Majority
This is a suit on an accident insurance policy issued by defendant to plaintiff’s husband, S. B. Brooks. The policy insured Brooks “against the results of bodily injuries . . . caused directly and independently of all other causes by violent and accidental means,” and provided for double indemnity if the injuries be received “in consequence of the burning of any building in which the insured shall be at the commencement of the fire.” The policy further provided: “This insurance shall not cover suicide or any attempt thereat while sane or insane; . . . nor shall it cover accident, injury, disability, death or any other loss caused wholly or partly, directly or indirectly, by disease or mental infirmity or medical or surgical treatment therefor.”
After a jury verdict in favor of the defendant, the court granted plaintiff a new trial on the ground of insufficiency of the evidence. Defendant contends that in so doing the court erred because (1) the evidence without conflict discloses that the insured committed suicide, and (2) the evidence fails to show that insured’s death was not caused “wholly or partly, directly or indirectly, by disease or mental infirmity.”
Brooks met his death between 7 and 8 o’clock on the morning of November 19, 1941, in a fire which started in his bedroom. There ivere no eyewitnesses and the evidence is wholly circumstantial as to what happened at that time. Two years prior to his death, Brooks had undergone an operation for a cancerous condition which was diagnosed as incurable. Until August, 1941, he was able to drive his automobile but thereafter his condition was such that by October he was confined to his room. He spent most of his time in bed but continued to have an active interest in current affairs and could walk unassisted about the bedroom and to the adjoining bathroom. Brooks was attended by day and night nurses, and for several weeks before his death he was given morphine and other drugs in large quantities to relieve constantly increasing pain. The night nurse was on duty until 7 a. m. and Mrs. Brooks was customarily present with him until the day nurse arrived at 8 a. m. On the morning of November 19, however, Mrs. Brooks left home before 7 o ’clock in order to attend to some business.
When the night nurse left, Brooks was lying in his bed with his eyes closed. A large pile of newspapers and magazines was on top of the bed within easy reach and other newspapers were on a low bench nearby. There was a pint bottle of rubbing alcohol, one-half to two-thirds full, on top of a.dresser in a corner of the room. A cot used by the
The night nurse stated that during the previous evening Brooks said that he hated to die without leaving his wife more money. She further testified that about 15 minutes before 7 on the morning of the 19th Brooks said to her “it’s time you are going.” She said that when she went off duty the shades were up and the front door was unlocked.
When the day nurse arrived a little before 8 o’clock, she was unable to open either the front or side doors. She smelled smoke and called Mr. Olson who lived next door. Olson was unable to open the front door with his keys but entered the house through a living room window and opened the front door on the inside by turning the knob. He testified that so far as he knew the door was not locked. The fire in the bedroom was extinguished by water from a garden hose. Brooks was found dead on the cot, the lower portion of his body being badly burned. A pad on the cot had been burned around his body and there were burned newspapers on the cot and ashes of newspapers or magazines on the floor. A portion of the bed also had been burned, partly burned bedding was on the floor near the stove, and the floor was burned under and around it over an area of about three feet in diameter. There was an odor of alcohol on the upper
It is clear from the foregoing statement that not only is there some conflict in the testimony as to the physical facts but conflicting inferences may be deduced from the facts proved. The inferences that might be drawn in explanation of an accidental origin of the fire are in conflict with those that point to suicide, and although the evidence would warrant a conclusion that the insured took his own life, it would also support a finding that his death was caused by accidental means. It is not our function to determine what inferences should be drawn from the facts proved but since the facts are subject to conflicting inferences, we cannot say, as a matter of law, that the evidence compels the conclusion that the cause of death was suicide.
Defendant next urges that the evidence fails to show, as required in the policy, that the death was not caused wholly or partly, directly or indirectly, by disease or mental infirmity. The report of the autopsy surgeon states that insured’s death was caused by second and third degree burns, but defendant argues there can be no liability under the policy because it does not appear that disease and mental infirmity did not in some measure contribute to the cause of death.
The decisions interpreting risk exclusion clauses similar to the one here involved, are not in accord. Some of the cases hold that the insurer is not liable unless the accidental injury is sufficient of itself to cause death to a healthy man, and that recovery is precluded if death would not have resulted except for preexisting disease or infirmity. (Commercial Travelers’ Mut. Acc. Assn. v. Fulton, 79 F. 423 [ 24 C.C.A. 654 ]; National Masonic Acc. Assn. v. Shryock, 73 F. 774 , 775 [ 20 C.C.A. 3 ]; Thomas v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 106 Md. 299 [ 67 A. 259 ]; Ryan v. Continental Casualty Co., 47 F.2d 472 , 473; 6 Couch on Insurance (1930), § 1249, p. 4569.)
On the other hand there is authority for what in our opinion is the correct rule, that the presence of preexisting disease or infirmity will not relieve the insurer from liability if the accident is the proximate cause of death; and that recovery may be had even though a diseased or infirm condition appears to actually contribute to cause the death if the
Although it appears that the insured was suffering from an incurable cancer and was under the influence of narcotics given to relieve pain, and that by reason of his weakened and infirm condition he may have been less able than a normal person to withstand the effect of the injuries, there is evidence from which the court could conclude that the proximate cause of his death was burns received in a fire of accidental origin.
The order,granting a new trial is affirmed.
Shenk, J., Edmonds, J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., Schauer, J., and Spence, J., concurred.
Appellant’s and respondent’s petitions for a rehearing were denied December 20, 1945.
Cases cited
- Green v. Soule 145 Cal. 96 at 102 p. 307
- Mercantile Trust Co. v. Sunset Road Oil Co. 176 Cal. 451 at 456 p. 307
- Cauhape v. Security Savings Bank 118 Cal. 82 at 84 p. 307
- Dempsey v. Market Street Railway Co. 23 Cal.2d 110 at 113 p. 307
- Hanna v. Interstate Business Men's Accident Ass'n 41 Cal.App. 308 at 310 p. 310