Majority
— Plaintiffs sought damages for personal injuries sustained when an automobile in which they were riding collided with a Southern Pacific switch engine. The automobile was owned by defendant Carmen R. Martinez, and
Appellants’ main contention is that the evidence is insufficient to sustain the finding that respondents were passengers and not guests within the meaning of section 403 of the Vehicle Code, commonly known as the “guest law.” However, taking the evidence and the inferences which reasonably can be drawn therefrom in the light most favorable to respondents, as required by the time-honored rule (4 Cal.Jur. 2d, § 606, p. 485; Pacific Finance Corp. v. Foust, 44 Cal.2d 853 , 854 [ 285 P.2d 632 ] ; Estate of Arbulich, 41 Cal.2d 86 , 88 [ 257 P.2d 433 ] ; Richter v. Walker, 36 Cal.2d 634 , 640 [ 226 P.2d 593 ] ; Estate of Bristol, 23 Cal.2d 221 . 223 [ 143 P.2d 689 ]), there appears to be substantial support for the contested finding. Appellant Carmen Martinez raises these two further points. (1) That respondent Katie Martinez, his daughter, 'was' an unemancipated minor at the time of the accident and therefore had no right of action against him (Trudell v. Leatherby, 212 Cal. 678 , 680 [ 300 P. 7 ] ; Myers v.1- tranquility Irr. Dist., 26 Cal.App.2d 385 , 387 [ 79 P.2d 419 ]); and (2) that the damages awarded against him as owner of the automobile for the imputed negligence of the driver, his son William, were excessive and against' the law (Veh. Code, § 402). The record does not sustain his first point but does sustain his second; and the judgment for respondents must be modified accordingly.
The family lived more or less as a unit, with the working members contributing a part of their earnings each week to the general household expenses. Katie testified that she made $30 to $40 a week, of which she gave her father, Carmen, $10 to $12 a week, or more if needed, to help pay the family expenses; that during the two weeks before the accident she did not pay any. more money to her father than she had previously paid; that on occasion when Cypriano drove her to work, she did buy ga!s; and that from time to time she had done favors for her brother William, giving him small sums and paying bills at his request, in the expectation that he would do favors for her in return. Delia testified that she never paid anything to Carmen, William, or her husband Cypriano for the rides to work, but that her husband from time to time gave his father, Carmen, certain money for household expenses — money which her husband described as paid “in place of rent.” William testified that while neither Katie nor Delia paid him directly for taking them to work, he expected that for his services they in turn would do favors for him; that on the morning of the accident he had had no conversation with Carmen or the girls as to who would take them to work, but that as he was there at the time, he (William) “simply jumped in the car behind the wheel . . . and they jumped in to be taken to work.”
“The designations ‘passenger’ and ‘guest’ have been adopted for the purpose of distinguishing a person who has
“Whether a person riding with another was a passenger or a guest is to be determined on the basis of the answer to the factual question: Did the rider confer a benefit on the driver for the ride? (Malloy v. Fong, 37 Cal.2d 356 , 376-378 [ 232 P.2d 241 ].) It is for the trier of fact to determine whether the rider conferred a benefit or whether the ride was merely of a social nature. (. . . Gosselin v. Hawkins, 95 Cal.App.2d 857 , 861 [ 214 P.2d 110 ].) Once the trier of fact has determined the fact of benefit, the province of the reviewing court is simply to examine the record to determine whether this factual finding is substantially supported.” (Follansbee v. Benzenberg, supra, 122 Cal.App.2d 466 , 471.)
