Majority
Petition to review and annul an "award of the Industrial Accident Commission.
On September 5, 1928, Prank George Jacobsen, the petitioner, aged seventeen, while employed as a telegraph messenger at Berkeley by the respondent corporation, sustained injury occurring in the course and arising out of his employment, when he was struck by a truck of the ArissKnapp Company. The injury consisted of compound fractures of the right ankle and the right arm. The respondent employer was in nowise at fault in the commission of the injury, hut recognizing its liability as an employer, and being self-insured, provided medical attention and paid a
The injured boy did not file an application for compensation with the respondent Commission, but on November 8, 1928, through his duly appointed guardian, commenced an action in the Superior Court in and for Alameda County against the Ariss-Knapp Company as a third party tortfeasor. Pursuant to section 26 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act (Stats. 1927, p. 1213), notice of the suit was given to the respondent employer. On February 2, 1929, the employer filed in the court action, pursuant to said section 26, its claim of lien against any judgment to be rendered in said action to the extent of its expenditures in said sum of $2,930.39. On June 10, 1929, the guardian filed in the superior court a petition to compromise the claim of the minor, for an approval of the amount agreed upon and for an order fixing the fees of the plaintiff’s attorney. In that petition the amount of the compromise judgment requested to be entered was $8,500 and it was prayed that out of that sum the court order said sum of $2,930.39 to be paid to the Postal Telegraph Cable Company, the further sum of $1569.61 to the plaintiff’s attorney as and for his attorney fees, and the balance of $4,000 to the guardian of the minor. On the same day, June 10, 1929, a stipulation for judgment was filed in said action signed by the plaintiff’s attorney, by the attorneys for the defendants in said action and by the attorneys for the Postal Telegraph Cable Company, lien claimant. In this stipulation it was agreed that a judgment would be entered in favor of the plaintiff in the sum of $8,500 “of which said sum the sum of $2,930.39 shall be paid to said lien claimant, and the remainder, to-wit: $5,569.61, shall be paid to Anna Jacobsen, guardian ad litem and general guardian of said plaintiff, Frank George Jacobsen, a minor’’. Thereafter and on the same day the court entered an order directing judgment to be entered pursuant to the stipulation, and further ordered that out of the funds to be paid to the plaintiff in satisfaction of the judgment the sum of $1569.61 be paid to the plaintiff’s attorney. On the same day the attorney for the plaintiff and the attorneys for the telegraph company signed a satisfaction of judgment in consideration of the payment of $5,569.61 to the guardian and $2,930.39 to the lien claim
Thereafter on June 17, 1929, the respondent corporation filed with the Industrial Accident Commission an application for adjustment of claim entitled “Frank Jacobsen v. Postal Telegraph Cable Co.”, wherein the circumstances of the accident and injuries to the minor, etc., were set forth with the request that a time and place be fixed for a hearing; that notice be given, and an award be made, granting to the parties such relief as they might be entitled to. The hearing was had on July 16, 1929, at which the telegraph company sought an order requiring that the $4,000 paid to the guardian in satisfaction of said judgment be applied to whatever amount the company might thereafter be compelled to pay to the minor as compensation. A continuance was taken to September 6th, at which time the petitioner was not present nor represented. On October 3, 1929, the Commission made its findings and award wherein it found that the injury caused temporary and total disability continuing from the date of the injury and indefinitely thereafter entitling the employee to $11.12 a week. It then found “that in the superior court action the employee had recovered the sum of $8,500 against said compensation benefits now due and/or becoming due at any future time by said Postal Telegraph Cable Company to defendant Frank Jacobsen by reason of the injuries for which award herein is made”. The award was then made “in favor of the employee against the employer of all compensation benefits to which the employee is entitled or may become entitled under the aforesaid act in excess of $8,500”.
The petitioner filed a petition for rehearing on the grounds, among others, that the Commission acted without and in excess of its powers and that by reason of the proceedings taken in the superior court and thereafter the re
The respondent Commission at once concedes that the item of $2,930.39 theretofore paid to the employer and the item of $1561.61 paid to the petitioner’s attorney, as part of the cost of collection, should not be again deducted. There can be no question of the rightfulness of this concession. The controversy is therefore narrowed to the legality of the order of the Commission directing that the balance of $4,000 be credited to the employer on the compensation thereafter to be paid. This question is to be determined by the proper construction of that portion of section 26 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act which deals with the rights of the employer when the employee recovers judgment against a third party tort-feasor, together with other provisions of the act.
