Majority
Plaintiff insurance company filed this action in interpleader after each of the two defendants had made claim upon it for the proceeds of a policy of insurance issued by it in 1921 on the life of James R. Birkelund, now deceased. One of the defendant-claimants is Hilda Olsen Birkelund, hereinafter called Hilda, the first wife of the decedent, and the other defendant-claimant is Ruth Lillian Birkelund, hereinafter called Lillian, who also entered into a marriage with the decedent. Hilda asserts equitable claims, deriving from a property settlement agreement with James, executed in 1931, whereby he agreed “to deliver” the policy to Hilda and she agreed to pay the accruing premiums. James
As indicated above, by the terms of the policy as it stood at the death of the insured Lillian is the designated beneficiary and is, accordingly, prima facie entitled to its proceeds unless Hilda has established superior equitable rights. To establish such rights Hilda relies upon a property settlement agreement with James, executed in 1931 in the State of Minnesota where the parties were then domiciled, whereby, among other things, James agreed “to deliver” to Hilda the policy in question subject to a loan of $450. No specific date for the delivery was fixed. James agreed to pay the interest on the policy loan but not the principal. Hilda agreed “to pay the premiums” on the policy “subsequent to the current year [1931] out of the alimony and support money received from the defendant. ’ ’ The agreement further provided that “the . . . interest of the defendant [James] in the homestead . . . be and is hereby set over and given to the plaintiff [Hilda] . . . That the defendant [James] . . . agrees to pay all the taxes ... on said premises . . . for the year 1930 on or prior to the 31st day of October, 1931, and ... to give to the plaintiff all of the household effects and furniture now in the home . . . [and] to pay to the plaintiff the sum of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars . . . per month, beginning the 1st day of November 1931, said payment ... to constitute all of the alimony which said defendant shall be required to pay . . . That the foregoing is a full and complete property settlement between the parties. ...”
On November 23, 1931, the agreement regarding insurance was modified to read as follows: “The defendant agrees to deliver to the said plaintiff herein insurance policies upon his life as follows; Two policies for Five Thousand ($5,000.00) Dollars, each in the Phoenix Mutual Insurance Company, each of which policies is encumbered with a loan of Four Hundred Fifty ($450.00) Dollars, and one policy in the Berkshire Life Insurance Company in the amount of Twelve Hundred ($1200.00) Dollars, which laier policy is unencumbered by any loan. The plaintiff herein agreeing to pay the premiums subsequent to the year 1931 on the two policies with the Phoenix Mutual Insurance Company, said payments to be made out of the alimony and support money received from the defendant herein. The defendant herein agrees to carry at all times the premium on the Twelve Hundred ($1200.00) Dollar policy above named, and in addition thereto to pay at all times the interest as it comes due on the Nine Hundred ($900.00) Dollar loan from the Phoenix Mutual Insurance Company on the two first policies above mentioned.” It is upon the language above quoted that Hilda relies to establish her claim to the proceeds of the policy. Only one $5,000 policy is here involved, the other having been cashed in by James in 1937°.
On December 10, 1931, the District Court of the Fourth Judicial District, County of Hennepin, State of Minnesota, entered its decree “That plaintiff [Hilda] is not entitled to a decree of divorce from the defendant herein” but “That the defendant [James] shall pay and continue to pay, until further order of the Court, the amounts provided in the stipulation on file herein” (such stipulation being the property settlement hereinabove described), and that “Nothing herein shall be construed as a bar to the prosecution of an action for
The policy in question recites that the insurer “Agrees to pay to [the named beneficiary] . . . the Sum of Five Thousand Dollars, upon receipt at its Home Office of this policy duly discharged together with due proofs of the death, while this policy is in force, of James B. Birkelund . . . The Company Will Also Pay to The Insured During Permanent and Total Disability An Income of Fifty Dollars a Month and will waive the payment of premiums hereunder during such disability ...” (Italics added.) The stated premiums were fixed at $67.80 “payable on the 2nd day of each February and August until fifty-six full years’ premiums shall have been paid or until the death of the Insured.” The policy further provides: “9. Beneficiary Clauses .. . (b) The insured if of legal age may, whenever and as often as he likes, change any beneficiary designated herein by filing at the Home Office of the Company a written notice thereof duly executed and accompanied by the policy for record and endorsement of the change thereon by the Company. Unless the notice is so.recorded and endorsed it shall not take effect, but when recorded and endorsed, whether the insured be then living or not, it shall relate back and take effect as of the date of the execution of said notice by the insured.
“(c) The interest of any beneficiary hereunder shall be ' subject to and bound by any assignment, pledge or release of this policy by the insured, dated either prior or subsequent to the nomination of such beneficiary.”
At the time the policy was first issued it contained a special indorsement providing that “At the request of the insured . . . the beneficiary provisions of paragraphs ,b and c, Section 9 hereof are hereby made inoperative and the beneficiary hereunder is made irrevocable.” Hilda then was named as the sole and irrevocable beneficiary. However, on April 23, 1930, Hilda joined with James in a writing cancel-ling the above quoted special indorsement and restoring to the insured, James, the right to change beneficiary as provided in section b. On that same date James exercised his right to change beneficiary by nominating Hilda as primary beneficiary and his daughters Mary Jane and Joan as secondary beneficiaries.