In considering whether or not a benefit constitutes compensation within the méaning of the statute (Veh. Code, § 403), certain general rules have been applied. Where the driver receives a tangible benefit, monetary or otherwise, which is a motivating influence for furnishing the transportation, compensation may be said to have been given, with the result that the rider is a passenger and the driver is liable for ordinary negligence. (Thompson v. Lacey, supra, 42 Cal.2d 443 , 447; Whitmore v. French, supra, 37 Cal.2d 744 , 746.) But the benefit to the driver must be something more than simply the pleasure of the rider’s company (Whitechat v. Guyette, 19 Cal.2d 428 , 433 [ 122 P.2d 47 ]); and the
Manifestly, the ride culminating in respondents’ injuries was not of a social nature. The trip had for its purpose the taking of wage earners to their place of work at a time when they had been deprived of their former means of transportation. Both respondents were contributing to the upkeep of the Martinez household as a family unit — Katie directly by giving a sizable portion of her weekly wages and Delia indirectly, through her husband Cypriano’s payment of money to Carmen for household expenses. For the two weeks prior to the accident the automobiles of Carmen and Cypriano Martinez were used interchangeably, whichever was available, for taking the girls to work — if Carmen’s car was used, he or his son William would drive; if Cypriano’s ear was used, then he (Cypriano) would drive. Accordingly, on the morning of the accident William was simply following the family’s regular routine when he “jumped in (Carmen’s) car behind the wheel . . . and they (respondents) jumped in to be taken
It may reasonably be inferred from the evidence that after termination of respondents’ former arrangements with a fellow-employee for their daily ride to work, it was necessary that some other system of transportation be adopted for making the trip in order to preserve and promote the financial benefits derived and derivable by the Martinez family group from respondents’ earnings. While neither respondent contributed more to the family expenses because of the added transportation service, that fact does not affect the purpose of the transportation in that it was furnished so the girls could continue to work and make their respective contributions. It may be conceded that the transportation arrangements involved a matter of accommodation and helpfulness between members of the Martinez household — a use of family cars as part of the common courtesy of family life, with one member of the family doing a service for another and expecting a favor in return. But these are only further contributing considerations in addition to the financial benefits that would accrue to Carmen and his son William in providing for respondents’ transportation to work. It reasonably appears from the evidence that the trip resulting in respondents ’ injuries was made pursuant to the family’s routine arrangements ; that- it was not merely a matter of family courtesy or helpfulness but was made because Carmen and William, as well as the entire family as a unit, expected to receive financial benefits for the transportation furnished to respondents; and accordingly, both Carmen and William received compensation within the meaning of section 403 of the Vehicle Code.
The guest statute (Veh. Code, § 403) must be interpreted in accordance with the intent of the Legislature.
The “primary policy” underlying the statute “is to prevent recovery for ordinary negligence by a guest in an automobile who has accepted the hospitality of the owner or driver.” (Kruzie v. Sanders, supra, 23 Cal.2d 237 , 242.)
But where the evidence reasonably shows that the driver had reason to expect a substantial benefit from the transportation of the riders, the statute was not designed to bar recovery for negligence simply because the parties involved were all members of the same family. (See anno: 2 A.L.R.2d 932 .) Rather, regardless of the circumstances of family relationship, the general rule should prevail that “where the driver receives a tangible benefit, monetary or otherwise, which is a motivating influence for furnishing the transportation, the rider is a passenger and the driver is liable for ordinary negligence.” (Thompson v. Lacey, supra, 42 Cal.2d 443 , 447.) So here respondents met the burden of proof in establishing their status as passengers, where the evidence reasonably shows that the trip in question was not social but primarily a business proposition, incident to the alternate use of the family cars as available (Peccolo v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 8 Cal.2d 532 , 537); and there was a direct benefit, an anticipated and prospective profit, to both appellants, Carmen the owner and William the driver, in consequence of the transportation furnished to respondents at the time of the accident. (Follansbee v. Benzenberg, supra, 122 Cal.App.2d 466 , 471.)
Appellant Carmen challenges his daughter Katie’s right to redress against him for her injuries, on the theory that she, 20 years old at the time of the accident, was an unemancipated minor. (67 C.J.S. § 61, p. 787; Trudell v. Leatherby, supra, 212 Cal. 678 , 680; Myers v. Tranquility Irr. List., supra, 26 Cal.App.2d 385 , 387.) Whether a minor has been
emancipated depends largely on the particular circumstances of each case, and the question is ordinarily one of fact. (39 Am.Jur. § 64, p. 705. ) Here it appears that Katie had
However, the liability of Carmen as the owner who consented to the use of his automobile by his son William was limited by section 402 of the Vehicle Code to $5,000 for the injury to each of respondents and to $10,000 for the injuries to both, in the absence of the relationship of principal and agent or master and servant. (7 Cal.Jur.2d, § 306, pp. 177 et seq.) Here respondents’ complaint alleged no such relationship but merely charged that Carmen’s automobile “was at the time and place of the accident . . . being driven and operated with [his] consent, permission and authority . . . by . . . William.” Moreover, during the trial one of respondents' counsel expressly admitted that there was no contention of agency in the case. It is therefore clear that Carmen’s liability as owner for the imputed negligence of the driver William cannot exceed the statutory limit, and that the respective damage awards against him must be reduced accordingly. (Peccolo v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 8 Cal.2d 532 . 538-539; Rogers v. Foppiano, 23 Cal.App.2d 87 , 92-93 [ 72 P.2d 239 ] ; Milburn v. Foster, 8 Cal.App.2d 478 , 480-481 [ 47 P.2d 1106 ].) In modifying the judgment to provide for such reduction, it appears appropriate to recast the provisions of the judgment in the form indicated in O’Neill v. Williams, 127 Cal.App. 385 [ 15 P.2d 879 ].