Prior to the enactment of said section 26, the act of 1913, in section 31 thereof (Stats. 1913, p. 295), provided that the making of any lawful claim against the employer for compensation under that act should operate as an assignment to the employer of any right to recover damages which the employee might have against third persons “and such employer shall be subrogated to any such right and may enforce in his own name the legal liability of such other party”. In the event the employer should recover more than that for which he was liable the excess was to be paid to the injured employee or other person entitled. The employee was not given the right to sue. In 1917 said section 31 of the old act was repealed (Stats. 1917, p. 879), and as a substitute for the prior legislation on the subject section 26 of the present act was adopted, and it has continued in the same form to this time. In this enactment an important change respecting the substantive rights of the parties was accomplished. The later enactment provides that “the claim of an employee for compensation shall not affect his right of action for damages arising out of injury or death against any person other than the employer; and any employer having paid, or having become obligated to pay compensation, may likewise bring an action against such other person to recover said damages. If either such em
It will thus be seen that the right of subrogation as such contained in the earlier statute is not contained in the new, but in lieu thereof the employer is granted the right to sue or to acquire a lien for his expenditures in the event the employee sues and recovers judgment. This is expressly provided for in the language which has been italicized. The purpose of the change in the substantive rights of the employer and employee in such cases does not definitely appear. Counsel for the respondent corporation suggests that it was to remedy a certain abuse wherein subrogated employer plaintiffs had compromised cases for just enough to satisfy their claims and leave the employee without satisfaction of his just claim for additional damages. The fact that, from practical considerations, the injured employee might be in better position to recover as party plaintiff, not only to the extent of the liability of the employer but for noncompensable injuries as well, than when the em
We have, then, a statute which confers upon the employer the right to assert his lien for expenditures for compensation and provides a forum, namely, the court in which the judgment was rendered, for the ascertainment and enforcement of that right. If the employer has the statutory notice of the commencement of the action by his employee and fails to assert and timely to apply for the allowance of his lien, he must be deemed to have waived his right to the same and should be estopped by reason of such failure from thereafter asserting the right. Obviously the time to assert the right would be before satisfaction of the judgment.
Certain difficulties are suggested as to the workability of the statute so interpreted. It is said that there is
The respondent corporation insists that in the ascertainment of the amount of its lien its expenditures for compensation not yet paid but which it is obliged to pay in the future should be included. The petitioner replies that the statute specifies “expenditures for compensation”, which means, he argues, past expenditures for • compensation only; that none but these may be asserted as a lien and that future expenditures under the award may not be included. We are inclined to agree that properly construed, the words “expenditures for compensation” would include expenditures paid and to be paid under the award of the commission and that both should be allowed as a first lien on the judgment to the extent to which they are entitled. The respondent corporation has, however, been reimbursed for expenditures already paid and it may not now be heard to claim reimbursement for amounts it is under obligation to pay for the following reasons: Said corporation received the notice required by the statute of the pendency of the action brought by its employee. It presented its applica
Por the reasons stated we conclude that the respondent Commission was without the power to credit the amount of the judgment or any part thereof on the expenditures for compensation past or future, under the facts presented in this case.
The authorities from other jurisdictions claimed to have an important bearing upon the questions here involved are not helpful. They are based on statutes having language not the same as our own. As to the cases in this state the petitioner places great reliance upon Anstach v. Department of Industrial Relations, 99 Cal. App. 677 [ 279 Pac. 224 ], wherein it was held that the Commission was without power to grant to the employer a credit of the amount of a compromise judgment rendered in favor of the employee without a segregation of the judgment into its different compensable elements. In that ease the District Court of Appeal arrived at the right result under the facts there presented, but the effect of that decision, as interpreted by counsel, has prompted us to enlarge upon the theory therein discussed in order to show that the employer is not without his remedy and that by diligently pursuing the same he may obtain all of the right to credits to which, under the statute or in fairness, he is entitled. In so far as the case of Ives
Richards, J., Preston, J., Curtis, J., Waste, C. J., Seawell, J., and Langdon, J., concurred.
Rehearing denied.
Langdon, J., dissented.
Cases cited
- Morris v. Standard Oil Co. 77 Cal. App. 720 at 723 p. 450
- Ansbach v. Department of Industrial Relations 99 Cal. App. 677 p. 450
- Ives v. Industrial Accident Commission 71 Cal. App. 262 p. 451