Majority
Plaintiff appeals from a judgment in favor of defendants after trial by the court without a jury. The action was brought against the operator and the owners of an automobile by an occupant thereof to recover damages for personal injuries. The third amended complaint contained three causes of action, the first two of which were abandoned
From the above statements it may be seen that this case involves a problem already considered in the case of Whitechat v. Guyette, L. A. No. 17813, ante, p. 428 [ 122 Pac. (2d) 47 ], filed today, viz., the meaning of the phrase “without giving compensation” as used in section 403 of the Vehicle Code.
Appellant and respondent Dorothy Griley were delegates to a conference in Los Angeles of the United Cannery and Agricultural "Workers of America, a labor union affiliated with the C. I. O. The conference was called by District No. 2 of this union for the purpose of forming a set of rules and the policy for this district, which comprises California, Nevada and Arizona. The parties were delegates from separate branches of the same local.. The means of transportation to the conference were discussed in the union office in Sunnyvale. Those present were appellant, respondents Dorothy and Richard Griley, Lloyd Lehman, another delegate, and Luke Hinman, who apparently was not a delegate but who desired to go to Los Angeles. Dorothy Griley asked her husband Richard if he would let her use their car so that they could all go together. Griley said that he didn’t feel that she should use the car and drive all the way to Los Angeles, but if the others would assist her in driving, she could have the car. The parties all agreed to this, and they started that evening. Dorothy Griley drove from Sunnyvale to King City; appellant drove from there to Santa Maria; Hinman from Santa Maria to Santa Barbara, where respondent Dorothy Griley again took the wheel and drove until the time of the accident. There was no definite schedule or plan as to distances each was to drive, and the shifts were made as each driver felt in need of a rest. Lehman, who was to attend an early conference, did not drive at all.
The accident occurred at about 7:30 o’clock in the morning. Appellant was in the back seat and because he was dozing at the time, his testimony is of little aid as to the
Appellant first argues that he had given “compensation” for the ride within the meaning of section 403 of the Vehicle Code and was thus a “passenger,” who could recover if the driver was negligent, because the parties were engaged in a business venture for their mutual advantage and traveling in contemplation of their mutual business. This same contention was made by the respondents in the White-chat case, supra, and we there held that the relationship between the driver and the deceased was not such as to bring the case within that group of cases headed by Walker v. Adamson, 9 Cal. (2d) 287 [ 70 Pac. (2d) 914 ], which stands for the above-mentioned proposition. The relationship in the Whitechat case differs from that presented here in that in the former case the driver, although a member of the Young Men’s Institute, was not required to attend the meeting in Stockton, whereas in the instant ease both parties were delegates to the conference. However, the instant case still does not come within the Walker v. Adamson classification. It is true that both parties desired or, as delegates, were required to attend the conference. It is also true that each would be benefited by individual attendance. However, the attendance of one was not necessary for the enjoyment of the benefits of attendance by the other. This being so, it becomes immaterial whether the conference was of a business or social nature. The ease of Doherty v. Edwards, 227 Iowa 1264 [ 290 N. W. 672 ], is illustrative of that type of situation in which it may be said that compensation was given because the trip was an integral part of a business venture for the mutual advantage of the parties. There the driver was a supervisor of federal loans and the occupant was interested in borrowing some money. The court stated that “Presumably the presence of both was necessary.” In the instant case either the appellant or respondent Dorothy Griley could have
The qualification of the last statement brings us to the second contention of appellant. That contention is that the promise to aid in the driving was sufficient to take him out of the category of'a "guest” who had not given compensation. In opposition to this respondents argue that this sharing in the driving was merely incidental and analogous to the sharing of expenses as in McCann v. Hoffman, 9 Cal. (2d) 279 [ 70 Pac. (2d) 909 ]. Cases may arise in which a sharing of the driving might be a "courtesy of the road” and thus not of sufficient benefit to be considered compensation, but this is not true in the instant case. Reference to the testimony of both parties in regard to the conversation prior to the trip shows that the offer to transport appellant was conditional