In 1931, by the property settlement agreement herein-above quoted, James agreed to “deliver” the policy to Hilda,
In 1937, at a time when James was allegedly in default in alimony payments, Hilda instituted an action in Los Angeles County to enforce the settlement agreement and the Minnesota judgment. According to the language of her brief (and as supported by her testimony) “She asked her Los Angeles counsel if James could be forced to carry the policies and was advised by her counsel that he could not be so forced.” Neither before nor after that time did she ever demand delivery of the policy in question nor did she pay any premium thereon or make any inquiry of the insurer concerning the premiums or the status of the policy although she at all times knew the identity of the insurer.
The record is not entirely clear as to whether James eventually paid all the money to Hilda which he had contracted to pay. It does appear, however, that for a number of years
From the facts found the court concluded “That by the terms of the property settlement agreement between [deceased and Hilda] . . ., Hilda Birkelund became the irrevocable beneficiary of the policies of insurance covered by said agreement and acquired a vested interest in each of said policies to the extent of the face value thereof. That the notice of change of beneficiary [to Lillian] . . . was ineffective for any purpose because by the property settlement agreement . . . James B. Birkelund had lost all rights in said policies including the right to change the beneficiary.. That the property settlement agreement . . . was in full force and effect at the time of the death of James B. Birkelund. That the claims of Buth Lillian Birkelund to the proceeds of the insurance policies áre without right except as to a lien for the amount of the premiums paid thereon by her. That Buth Lillian Birkelund is entitled to judgment for $271.20 less the costs of Hilda Olsen Birkelund, and ... is entitled to a lien against the proceeds of said policy for payment of the sum of $271.20 less said costs. . . . That Hilda Olsen Birkelund is entitled to judgment for the balance” of the proceeds of the policy “in the sum of $4107.49.” Judgment was entered accordingly.
As previously indicated each claimant relies, either wholly
Upon ample evidence the trial court resolved the issue of fact on the first theory against Hilda, finding that she had joined with James in executing the document of April 23, 1930, which restored to the policy the provisions giving the insured the right to change the beneficiary. On the third theory, the court held, and apparently properly, that any curtesy, dower or community rights which Hilda might otherwise have had in the policy by reason of premium payments by James during his marriage to Hilda, were merged in the property settlement agreement. This leaves the second theory —that by the property settlement agreement she became entitled to the proceeds of the policy—as the sole basis for the judgment in her favor. This theory, since the agreement to deliver was not actually performed, is essentially equitable in nature. Appellant Lillian attacks the judgment both on alleged weakness in the equitable showing made by Hilda and on asserted legal' and equitable strength in her own (Lillian’s) position.
It is to be noted first that apparently the trial court did not undertake to determine whether by the agreement “to deliver” the policy to Hilda it was intended that upon such delivery she should become merely an irrevocable beneficiary of the policy or should become its assignee and complete owner. “[T]here is a vast difference between the assignee of the insured and a mere beneficiary in a life insurance
Respondent calls our attention to such cases as Shoudy v. Shoudy (1921), 55 Cal.App. 344 [ 203 P. 433 ] ; Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Henes (1935), 8 Cal.App.2d 306 [ 47 P.2d 513 ] ; Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Franck (1935), 9 Cal.App.2d 528 [ 50 P.2d 480 ]; Chilwell v. Chilwell (1940), 40 Cal.App.2d 550 [ 105 P.2d 122 ] ; Mahony v. Crocker (1943), 58 Cal.App. 2d 196 [ 136 P.2d 810 ]. In each of those cases it was héld that under the circumstances there present the insured had lost the right, by reason of an agreement entered into by him, to change the beneficiary of the involved policy. In each of
The findings of the court leave it uncertain as" to what was the intention of the parties and the effect of their acts. If the effect of the agreement was to constitute Hilda a contract or irrevocable beneficiary, her recovery, as previously indicated, may be limited in equity by her failure to perform the executory portion of the agreement. By the agreement she was entitled to receive the policy with the premiums paid for the year 1931. That was all that James
Likewise, even if the findings of the court can be construed as determining that the intention of the parties was to effect an agreement for assignment of the policy, we still view the findings as inadequate to support the judgment to the extent that it awards Hilda such portion of the value of the policy as is represented by premiums which she agreed to, but did not, pay. The agreement to “deliver” the policy can be at most an unexecuted agreement to assign operating as an equitable assignment of the proceeds rather than of the policy itself. (45 C.J.S. 43, § 420; Chilwell v. Chilwell (1940), supra, 40 Cal.App.2d 550 , 553.) Hence it appears that although Hilda might, during the lifetime of James, have maintained an action at law against James on the settlement contract for the recovery of the policy, her claim here for the proceeds is essentially equitable in nature. It is asserted not against James but against Lillian, who, on any theory of the ease, has acquired intervening rights of some nature and to some extent.
