Majority
Western Machinery Company recovered a judgment against the defendant, Bankers Indemnity Insur
The only questions are whether the court correctly found and concluded that Lawton was not a passenger for a consideration within the meaning of the policy and that the automobile was being put to a use permitted by the policy, namely, for making a call in connection with the business of the plaintiff.
One of the insured’s declarations forming a part of the policy was that “none of the insured automobiles are or will be used to carry passengers for a consideration, actual or implied”. The plaintiff’s business was designated in the policy as that of “machinery”. Another item of the declarations was that the automobiles covered would be used for “business and pleasure”, and defined that phrase as “personal, pleasure and family use, including business calls”.
Lawton was being transported by the plaintiff’s representative from San Francisco to Kyburz, where Lawton inspected some machinery which the plaintiff was offering for sale to Lawton's employer, the Union Paving Company. An accident occurred on the return trip through the negligence of the driver which resulted in injuries to Lawton. The Union Paving Company subsequently bought the machinery which Lawton had inspected. No monetary or other valuable return for the transportation of Lawton was made to the plaintiff.
The position of the defendant is that inasmuch as Lawton was not a “guest” within the meaning of the provisions of section 141% of the California Vehicle Act (Stats. 1923, p. 517, now sec. 403, Vehicle Code, Stats. 1935, p. 154),
The decisions in such cases as Walker v. Adamson, 9 Cal. (2d) 287 [ 70 Pac. (2d) 914 ], and Haney v. Takakura, 2 Cal. App. (2d) 1 [ 37 Pac. (2d) 170 ], interpreting statutory provisions, make no addition to the law applicable in the interpretation of insurance policies, which is restated in the cases hereinafter cited and does not require repetition here. (See, also, Worswick Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 181 Cal. 550 , 560 [ 185 Pac. 953 ]; 14 Cal. Jur., pp. 443 et seq.) No pertinent authority has been cited from this state on the question of when an automobile is “used to carry passengers for a consideration, actual or implied” as that phrase is employed in insurance policies; but the language has been interpreted in other jurisdictions.
In Dahl v. Moore, 161 Wash. 503 [ 297 Pac. 218 ], the Supreme Court of Washington held that the plaintiffs, who were riding in the defendant Moore’s car for the purpose of inspecting real estate offered for sale by Moore’s employer, were not gratuitous passengers but were entitled to recover damages for injuries suffered through Moore’s ordinary negligence. The rule in that state was that gratuitous passengers could not recover for the ordinary negligence of their host. A subsequent action brought to recover on Moore’s policy of insurance presented the question whether the automobile under the circumstances was being “used in the carriage of passengers for a consideration, express or implied”. The same court held that the facts did not constitute a carriage of passengers for a consideration. It also held that the use then being made of the automobile was a “business” use as defined in a policy designating the business of the assured as “real estate”, and permitting business uses (Central Surety & Ins. Corp. v. London & Lancashire Indemnity Co. of America, 181 Wash. 353 [ 43 Pac. (2d) 12 ].)
In Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Olson, 87 Fed. (2d) 465, in discussing a similar clause, the court said that “the word ‘consideration’ in the policy clearly is limited
In Marks v. Home Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 285 Fed. 959 [ 52 App. D. C. 225 ], where there was involved a condition which nullified the policy if the automobile was used in carrying passengers for compensation, the word “passenger” was defined as one who was carried for a fare by some established or public conveyance. (See, also, note 14 A. L. R, at p. 205, and cases cited; Huddy Encyclopedia of Automobile Law, p. 150; Maringer v. Bankers Indemnity Ins. Co., 288 Ill. App. 335 [ 6 N. E. (2d) 307 , 311]; Arms v. Faszholz, (Mo. App.) 32 S. W. (2d) 781 , 782.) The Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts, however, rejected such a definition in a case involving a declaration that the automobile would not be used for carrying passengers for a consideration, and held that where the accident occurred during a single instance of carrying a passenger for a valuable consideration the insurer was exonerated from liability. (Sleeper v. Massachusetts Bonding & Ins. Co., 283 Mass. 511 [ 186 N. E. 778 ]; see, also, American Lumbermen’s Mut. Casualty Co. of Illinois v. Wilcox, 16 Fed. Supp. 799; Neilson v. American Mut. Liability Ins. Co. of Boston, 111 N. J. L. 345 [ 168 Atl. 436 ].)
Then in Jasion v. Preferred Acc. Ins. Co., 113 N. J. L. 108 [ 172 Atl. 367 ], an invitee, who was being transported on a trip the purpose of which was to inspect a cow with the object of purchasing it, was held not to be a passenger under the terms of a policy excluding use of the commercial vehicle described therein to carry passengers regardless of whether a consideration was charged. It was the court’s opinion that the carriage of the plaintiff was incidental to the business at hand, which was held to be a permitted use under the policy, and that he was therefore not a passenger. This decision also supports the conclusion in the present case that the transportation of the insured’s prospective customer to inspect the machinery offered for sale was a business use of the vehicle permitted by the policy.
In Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Torres, 91 Fed. (2d) 464, the injured person who recovered judgment had
Cases such as Neilson v. American Mut. Liability Ins. Co. of Boston, supra, and Bleeper v. Massachusetts Bonding & Ins. Go., supra, do not aid the defendant. They involved a monetary consideration passing to the insured. The authorities interpreting the pertinent provisions in insurance policies under circumstances similar to those here involved are opposed to the defendant’s position.
It follows that, as contemplated by the policy, (1) the plaintiff was not using the automobile to carry passengers for a consideration, actual or implied; and (2) the carriage of Lawton to inspect the machinery of the plaintiff was a permissible business use of the automobile—and the rights of the parties are governed accordingly.
The judgment is affirmed.
Houser, J., Curtis, J., Edmonds, J., Langdon, J., and Waste, C. J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Worswick Street Paving Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 181 Cal. 550 at 560 p. 490
- Malmgren v. Southwestern Automobile Insurance 201 Cal. 29 p. 492
- Hynding v. Home Accident Insurance 214 Cal. 743 p. 492