Majority
By this petition, the State Compensation Insurance Fund seeks the annulment or modification of a workmen’s compensation award made to Harold Hutchinson by the Industrial Accident Commission. In our opinion the award was excessive.
On July 7, 1958, Hutchinson injured his neck when he fell
On cross-examination, the rating expert testified that both 26 per cent disability ratings were nonscheduled or judgment ratings, and that if the factors upon which both awards were based were combined then Hutchinson’s present combined disability would not be 52 per cent but something more than 26 per cent. In other words, the factors of disability attributable to the prior injury alone, or to the second injury alone, assuming no prior disability, warrant a rating of 26 per cent; but the present combined disability attributable to the results of both injuries when taken together warrants a rating of something more than 26 per cent but less than 52 per cent.[1]
1 The record shows the following; Counsel for Fund: “Now, if you were to add to this rating [the rating for the second injury] the following description—will you tell me what would be the result if in addition to the described factors you added this: constant minimal pain in back of neck extending over left shoulder, at times extended to the right shoulder, at times extending to the finger tips of both hands, at times pain becomes slight, particularly in performing overhead work, climbing ladders and scaffolds, becoming moderate on lifting over 35 pounds [i.e., the description of disability due to the prior injury], ...” Referee: “That’s not proper cross examination of the rating expert. There is no evidence in this case that that type of disability was caused by this injury. . . .’’ Counsel for Fund; , I think it’s a proper question to inquire if *48 both ratings are considered together, whether or not it would make a difference in the total rating. ’ ’ Referee: " It’s immaterial. ’ ’ Counsel for Fund: "Ton’re not going to allow me to ask the question? Referee: "No. I would say undoubtedly—let the record show undoubtedly the two together in this ease would not equal the total. ’ ’ Counsel for Fund: “Would not equal 52%.” Referee: “Would not equal 52%. There is no question about it in my mind. That should satisfy you. ’' Counsel for Fund: "As a matter of fact, it may equal exactly 26%.” Referee: "That could be but I doubt it. Maybe, let’s assume it totaled 30%. . . . Let’s even assume that together they had both been 26% but still it’s not material. . . .” Counsel for Fund: “What would the two rate together, about 25% standard [about 30-35% adjusted]?” Rating Expert: "That’s what I would think.” Referee: “There you have your information.”
The fund, compensation insurer of Hutchinson’s employer at the time of the second injury, contends that the rating expert’s testimony demonstrates that the second award amounts to an unwarranted pyramiding of compensation. On this ground, it petitioned the commission for reconsideration of the second award. The commission, in denying this petition, stated the applicable rule to be that if separate parts of the body are injured in separate accidents, each injury must be rated separately and the combined disability is immaterial. Based on this theory, it denied the petition for reconsideration, and upheld the award of 26 per cent permanent disability attributable to the second injury. The fund seeks annulment or modification of the award on the ground that this rule as here applied is not sanctioned by Labor Code section 4750, the provision applicable to this problem.
Labor Code section 4750 provides that, “An employee who is suffering from a previous permanent disability or physical impairment and sustains permanent injury thereafter shall not receive from the employer compensation for the later injury in excess of the compensation allowed for such injury when considered by itself and not in conjunction with or in relation to the previous disability or impairment. The employer shall not be liable for compensation to such an employee for the combined disability, but only for that portion due to the later injury as though no prior disability or impairment had existed. ’ ’ This section has been interpreted to mean that, “An employer [or his insurer] of a workman who has
The parties in the instant case do not dispute the above rule or the reasons underlying it. They differ, however, on the method of computing the percentage of disability attributable to the subsequent industrial injury in this case. The conflict arises because often, as in the instant case, the sum of the disabilities due to separate injuries does not equal the combined disability. For example, the sum of the disability ratings caused by the loss of two eyes in separate accidents is about 60 per cent, while the combined disability is 100 per cent. Conversely, in the instant case, where the two disabilities overlap, the combined disability rating is less than the sum of the disability ratings due to both injuries when taken separately.
