Majority
Respondent, Industrial Accident Commission, found that the applicant, Victor E. Pedroza, while employed as “crusher” operator on October 29, 1943, by Emsco Refractories Company, a corporation, hereinafter referred to as employer, engaged in manufacturing bricks, sustained an injury arising out of his employment consisting of silicosis due to exposure to silica dust. Pedroza was employed by said employer during various dates from 1928 to the date of the injury; he did not work for any other employer. At the time of the injury, petitioner, Colonial Insurance Company, was the employer’s compensation insurance carrier and had been such from January 8, 1935, to February 5, 1935, and April 17, •1941, to and after the date of injury. • During the other times between 1928 and 1943, the employer’s insurance carriers were, first, Associated Indemnity Corporation, October 26, 1927, to October 26, 1930; second, The Travelers Insurance Company, October 26, 1930, to October 26, 1931; third, The Ocean Accident and Guarantee Corporation, October 26, 1931, to October 26, 1933; fourth, The Travelers Insurance Company, October 26, 1933, to December 22, 1933; fifth, Limited Mutual Corporation Insurance Company, December 22, 1933, to December 28, 1934; (employer uninsured to January 8, 1935); sixth, Colonial Insurance Company (policy excepted industrial disease) above mentioned; (employer uninsured to February 20, 1937); eighth, New Amsterdam Casualty Company, February 20, 1937, to April 7, 1937; ninth, Guarantee Insurance Company, April 7, 1937, to November 15, 1937, (policy excluded industrial disease); tenth, Guarantee Insurance Company, November 15, 1937, to April 17, 1941.
It is conceded by petitioner that the employee is suffering from silicosis and that he was exposed to silica dust, all during his employment by the employer. There is medical evidence that the disease was due to the exposure during the time mentioned. There is no doubt that the evidence is sufficient to establish that Pedroza was exposed to the dust laden atmos
We believe the more workable and fairer rule to be in progressive occupational diseases, that the employee may, at his option, obtain an award for the entire disability against any one or more of successive employers or successive insurance carriers if the disease and disability were contributed to by the employment furnished by the employer chosen or during the period covered by the insurance even though the particular employment is not the sole cause of the disability. To require an employee disabled with such a disease to fix upon each of the carriers or employers the precise portion of the disability attributable to its contribution to the cause of the malady is not in consonance with the required liberal interpretation and application of the workmen’s compensation laws. The successive carriers or employers should properly have the burden of adjusting the share that each should bear and that should be done by them in an independent proceeding between themselves. They are in a better position to produce evidence on the subject and establish the proper apportionment. All of them may have contributed to the disability and the employee should be permitted to proceed against and have an award against any or all of them for the whole disability if the evidence discloses that he was exposed to silica dust during his period of employment with each of •the employers named.
It has been held in cases of progressive occupational diseases that the insurance carrier at the time when a compensable disability oceured is liable for the full disability although the exposure and progress of the disease may have accumulated over a period of time when other carriers were obligated. (Sylvia’s Case, 313 Mass. 313 [ 47 N.E.2d 293 ]; Borstel’s Case, 307 Mass. 24 [ 29 N.E.2d 130 ]; Evans’ Case, 299 Mass. 435 [ 13 N.E.2d 27 ]; Donahue’s Case, 292 Mass. 329 [ 198 N.E. 149 ]; Donahue’s Case, 290 Mass. 239 [ 195 N.E. 345 ]; Yurow v.. Jersey Hat Corp., 131,N.J.L. 265, [36. A.2d,
It is not unusual that employers may be jointly and severally liable. The burden of the disability is to be borne by industry and a general and special employer of the employee are severally liable. This court said: “Since both employers are discharged, as between insurance companies, equity and fair dealing certainly demand that payment be made by the company which received the premium for the coverage. But that is a matter to be settled between the insurance carriers,
The question of apportionment between successive employers or carriers has been before our appellate courts. (See, Rubattino v. Industrial Acc. Com., 65 Cal.App.2d 288 [ 150 P.2d 538 ]; Argonaut M. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 21 Cal.App.2d 492 [ 70 P.2d 216 ] ; Associated Indem. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 124 Cal.App. 378 [ 12 P.2d 1075 ]; Moore Shipbuilding Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 70 Cal.App. .495 [ 233 P. 392 ]; Blanchard v. Industrial Acc. Com., 68 Cal.App. 65 [ 228 P. 359 ].) The main issue determined in those cases is that apportionment is permitted among successive carriers or employers but they do not give especial consideration as. to the nature of the proceeding therefor or whether an award . for the full amount may run against any one of the employers or carriers, the employment of which contributed proximately to the disease. Insofar as they may hold to the contrary of the' rule heretofore announced, they are disapproved. In Limited Mutual Comensation Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 37 Cal.App.2d 50 [ 98 P.2d 837 ], it is merely said that liability may be apportioned. It may be apportioned, as.between the successive carriers or employers but as to the employee he may
In the instant case the successive carriers were brought in as parties and inasmuch as the award was against one of them it may be said that the issue of apportionment was determined, that is, that it was determined that only one of them was liable. Insofar as the employee is concerned the award must be affirmed, for the carrier against whom the award was made had insured the employer during a period when the disease was accumulating and when the disability occurred. While there is evidence from which it might be said that the employee was working in a part of the plant where he was exposed to more dust during the above mentioned period and hence the disease may be more attributable to that period than others, although devices such as blowers and masks for lessening the hazard were used, yet the only medical evidence is that the employee has the disease and that he contracted it over a period of years. The issue of contribution or apportionment between the successive carriers should be separately determined.
Finally, petitioner argues that the hearing referee stated no grounds for her report favorable to applicant and that the referee to which the petition for rehearing was referred recommended denial because the case should be made a test case and that the case was not decided by the commission on the merits. There is nothing in the record to bear out those assertions. Findings of fact and conclusions of law were made and the procedure on rehearing was in proper order. The commission acted upon all matters. The mere mention by the rehearing referee of the case as a test case does not mitigate against the record showing correct and proper procedure and decision.
The award is affirmed but petitioner shall have the right to have determined the issue of apportionment among the carriers and the employer while uninsured, and the case is remanded to the Industrial Accident Commission for the purpose of making such apportionment, and ordering the other carriers and the employer to reimburse petitioner accordingly.
Gibson, C. J., Shenk, J., Traynor, J., and Schauer, J., concurred.
Rehearing was denied on October 28, 1946, and the opinion and judgment were modified to read as above.
Cases cited
- Marsh v. Industrial Accident Commission 217 Cal. 338 at 345 p. 83
- Tanenbaum v. Industrial Accident Commission 4 Cal.2d 615 p. 84
- Hendrickson v. Industrial Accident Commission 215 Cal. 82 p. 84
- Eastman Co. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 186 Cal. 587 p. 84
- Limited Mutual Compensation Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 37 Cal.App.2d 50 p. 84, p. 85
- Mullane v. Industrial Accident Commission 118 Cal.App. 283 p. 84
- Diamond Drill Contracting Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 199 Cal. 694 p. 85
- Dep't of Water & Power of L.A. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 220 Cal. 638 p. 85
- Standard Accident Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 123 Cal.App. 443 p. 85
- American Motorists Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 8 Cal.2d 585 at 588 p. 85
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 8 Cal.2d 589 p. 85
- Rubattino v. Industrial Accident Commission 65 Cal.App.2d 288 p. 85
- Argonaut Mining Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 21 Cal.App.2d 492 p. 85
- Associated Indemnity Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 124 Cal.App. 378 p. 85
- Blanchard v. Industrial Accident Commission 68 Cal.App. 65 p. 85