upon his sharing in the driving. This appellant agreed to do, and it was just as much payment for transportation as a railroad fare. Respondent Dorothy Criley desired to take her husband’s car to Los Angeles, but she could not do so unless appellant and the others promised to share in the driving. Appellant’s promise then was the "special tangible benefit” which was the "motivating influence for furnishing the transportation” referred to in the McCann case, supra, at page 286, and must be termed compensation. The instant case cannot be distinguished from the case of Lerma v. Flores, 16 Cal. App. (2d) 128 [ 60 Pac. (2d) 546 ], wherein the plaintiff was invited by the defendant to ride with him so that he [plaintiff] might show the defendant which route they should follow. Nor does it differ materially from the case of Haney v. Takakura, 2 Cal. App. (2d) 1 [ 37 Pac. (2d) 170 ], in which the plaintiff, who had experience in selling oranges, was asked to accompany the defendant driver into town to aid the defendant in selling his crop of oranges. In each case there was a special tangible benefit passing from the occupant to the
In support of his contention that the trial court erred in finding respondent Dorothy Criley.free from negligence, appellant urges that the doctrine of res ipso loquitur should have been applied to the instant situation and that the purported “explanation” of the cause of the accident offered by said respondent was, as a matter of law, insufficient to rebut the inference of negligence created by the application of that doctrine. Under the circumstances here presented, viz., the instrumentality being in the exclusive control of said respondent; the accident being such that in the ordinary course of things it would not have happened if the respondent driver had used proper care; and the injury having occurred without voluntary action on the part of appellant, the res ipso loquitur doctrine must be held to have been applicable. (See Godfrey v. Brown, 220 Cal. 57 [ 29 Pac. (2d) 165 , 93 A. L. R. 1092 ]; E llis v. Jewett, 18 Cal. App. (2d) 629 [ 64 Pac. (2d) 432 ]; Cookson v. Fitch, 116 Cal. App. 544 [ 3 Pac. (2d) 27 ]; Queirolo v. Pacific Gas & Elec. Co., 114 Cal. App. 610 [ 300 Pac. 487 ]; Ireland v. Marsden, 108 Cal. App. 632 [ 291 Pac. 912 ]; Crooks v. White, 107 Cal. App. 304 [ 290 Pac. 497 ]; Brown v. Davis, 84 Cal. App. 180 [ 257 Pac. 877 ].)
The application of the doctrine does not give a plaintiff an absolute right to a judgment in every case. (Raymer v. Vandenbergh, 10 Cal. App. (2d) 193 [ 51 Pac. (2d) 104 ]; Nicol v. Geitler, 188 Minn. 69 [ 247 N. W. 8 ]; Sweeney v. Erving, 228 U. S. 233 [ 33 Sup. Ct. 416 , 57 L. Ed. 815 ].) It does not shift the burden of proof, and when the defendant produces evidence to rebut the inference of negligence, it is ordinarily a question of fact whether the inference has been dispelled. (Anderson v. I. M. Jameson Corp., 7 Cal. (2d) 60 [ 59 Pac. (2d) 962 ]; Scarborough v. Urgo, 191 Cal.
In the instant case respondent Dorothy Criley’s explanation in no way indicates that she was exercising due care while driving the car. On the contrary, it indicates a lack of due care. She testified that she was driving at a speed of 50 to 55 miles per hour; that she was sleepy because they had not slept all night; that she started around a left-hand curve on the outer lane; that she blinked her eyes on the curve; and that the car hit a soft shoulder and went over the embankment. Other evidence shows that the sun was shining and, insofar as appears from the record, the pavement was dry. The windshield on the car was clean and visibility ahead was clear. There is no evidence or even suggestion that there was any gravel or other substance on the pavement which would have caused the car to skid; that any tire on the car became flat or was in a condition other than normal; that the steering apparatus was not operating properly; or that the sun or anything else blinded the respondent driver. Nevertheless the car left the road with the result above mentioned. Automobiles when driven with due care and caution do not leave the highway under these circumstances. Respondent Dorothy Criley has failed completely to rebut the inference of negligence raised by the attending circumstances. Such failure necessitates a finding of negligence in accordance with the inference. (Ales v. Ryan, supra; Seney v. Pickwick Stages, Northern Div., 206 Cal. 389 [ 274 Pac. 536 ]; Ireland v. Marsden, supra.) Therefore the trial court erred in finding said respondent free from negligence.
The judgment is reversed.
Gibson, C. J., did not participate herein.
Cases cited
- Godfrey v. Brown 220 Cal. 57 p. 444
- Cookson v. Fitch 116 Cal. App. 544 p. 444
- Queirolo v. Pacific Gas & Electric Co. 114 Cal. App. 610 p. 444
- Ireland v. Marsden 108 Cal. App. 632 p. 444
- Crooks v. White 107 Cal. App. 304 p. 444
- Brown v. Davis 84 Cal. App. 180 p. 444
- Sweeney v. Erving 228 U. S. 233 p. 444
- Seney v. Pickwick Stages, Northern Division, Inc. 206 Cal. 389 p. 445