The fund’s position is that since Hutchinson was 26 per cent disabled prior to the second injury and was only somewhat more than 26 per cent disabled after the second injury, it is illogical to attribute a full 26 per cent disability to the second
Hutchinson and the commission, on the other hand, contend that the Gardner case is applicable only when the successive injuries occur to the same anatomical part of the body. It is argued that in the instant case the neck and lower back are different parts of the body and, therefore, the ease of Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 126 Cal.App.2d 554 [ 272 P.2d 818 ] controls. That case, it is contended, states the rule that where the second injury is not to the same part of the body, neither the prior condition of the employee nor the combined disability after the second injury is material; that only the second injury may be considered and that if that injury itself would have caused a 26 per cent disability even though it does not add substantially to a preexisting disability, then a full 26 per cent award should be made. In that case a prior injury to the left leg resulted in a compensation award based upon a 25% per cent permanent disability rating. In the second accident the employee fractured his pelvis and injured his back, chest, and head. This second injury caused a 77 per cent permanent disability. The contention was made that if an award were made for 77 per cent, then the employee would have recovered for a permanent disability in excess of 100 per cent; that the combined disability should have been
The Gardner ease and the Pacific Gas case reached fair and correct results in their respective applications of Labor Code section 4750. An employee with a permanent left ankle disability for which he has been compensated and who thereafter loses the entire left leg ought not receive from his employer for the loss of that defective leg the same amount that an employee who loses a perfectly sound leg receives. (See Hopper v. Firestone Stores, 222 S.C. 143 [ 72 S.E.2d 71 , 75].) On the other hand, a blind person, for example, who is conclusively presumed to be totally disabled, but who is gainfully employed and suffers an industrial injury ought to receive compensation for that injury even though he is then granted benefits for more than 100 per cent disability. (Cf. Smith v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 44 Cal.2d 364 , 367. See International Harvester Co. v. Poff (Ky.App.) 331 S.W.2d 712 .) The artificial distinction drawn between these two cases by the commission, i.e., one method of apportionment is to be used when successive injuries occur to the same anatomical part of the body, but another method if the injuries are to different parts, is unsound. It is not the location of the injury which is important but rather the nature of the disability resulting from the injury. In fact, in Gardner the successive injuries did not
2 It should be noted that there was evidence that the prior disability had improved so that if rated at the time of the second injury would have been only 5 per cent and not 25% per cent. The sum of the two at that time, therefore, would not have exceeded 100 per cent. The court, however, did not consider this fact material to its decision. The commission followed the Pacific Gas case in John E. Jones v. Fruit Growers Supply Co., 25 Cal.Comp. Cases (1960) 159. There three successive injuries were rated as producing disability ratings of 49, 54 and 5% per cent respectively. The commission stated, at page 159 of 25 Cal.Comp.Cases, that “If separate and distinct injuries occur, each to a different part of the body, then each must be rated separately. Should a total of more than 100% result from a combination of the separate injuries, no error results. . . .”
Attention should be directed to the elements involved in a compensable permanent disability. A permanent disability is one . which causes impairment of earning capacity, impairment of the normal use of a member, or a competitive handicap in the open labor market.” (2 Hanna, Employee Injuries and Workmen’s Compensation (1954) p. 255. See Lab. Code, § 4660, subd. (a).) The loss of an eye may in no way impair the employee’s earning capacity and yet is compensable as an impairment of the use of a body function and as a possible handicap in the open labor market. (See Smith v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 44 Cal.2d 364 , 367.) And when the remaining eye is lost in an industrial accident, the employer is liable not for the resulting combined disability nor for the difference between the combined disability and the prior disability, but only for the disability attributable to the loss of one eye, assuming that the other was sound. (Wolski v. Industrial Acc. Com., 70 Cal.App.2d 427 [ 161 P.2d 283 ]. See 2 Hanna, Employee Injuries and Workmen’s Compensation (1954) p. 265.) This conclusion results from a proper application of the policy behind section 4750, that is, encouraging the employment of disabled persons. The remainder of the combined disability for which compensation has not been paid by the employer comes from the Subsequent Injuries Fund. (Lab. Code, § 4751. See Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., 44 Cal.2d 604 , 609-610 [ 283 P.2d 1039 ] ; Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., 39 Cal.2d 83 [ 244 P.2d 889 ].) Of course, there must be included in the determination of the disability caused by the second injury, the possibility and cost of rehabilitation. Obviously, where a person receives successive injuries to the same part of the body, or where the two injuries overlap, the possibility and cost of rehabilitation may be more difficult and expensive than it would be in a case where only one injury has been suffered. This, too, is a factor, an important factor, in determining the disability resulting from the second injury.
