Majority
This appeal was taken by plaintiff from a judgment entered in favor of defendant, after a directed verdict.
On April 25, 1935, Archibald Reid Van Antwerp took out a five-year, convertible, non-participating, term policy of insurance with defendant, for the sum of $5000, payable to his wife, if living, otherwise to his son. The policy provided for quarterly premiums of $21.50, and for a period of thirty-one days grace before lapsing. All payments were made up to and including the quarterly premium which fell due on October 25, 1938, but the premium falling due on January 25, 1939, was not then paid. The defendant notified the insured that the thirty-one day grace period would expire February 25, 1939. On March 21, 1939, the insurance agent who had secured the policy called upon the insured and prepared an application and health certificate for reinstatement of the policy. The evidence is in conflict as to whether it was signed by the insured on that day, or on March 31, 1939. The insured said that he would not have the money to pay the premium until about April 1 and the agent agreed to advance it for him. Again there is a conflict in the evidence as to whether this understanding was reached on March 21,
Van Antwerp was found dead lying on his bed partially clothed in the early morning of April 1, 1939. He was last seen alive at 8 p. m. the evening before and when found had been dead for several hours. He was survived by both beneficiaries under the policy.
Defendant tendered its check to Mrs. Van Antwerp for refund of the premium forwarded March 31, 1939. She died August 31, 1939, without accepting the cheek, and Lawrence Kennedy, as the administrator of her estate and guardian of the minor son, instituted this suit to recover the face amount of the policy. At the close of the evidence, defendant’s motion for a directed verdict was granted and judgment was entered accordingly.
The provision of the policy with reference to reinstatement reads as follows: ' ‘ Should this Policy lapse by reason of any default, it may be reinstated at any time within five years from date of default, upon the Insured furnishing evidence of insurability satisfactory to the Company, and upon payment of all overdue premiums, and upon payment or reinstatement of any indebtedness under the Policy at the date of default, with interest on such overdue premiums and indebtedness at a rate not to exceed six per cent, per annum from date of default.”
The policy also provided: “Premiums must be paid at the Home Office of the Company, unless otherwise provided, and in any case only in exchange for an official receipt signed by the Secretary and countersigned by the person to whom payment is made.”
The application for reinstatement signed by the insured contained a provision that “in no event shall the same become effective unless and until this application and certificate is approved at the Home Office of the Company and the full amount due is paid during the lifetime and good health of the Insured.”
Courts are not in agreement as to the legal effect of reinstatement clauses in insurance policies. Some courts have held that an application for reinstatement of a lapsed policy constitutes an offer to enter into a new contract which must be accepted by the insurer before any contract exists between the parties. (Foley v. New World Life Ins. Co., 185 Wash. 89 [ 52 Pac. (2d) 1264 , 105 A. L. R. 473 ]; Broughton v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc., 71 Fed. (2d) 821, 823; MacDonald v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 304 Pa. 213 [ 155 Atl. 491 , 77 A. L. R. 353 ]; cf. Tatum v. Guardian Life Ins. Co., 75 Fed. (2d) 476 [ 98 A. L. R. 341 ]; 77 A. L. R. 357 ; 98 A. L. R. 345 .) Under this theory the insurer’s agreement to waive the lapsing of the policy will be treated as consideration for the agreement of the insured to be bound by any new terms imposed in the application for reinstatement (Foley v. New World Life Ins. Co., supra) and no recovery may be had for any loss occurring before the insurer has accepted the application for reinstatement, either expressly or, perhaps, by allowing an unreasonable time to lapse without acting thereon. (See Broughton v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc., supra; Foley v. New World Life Ins. Co., supra.)
We are of the opinion, however, that reinstatement under a policy such as is present in this case does not involve the formation of a new contract. By the terms of the policy the insured is given a right to reinstatement after lapse upon compliance with certain conditions. During the period in wdiieh reinstatement is possible the policy is not void but merely suspended. The right to revive the policy by reinstatement is a valuable contractual right, the consideration for which is found in the premiums paid and to be paid
Applying this theory of the nature of reinstatement, we hold that the provision in the application for reinstatement that it should not be effective until approved at the home office of the company during the lifetime of the insured cannot vary the terms of the original policy. The insured had a contractual right to be reinstated under the terms of his policy and any agreement to impose different terms is unsupported by consideration. (Illinois Bankers Life Assn. v. Palmer, supra; Rothschild v. N. Y. Life Ins. Co., supra; Hogue v. Supreme Liberty Life Ins. Co., supra; 3 Appleman, op. cit. supra, 651, 652.)
The further question as to whether the insured had complied with all the conditions for reinstatement imposed by the original policy before his death is more difficult. It has been held in a number of cases containing similar reinstatement provisions that where the insured within the authorized time furnishes proof of insurability which is not open to valid objection in form or substance and tenders all premiums in arrears plus interest thereon, and where in fact the insured is in good health at the time he makes application for reinstatement, he has at that time fulfilled all the conditions for reinstatement and his subsequent death, arising from conditions not involved in his proof of in
While there is authority to the contrary (see Foley v. New World Life Ins. Co., supra; Broughton v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc., supra), even in states which do not follow the new contract theory (e. g., Hogue v. Supreme Liberty Life Ins. Co., supra, holding that the insurer has a reasonable time within which to approve the reinstatement application; 105 A. L. R. 484 ), we believe that the better rule is expressed in the cases just cited. The right to reinstatement is given in the original policy and was bought and paid for by the insured. When he has submitted evidence of insurability which would be satisfactory to a reasonable
In this case no question was raised in the trial court or in the briefs on appeal as to the sufficiency of the evidence of insurability furnished by the insured; no contention was made that the correct amount of overdue premium was not submitted; and there was no suggestion of fraud or misrepresentation on the part of the insured. The application and the money were in the hands of the Fresno office of the company and in the mails on the way to the home office before the death of the insured. The insured had done all that was required on his part to reinstate the policy and we see no reason to imply the additional condition precedent to reinstatement contended for by the defendant that the application and the premium should have reached the home office of the defendant before the death of the insured. In a number of the cases cited recovery was allowed where the insured died while the application for reinstatement was in the mails. (Officer v. N. Y. Life Ins. Co., supra; Prudential Ins. Co. v. Union Trust Co., supra; Parker v. Cal. State Life Ins. Co., supra; Jackson v. Northwest Mut. Relief Assn., supra.)
Some cases have suggested that recovery will be allowed only if the death of the insured is accidental and
The case principally relied upon by the defendant to sustain the judgment of the trial court, Greenberg v. Continental Casualty Co., 24 Cal. App. (2d) 506 [ 75 Pac. (2d) 644 ], is not, properly interpreted, contrary to our conclusions herein expressed. In that case plaintiff sued for damages for refusal of the insurer to reinstate a noncancellable policy of accident and health insurance. The application for reinstatement, showing large insurance policies in other com-
The judgment is reversed.
Curtis, J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., and Pullen, J., pro tem., concurred. Shenk, J., being disqualified, did not participate.
Respondent’s petition for a rehearing was denied October 23, 1941.
Cases cited
- Thompson v. Postal Life Insurance 226 N. Y. 363 p. 635