac. 556 ], that a permanent disability is a new and further disability within the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation Act. We are in full accord with this conclusion of the District Court of Appeal. Many times the seriousness of the injury is not at first apparent, and from its very nature cannot be detected until considerable time has elapsed after its infliction. The clear intent of the statute in such cases is that the injured employee shall be entitled to compensation for his permanent disability notwithstanding the fact that he may in the early stages of his injury have been granted an award only for temporary disability, or may have been paid compensation voluntarily by his employer; provided, of course, that proceedings for the collection of such permanent disability shall have been commenced within 245 weeks after the date of the original injury.
It is conceded by petitioner that in case an injured employee files within six months from the date of the injury an application for compensation for temporary disability and the same is granted by the Commission, said employee may in case his disability becomes permanent, at any time within 245 weeks after the date of his original injury, present and file with the Commission his application for further compensation on the grounds that the original injury has caused a new and further disability. This was undoubtedly the clear and unambiguous intent of said section 11 (c) of the Workmen’s Compensation Act. We think it is also equally clear that if the injured employee receives compensation for temporary disability by
There is an intimation in some of the decisions that the application based upon a new and further disability must be commenced within six months after the claimant had become aware of the fact that a new and further disability had developed, but this construction of section 11 (c) of the Workmen’s Compensation Act is neither warranted by the language of the statute nor supported by authority. This contention was made in the case of Hutchinson Lumber Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, but was resisted by the Commission. The court held with the Commission stating that “we are of the opinion that the position taken by the Commission must be sustained. The statute specified no such limitation of time for the filing of an application based upon a new and further disability.” In General Acc. etc. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, the court stated the correct rule in the following language: “However, in view of the language of section 11 (c) of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act (Stats. of 1917, p. 831, as variously amended), it would appear that if the injuries received in the first accident ‘caused new and further disability’ the question of the date when the permanent disability of Robinson was first determined would be immaterial, so long as the proceedings to have his claim adjusted were
Applying the statute as thus construed to the facts in the present proceeding, it is apparent that Cabral’s claim was not barred by the statute of limitations provided he sustained a new and further disability from his original injury. The uncontroverted facts show that his employer, the petitioner herein, made payment of compensation . by settling Cabral’s medical bills on October 13, 1928, Cabral filed his claim with the Commission on April 23, 1929, and the petitioner herein was made a party to said proceedings on March 7, 1930, considerably less than two years from the date of the original injury and, therefore, well within the period of 245 weeks from said date.
Petitioner, however, contends that Cabral sustained no new or further disability from his original injury for the reason that said injury was permanent from its inception or, as petitioner states its case, ab initio. If petitioner is correct in this statement that Cabral’s injury was permanent at the date of its infliction, then the contention that his claim is barred by the statute of limitations must be sustained. For the right to file a claim within 245 weeks is given only in ease the injured employee sustains a new and further disability, and not necessarily for a permanent disability. It is only when there is a change in the condition .of the original injury from a temporary to a permanent disability that a “new and further disability” is established. Therefore, if the injury is permanent ab initio no such changed condition can ever take place. Petitioner contends that this is the situation in the present proceeding relative to Cabral’s injury—that is, that his injury at the date it was received was permanent,- and, therefore, no new or further disability has been established. The Commission found that Cabral’s disability was permanent, but failed to find when it became permanent. From this finding it cannot be determined whether the injury was permanent at the date it was received, or whether it became permanent at some future date. If the findings stopped here, we would be compelled to hold that they were not sufficient to sustain the award. But the Commission further found that Cabral’s claim was not barred by the statute of limitations. This is a finding
After a thorough consideration of the evidence we are convinced that it is. sufficient to justify the findings of the Commission. The record before the Commission, which has been certified to this court, shows that the ball of Cabral’s right eye apparently received only superficial injury at the time of the accident. It was in no way destroyed. Dr. Cowden, who attended Cabral at the hospital and afterward, testified that Cabral had a laceration of the inner side of the right eye; that at the time he was first called to attend Cabral at the hospital, Cabral’s eyes were full of dirt and whatever he could pick up in the field; that he cleaned out the eye and took stitches in the eye, lip and ear; that there was no evidence of any permanent injury at the time he was hurt; that the wounds healed and the eye cleared up all right by the time Cabral left the hospital, and that he never heard Cabral say anything about the vision in his eye, nor complain of his eye. The doctor later filed an affidavit that he had examined Cabral after the application had been filed with the Commission and that he found Cabral to be practically blind in his right eye. Cabral testified that his sight in' his right eye before the accident was good and that up to that time he had never had any trouble with his eyes. He further testified at the time of the hearing as follows: “Q. How is your eye (right)? Can you see out of it? A. No I no see good. All foggy. Q. Was your eye good before the accident? A. Yes. Q. Just the same as the other eye? No answer. Q. Can you see out of it? Put your hand over your left eye and tell me what you can see.
The evidence is without conflict that at the time of the hearing, at least, and subsequent thereto the vision in Cabral’s right eye was practically gone. The evidence, therefore, upon the whole was ample, in our. opinion, to support the Commission in finding that the injury to Cabral’s eye was at the first only temporary but that later the condition of the eye changed to that of a permanent injury. This brought Cabral’s claim clearly within the rule established by section 11 (e) of the Workmen’s Compensation Act as one founded upon a new and further disability. It was, therefore, not barred by the statute of limitations prescribed by said act.
For the reasons, however, heretofore given, the award is annulled.
Preston, J., Shenk, J., Waste, C. J., Seawell, J., Richards, J., and Langdon, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Carstens v. Pillsbury 172 Cal. 572 p. 158
- Pacific Coast Casualty Co. v. Pillsbury 171 Cal. 319 p. 158
- Hutchinson Lumber Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 77 Cal. App. 141 p. 160, p. 161
- General Accident, Fire & Life Assurance Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 77 Cal. App. 314 p. 160, p. 161
- Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 90 Cal. App. 725 p. 160, p. 161
- Employee's Credit Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 177 Cal. 46 p. 161
- Kauffman v. Industrial Accident Commission 37 Cal. App. 500 p. 161
- Anaheim Co-Operative Orange Ass'n v. Industrial Accident Commission 70 Cal. App. 168 p. 161