Majority
This action was brought to recover on an accident insurance policy issued by the defendant in favor of the plaintiff. The policy provided that in case the insured was accidentally injured and such injury “shall wholly and continuously disable the Insured from performing any and every kind of duty pertaining to his occupation for one day or more, so long as the Insured lives and suffers total loss of time, the Company will pay a monthly indemnity at the rate of One Hundred ($100) Dollars”. The complaint is in two counts. The first count contains proper and sufficient allegations showing the execution and delivery of the policy of insurance; that while said policy was in full force the plaintiff suffered permanent accidental injuries of the character covered by the policy, specifying
It is first contended by appellant that the court had no jurisdiction of either of the causes of action as set forth in plaintiff’s complaint. This contention we think must be sustained. However, it appears that defendant in addition to its answer, in which it denied all liability under said policy of insurance also filed a cross-complaint. The matters pleaded in said cross-complaint were such as only a court of equity then had jurisdiction of, and could be litigated only in the superior court. In 1933, the municipal courts were given jurisdiction to cancel written instruments under certain limited conditions. (Stats. 1933, p. 1811.) The judgment in this action was rendered on September 17,
In the case of Cloverdale Union H. S. Dist. v. Peters, 88 Cal. App. 731 , 736 [ 264 Pac. 273 ], the court quotes with approval the following statement of the law upon this subject by the Supreme Court of the United States: “By setting up its counterclaim the defendant became a plaintiff in its turn, invoked the jurisdiction of the court in the same action, and, by invoking, submitted to it. . . . ” (Merchants Heat & L. Co. v. James B. Clow & Sons, 204 U. S. 286 [ 27 Sup. Ct. 285 , 51 L. Ed. 488 ].) To the same effect are: Coggins v. Superior Court, 127 Cal. App. 412 [ 16 Pac. (2d) 148 ] , Fair View Farms Co. v. Superior Court, 123 Cal. App. 9 [ 10 Pac. (2d) 1011 ], Ingalls v. Superior Court, 121 Cal. App. 453 [ 9 Pac. (2d) 266 ], and Freligh v. McG rew, 95 Cal. App. 251 [ 272 Pac. 791 ], In the last-cited case the court states the rule as follows: “Suits for judicial rescission and cancellation of contracts are essentially equitable actions of which the municipal court has no jurisdiction.” The rule governing this case is, in our opinion, succinctly stated as follows: “Nevertheless, the trial court had jurisdiction to adjudicate all matters in controversy between the appellant and the appellee for the reason that the appellant prayed that his answer to appellee’s complaint be taken as a cross-bill against the appellee and asked that the deed from Moody to appellee be canceled and that he have damages for the breach of the lease contract between himself and Moody. This gave the court jurisdiction over the subject-matter of the controversy between the appellant and the appellee, and, having acquired jurisdiction for any purpose, the trial court correctly exercised it for the purpose of settling the rights of the parties to the action. ’ ’ (Du Fresne v. Paul, 144 Ark. 87 [ 221 S. W. 485 ].) It is not necessary to cite further authorities as the above are sufficient to establish the contention of the plaintiff that the
The appellant makes a further attack upon the judgment, in which a number of amici curiae join, and contends that that part of said judgment is erroneous in which the court adjudged that plaintiff might recover the sum of $100 per month from the date of the trial during the rest and residue of his natural life. Respondent seeks to sustain this continuing judgment under the second count of his complaint in which he sought not only for affirmative or consequential recovery but for declaratory relief under the provisions of section 1060 of the Code of Civil Procedure. This was evidently the opinion of the trial court in rendering the judgment not only for the monthly payments which had accrued under the policy of insurance at the date of the trial, but thereafter during the life of the respondent. That judgments for future payments under installment contracts, even without allegations for declaratory relief, have been upheld in certain jurisdictions, is apparent from a reading of the reported decisions of certain states, and particularly those from the state of Kentucky. (Equitable Life Assur. Society v. Branham, 250 Ky. 472 [ 63 S. W. (2d) 498 ] ; Prudential Ins. Co. v. Hampton, 252 Ky. 145 [ 65 S. W. (2d) 980 ].) The first of these two decisions was rendered without the. citation of any supporting authority, but upon precedents afforded in cases of alimony and compensation under workmen compensation acts. The second of these cases was decided upon the sole authority of the first. We are not inclined to accept these decisions as decisive of the question involved herein. It seems that a clear distinction may be made between an action upon an insurance policy, or other contract payable in installments, and a claim for alimony or for compensation under the workmen compensation acts. The former are strictly actions on the contract, while the- latter are predicated upon statutory enactments expressly empowering the court in one instance and the Industrial Accident Commission in the other instance to adjudicate future payments. Plaintiff also relies
The authority most nearly in point to which our attention has been directed is the case of Green v. Inter-Ocean Casualty Co., decided by the Supreme Court of North Carolina and reported in 203 N. C. 767 [167 S. B. 38], That was an action brought to recover installments which had already accrued on an.insurance policy. Plaintiff claimed permanent disability and sued for unpaid installments and for declaratory relief. The jury found plaintiff to be permanently disabled, and the trial court granted judgment for the accrued installments and in addition for monthly indemnity (as provided in the policy) so long as the plaintiff shall live. The Supreme Court modified the judgment by striking out the last provision of the judgment relating to unaccrued indemnity payments. In doing so the court used the following pertinent language: “The plaintiff mistakes the' purpose of the Declaratory Judgment Act ... in assuming that judgment, in an ordinary controversy like the present one, comes within the provisions of said act. It is quite obvious from the complaint that this is an action to recover under an insurance policy and that the alleged cause of action had already accrued.”
