Majority
The petitioner, the Guarantee Insurance Company, seeks the annulment of an award of the Industrial Accident Commission holding it as the insurance carrier of A1 Novak as general employer, and Mrs. Bessie Novak as special employer, of Lowell Havener, deceased.
Mrs. Bessie Novak and her son, A1 Novak, were engaged in the junk business. Mrs. Novak’s establishment, the Gate City Junk Company, was located at San Bernardino, while her son operated a similar but much smaller business, the Gate City Wrecking Company, in Ontario. Mrs. Novak heard of an auction in Sacramento and requested her son to attend it and buy pipe for her. This he did, paying part of the
Following the conversation with his mother, Mr. Novak called his manager, a Mr. Renek, in Ontario, asking him to send two men with a truck to transport the material purchased for his mother. The men were to take the material to Ontario where Mr. Renek would give further directions. Mr. Novak instructed Mr. Renek to keep time commencing when the men left until they returned so that it could be charged to his mother’s business.
On October 16, 1941, while Mike Williams and Lowell Havener were hauling the pipe from Sacramento to Ontario, an accident occurred which resulted in the death of Lowell Havener.
Mr. Strachota, the insurance agent, wrote to the petitioner on October 17, 1941, requesting an insurance policy on Mr. Novak’s business, to be dated back to October 14, the day on which he had received the premium. The company refused to write the policy and it has never been issued.
The petitioner attacks the finding of the commission that Mrs. Novak was a special employer, contending that Mr. Novak was the sole employer of the deceased; and urges that there is no evidence to support the finding that petitioner is the insurance carrier of Mr. Novak since no policy had been issued prior to the accident.
The petitioner contends that the test in determining special employment is not met by the facts of this case. Mr. Campbell in his work on compensation (Workmen’s Compensation, vol.
The petitioner insists that the evidence definitely establishes that the employees did not come under the direction or control of Mrs. Novak; that it does not appear that she was in control of the work nor that she could at any time stop or continue it or determine the manner in which it should be done; that her only interest was in the final result; that Mr. Novak retained the right of control and directly and through his manager exerted the physical control which identified him as the employer. It is true, as petitioner states, that all of the actual contacts with the employees were made by Mr. Novak, and that he attended to the details of getting the pipe loaded, and delivered instructions to the men. These facts, of course, are not inconsistent with the holding that he acted as general employer, but the petitioner urges that they are inconsistent with the holding of Mrs. Novak as special employer since they preclude the exercise of control or supervision on her part. It is noted that Mr. Campbell states that the right to control or the actual exertion of control must exist to constitute the relation of special employment. If Mrs. Novak had the right to exercise control by the terms of her agreement it would be immaterial whether she actually exercised the control. (Press Pub. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Corn., 190 Cal. 114 [ 210 P. 820 ]; Claremont C. Club v. Industrial Acc. Com., 174 Cal. 395 [ 163 P. 209 , L.R.A. 1918 F 177 ].) Evidence of direction and control are often important factors in determining the factual question of what the understanding between the parties really was.
There was no written agreement between Mr. Novak and his mother. The terms of the agreement must be derived
Whether the right to control this venture and to direct the manner in which it was to be carried out rested in Mrs. Novak or her son was a question of fact. The accounts of the transaction as related by Mr. Novak and his mother were essentially the same. We cannot say that there was no substantial evidence on this issue, nor was the commission bound to infer collusion from the fact that the witnesses were mother and son. On the contrary there was abundant evidence from which the commission could infer that the elements of a special and general employer relationship were present, some of which were (1) a loaned employee situation,
We come now to the question of whether Mr. Novak was insured by the petitioner at the time of the accident, Mrs. Novak testified that on October 14, she called Mr. Strachota and arranged for workmen’s compensation insurance for her son’s business. She paid to Mr. Strachota the same amount toward the premium' as’she was accustomed to pay for her own business. This agent had on previous occasions written insurance for Mr. Novak. Mr. Strachota admitted that he stated to Mrs. Novak on the day when the premium was paid that her son “was covered.” The accident happened October 16, and on October 17 Mr. Strachota wrote to the petitioner requesting that a policy dated back to October 14, be issued to A1 Novak. This the company refused to do. Mr. Strachota stated that he had not immediately forwarded the premium upon its receipt by him, as there was certain additional information to be procured from Mr. Novak before the application could be completed. It was not until after the accident that he secured this information. Prom all the evidence offered at the hearing, Mr. Strachota appeared to be merely a soliciting agent, insofar as workmen’s compensation insurance was concerned. He solicited such business for several insurance companies, sending all requests for policies in to the companies, and delivering the policies when issued. He wrote no policies of this kind in his own office and had no authority to write them for the petitioner.
The evidence fails to support a finding that a contract of insurance was completed between Mrs. Novak and the petitioner on behalf of her son, and the company cannot be held as his insurance carrier unless there is evidence of estopped. The soliciting agent did not submit the application for the
That part of the award is annulled which holds the petitioner as the insurance carrier of A1 Novak. In other respects the award is affirmed.
Gibson, C. J., Curtis, J., Edmonds, J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., and Sehauer, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Press Publishing Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 190 Cal. 114 p. 519
- Claremont Country Club v. Industrial Accident Commission 174 Cal. 395 p. 519
- Independence Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 203 Cal. 51 p. 520
- Drillon v. Industrial Accident Commission 17 Cal.2d 346 p. 520
- Eastman Co. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 186 Cal. 587 at 598 p. 521
- Western Pacific Railroad v. Industrial Accident Commission 193 Cal. 413 p. 521