Paragraphs one and two of the judgment are modified so as to read as follows:
‘ ‘ 1. That plaintiff Katie Martinez do have and recoA>er from defendant William Lopez Martinez the sum of $5,961.00, and from defendant Carmen R. Martinez the sum of $5,000, with interest thereon at the rate of 7% per annum from the date hereof until paid; provided, however, that no more shall be collected by plaintiff Katie Martinez from said defendants than an amount equal to that awarded against defendant William
“2. That plaintiff Delia C. Martinez do have and recover from defendant William Lopez Martinez the sum of $5,281.50, and from defendant Carmen R. Martinez the sum of $5,000, with interest thereon at the rate of 7% per annum from the date hereof until paid; provided, however, that no more shall be collected by plaintiff Delia C. Martinez from said defendants than an amount equal to that awarded against defendant William Lopez Martinez, the liability of defendant Carmen R. Martinez being that imposed upon said Carmen R. Martinez as owner under the provisions of section 402 of the Vehicle Code.”
As so modified the judgment is affirmed, respondents to recover their costs on appeal.
Gibson, C. J., Shenk, J., Edmonds, J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., and Sehauer, J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for a rehearing was denied November 9, 1955.
Cases cited
- Pacific Finance Corp. v. Foust 44 Cal.2d 853 at 854 p. 248
- Arbulich v. Arbulich 41 Cal.2d 86 at 88 p. 248
- Richter v. Walker 36 Cal.2d 634 at 640 p. 248
- Estate of Bristol v. Young 23 Cal.2d 221 p. 248
- Trudell v. Leatherby 212 Cal. 678 at 680 p. 248, p. 253
- Myers v. Tranquility Irrigation District 26 Cal.App.2d 385 at 387 p. 248, p. 253
- Thompson v. Lacey 42 Cal.2d 443 at 444, at 447 p. 250, p. 251, p. 252, p. 253
- Whitmore v. French 37 Cal.2d 744 at 746 p. 250
- Follansbee v. Benzenberg 122 Cal.App.2d 466 at 470, at 471 p. 250, p. 251, p. 253
- Gosselin v. Hawkins 95 Cal.App. 2d 857 at 860, at 861 p. 250
- Whittemore v. Lockheed Aircraft Corp. 65 Cal.App.2d 737 at 740 p. 250
- Malloy v. Fong 37 Cal.2d 356 at 376-378, at 377 p. 250, p. 251
- Whitechat v. Guyette 19 Cal.2d 428 at 433 p. 250
- McCann v. Hoffman 9 Cal.2d 279 at 286 p. 251
- Kroiss v. Butler 129 Cal.App.2d 550 at 555 p. 251
- Kruzie v. Sanders 23 Cal.2d 237 at 241, at 242 p. 251, p. 253
- Brandis v. Goldanski 117 Cal.App.2d 42 at 45 p. 251
- Lyon v. City of Long Beach 92 Cal.App.2d 472 at 478 p. 251
- Huebotter v. Follett 27 Cal.2d 765 at 769 p. 252
- Peccolo v. City of Los Angeles 8 Cal.2d’ 532 at 537 p. 252, p. 253, p. 254
- Fedler v. Hygelund 106 Cal. App.2d 480 at 484 p. 252
- Rogers v. Foppiano 23 Cal.App.2d 87 at 92-93 p. 254
- Milburn v. Foster 8 Cal.App.2d 478 at 480-481 p. 254
- O'Neill v. Williams 127 Cal.App. 385 p. 254