Nor do we think that plaintiff’s claim that he is entitled to a continuing judgment for unaccrued installments during the balance of his life, is supported by section
The books are filled with cases in which actions have been brought to recover upon insurance policies similar to the one here involved in which the insured has attempted to recover judgment not only for accrued payments, but has also sought an adjudication as to installments not yet due. While the decisions upon the right of the plaintiff in such character of actions to recover for installments which have not yet accrued are not entirely uniform, the great weight. of authority is to the effect that, in such actions, recovery cannot be had for any installments falling due in the future. We cite only a few of such cases: Robinson v. Exempt Fire Co., supra; Atkinson v. Railroad Employees’ Mutual Relief Society, 160 Tenn. 158 [ 22 S. W. (2d) 631 ]; New York Life Ins. Co. v. English, 96 Tex. 268 [ 72 S. W. 58 ] ; Bonslett v. New York Life Ins. Co., (Mo.) 190 S. W. 870 ; Commercial Casualty Ins. Co. v. Campfield, 243 Ill. App. 453 ; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Day, 145 Ga. 425 [89 8. E. 576]; Mid-Continent Life Ins. Co. v. Christian, 164 Okl. 161 [ 23 Pac. (2d) 672 ] ; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Lambert, 157 Miss. 759 [ 128 So. 750 ] ; State Life Ins. Co. v. Atkins, (Tex. Civ. App.) 9 S. W. (2d) 290 ; Green v. Inter-Ocean Casualty Co., supra; Garbush v. Order of United Commercial Travelers, 178 Minn. 535 [ 228 N. W. 148 ]; Howard v. Benefit Assn. of Railway Employees, 239 Ky. 465 [ 39 S. W.
In Mid-Continent Life Ins. Co. v. Christian, supra, the court stated the rule in the following language: “Under the authorities just cited, plaintiff would be entitled to recover in his cause of action for all benefits that had accrued under the insurance contract at the time of filing his suit. And could amend his petition to include such instalments due up to the date of the amendment. But plaintiff could not recover for instalments that were not due. The court could not determine how long such instalments would continue to become due, because said matter is dependent upon the conditions of health of plaintiff and the date of his death.”
Our own court in construing a by-law of a fraternal organization providing for weekly benefits to any member who from sickness or accident became unable to earn a livelihood, stated the applicable rule as follows: “The right of plaintiff to this payment for any one week accrues at the end of that week, and he is entitled to sue immediately upon default in such payment. Such default, however, does not work a breach of the entire contract; the contract still subsists as to future benefits, and the default only affects the rights of the parties as to the benefits accrued. It is obvious that it does not work a breach as to the future benefits, since, as to such the liability of the defendant has not become fixed, but remains contingent upon the condition of the plaintiff being such as to entitle him to demand them. . . . But the contract being separable, as we have seen, and not entire, plaintiff is only entitled to recover those benefits accrued at the commencement of the action.” (Robinson v. Exempt Fire Co., supra.)
The final contention of appellant is that the trial court erred in awarding plaintiff judgment in excess of '$400, being the amount of the installments which had accrued at the commencement of this action. At the time the action was instituted only $400 was due plaintiff on said policy of insurance, but, at the conclusion of the trial, thirteen installments of $100 eách had accrued under the policy and judgment was rendered for the total sum of these thirteen installments, or for $1300 and interest. It is stated by plaintiff that he made application for leave to file a supplemental complaint to conform to the evidence which showed that thirteen installments were then due. This application was resisted by the defendant, and while the matter was argued, the court made no ruling upon said application. The defendant makes no denial of this statement. It appears, therefore, that plaintiff did all in his power to perfect his pleadings so that they would include a recovery for all installments which had accrued under the policy at the date of the trial. Under these conditions we think that no injustice will be done by permitting plaintiff to file such sup
It is, therefore, ordered that the judgment in the above-entitled action be modified by striking therefrom the following: “It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed that plaintiff have and recover from defendant the sum of one hundred ($100) dollars per month, commencing with the month of March, 1931, during the rest and remainder of plaintiff’s natural life.”
The judgment as modified is hereby affirmed.
Shenk, J., Langdon, J., Preston, J., Seawell, J., Waste, C. J., and Thompson, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Cloverdale Union High School District of Sonoma County v. Peters 88 Cal. App. 731 at 736 p. 449
- Merchants Heat & Light Co. v. J. B. Clow & Sons 204 U. S. 286 p. 449
- Coggins v. Superior Court 127 Cal. App. 412 p. 449
- Fair View Farms Co. v. Superior Court 123 Cal. App. 9 p. 449
- Ingalls v. Superior Court 121 Cal. App. 453 p. 449
- Freligh v. McGrew 95 Cal. App. 251 p. 449
- Newman v. Burwell 216 Cal. 608 p. 451
- Brown v. Allen 129 Cal. App. 613 p. 451
- Robinson v. Exempt Fire Co. 103 Cal. 1 at 3 p. 453
- Bradbury v. Higginson 162 Cal. 602 at 604 p. 455
- Oliver v. Loydon 163 Cal. 124 at 126 p. 455
- Jacoby v. Peck 23 Cal. App. 363 p. 455
- Crossmore v. Page 73 Cal. 213 p. 455
- French v. McCarthy 125 Cal. 508 at 512 p. 456
- Alameda County v. Crocker 125 Cal. 101 p. 456