The pleadings of. the respective claimants, particularly those of Lillian, fall far short of defining the theories which they invoke in their briefs. Nothing in the pleadings of Lillian can be construed as alleging a claim based on estoppel or laches. Hilda’s answer to the complaint alleges the facts showing her relationship to James and the transactions in regard to the property settlement and the insurance policy. Such answer, by itself and by reference to the complaint in interpleader, discloses the agreement to “deliver” the policy to Hilda, that it was not delivered, that Lillian was designated as primary beneficiary on December 20, 1932, by endorsement on the policy, that Hilda agreed to pay the premiums subsequent to 1931 and, inferentially, that she did not pay them, that the premiums were paid by someone, and that the policy remained in the hands of James or Lillian until James’ death. It fails to allege with certainty whether Hilda
Hilda contends that neither the doctrine of estoppel nor of laches can be operative as against her because of Lillian’s failure to plead any such defense. It is true that the general rule is that one who relies upon estoppel or laches as a defense must plead facts constituting such estoppel or laches where, as here, there is an opportunity to do so (see Lucci v. United Credit & Collection Co. (1934), 220 Cal. 492 , 497 [ 31 P.2d 369 ]; Victor Oil Co. v. Drumm (1920), 184 Cal. 226 , 243 [ 193 P. 243 ]; Mahana v. Echo Publishing Co. (1919), 181 Cal. 233 , 236 [ 183 P. 800 ] ; Newhall v. Hatch (1901), 134 Cal. 269 , 273 [ 66 P. 266 , 55 L.R.A. 673 ]), but, as recognized in the Victor Oil Company case, supra, such rule does not apply where the facts appear on the face of the adversary’s pleading. It is also true that “Mere delay in commencing an equitable proceeding without a showing of inequitable conduct or prejudice suffered thereby is not sufficient to bar the action” (Brownrigg v. DeFrees (1925), 196 Cal. 534 , 538 [ 238 P. 714 ]) and that the averments above epitomized do not contain any, allegation that Lillian parted with value in reliance upon her designation as beneficiary or her possession of the policy. But it does appear that there has been a change in circumstances and in the value of the property. Lillian and James did enter into a contract of marriage (this is alleged in the answer of Lillian and admittedly was known to Hilda at least as early as 1937) and, whether such marriage was valid or invalid, did live together as husband and wife; Lillian was named in 1932 as the primary beneficiary of the policy; premiums for some ten or eleven years were paid on the policy, adding to its value; and James is now deceased and not available as a witness to testify to the circumstances surrounding the change of beneficiary and the payment of premiums. The court specifically found that Lillian directly paid a portion ($271.20) of those premiums. We think, therefore, that while Lillian chose by her pleadings to stand upon her legal claim as the named
From the findings and undisputed evidence it appears that the premiums on the policy in question were payable semiannually, on February 2 and August 2 of each year; that by the terms of the property settlement agreement between James and Hilda the latter agreed to pay the premiums falling due “subsequent to the year 1931”; that from the date of issue of the policy (February 2, 1921) through the year 1931, twenty-two semi-annual premiums had been paid, and thereafter and prior to James’ death (on April 25, 1942) James and Lillian paid twenty-one additional semi-annual premiums; i. e., a total of forty-three premiums were paid on the policy during the life of James.
Therefore, in accordance with the views expressed above, the judgment is modified by striking out the provisions relating to a refund of premiums to Ruth Lillian Birkelund and to the payment of costs therefrom, and is further modified to provide that Hilda Olsen Birkelund shall recover 22/43 ■ of the net proceeds of the policy and that Ruth Lillian Birkelund shall recover 21/43 of such proceeds, each claimant to recover from the other her legal costs, if any, in the trial' court, such legal costs to be ascertained upon the entry of this modified judgment by proceedings as upon an original entry of judgment. As so modified, the judgment is affirmed, appellant to have her costs on appeal.
Gibson, O. J., Shenk, J., Edmonds, J., Carter, J., Tray-nor, J., and Spence, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Mutual Benefit Life Insurance v. Clark 81 Cal.App. 546 at 554 p. 360
- Blethen v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance 198 Cal. 91 at 98 p. 360
- Shoudy v. Shoudy 55 Cal.App. 344 p. 360
- Mutual Life Insurance v. Henes 8 Cal.App.2d 306 p. 360
- Mutual Life Insurance of New York v. Franck 9 Cal.App.2d 528 p. 360
- Chilwell v. Chilwell 40 Cal.App.2d 550 at 553 p. 360, p. 362
- Mahony v. Crocker 58 Cal.App. 2d 196 p. 360
- Lucci v. United Credit & Collection Co. 220 Cal. 492 at 497 p. 363
- Victor Oil Co. v. Drum 184 Cal. 226 at 243 p. 363
- Mahana v. Echo Publishing Co. 181 Cal. 233 at 236 p. 363
- Newhall v. Hatch 134 Cal. 269 at 273 p. 363
- Brownrigg v. deFrees 196 Cal. 534 at 538 p. 363