When there has been no loss of a member of the body or loss of its function, it is necessary as a prerequisite to compensation that the injury result in a decrease in earning capacity or the ability to compete in the open labor market. If a
In the instant case, Hutchinson, after the first injury, was disabled in that the amount of climbing, overhead work and lifting work he could do had been limited. But the second injury, in a major degree, resulted in the same limitation ; a restriction on the amount of heavy work he could do. To the extent that the factors of disability due to both injuries overlapped, that is, to the extent that the second injury did not further reduce his earning capacity nor his ability to compete in the open labor market, he should not be compensated
State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 56 Cal.2d 681 , is illustrative of the point involved. There an employee was suffering from heart insufficiency rated at 43% per cent permanent disability. He later sustained an industrially connected heart attack which was found to render him 100 per cent disabled. The court said, at page 686 of 56 Cal.2d, that “The . . . heart attack could not have caused 100 per cent disability since the heart was already 43% per cent disabled at the time of the . . . attack. It was therefore erroneous for the commission to fail to deduct the earlier 43% per cent disability ...” when assessing the employer’s liability for the heart attack. Similarly, in the instant ease the second injury could not have caused a full 26 per cent disability manifested by a restriction in the ability to do heavy lifting when that disability was, at least to some extent, already present.
The result of the commission’s interpretation of Labor Code section 4750, which was enacted as a limitation upon an employer’s liability in order to encourage the employment of disabled persons, would be to increase the liability .for a subsequent injury beyond the extent to which that injury resulted in decreased earning power or ability to compete in the open labor market. This would be contrary to the fundamental purpose of the section, because it would require the subsequent injury always to be assessed without regard to the existing condition of the employee. If the prior condition be disregarded the result will be that the employer, or his carrier, will be held liable for a disability greater than was actually produced by the injury.
This court, in a related situation, lias previously recognized the distinction between a subsequent injury causing independent disability and one which does not for purposes of determining the applicable method of apportionment. In Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 44 Cal.2d 604 , the issue was the method to be used in apportioning liability between the Subsequent Injuries Fund and the insurer of the employer after a subsequent injury. The court said, at pages 608-609 of 44 Cal.2d, “. . . that in a case such as this (where the latter disability is a product of prior
The instant case, although here Labor Code section 4750 and not section 4663[3] is involved, presents a somewhat comparable situation. Here the question is the liability of the employer and not of the Subsequent Injuries Fund. But, of course, there should be a consistent approach since the liability of the Subsequent Injuries Fund is correlated to the liability of the employer. In the case just discussed it was stated that the proper method of computing the liability of the Subsequent Injuries Fund when a later injury adds to a prior independent disability is to subtract from the combined disability that per cent attributable to the subsequent injury when considered alone. This method of computation is entirely consistent with the position taken in this opinion. When the disability caused by the subsequent injury is separate and independent from any prior disability the Pacific Gas rule applies, and by rating the second disability separately the necessary figure is obtained to insert into the above formula to compute the liability of the Subsequent
3 Labor Code section 4663 provides, “In ease of aggravation of any disease existing prior to a compensable injury, compensation shall be allowed only for the proportion of the disability due to the aggravation of such prior disease which is reasonably attributed to the injury.” It is conceded that this section has no application to the instant ease.
It can, of course, be argued that if the injuries sustained in the first accident heal or improve, then there will remain at least a 26 per cent disability caused by the subsequent • injury for which no compensation has been paid. This may be so. But this is a factor that should be found as a fact, based on evidence. It was not here found. It is a factor that, upon proper evidence, the commission may consider when it reappraises the existing disability in accordance with the view herein expressed.
The award is annulled, and the case remanded to the Industrial Accident Commission with instructions to determine in accordance with the rules here announced the extent of the permanent disability to Hutchinson caused by the second accident.
Gibson, C. J., Traynor, J., Sehauer, J., MeComb, J., Tobriner, J., and White, J.,[4] concurred.
* Retired Justice of the Supreme Court sitting pro tempore under assignment by the Chairman of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Smith v. Industrial Accident Commission 44 Cal.2d 364 at 365, at 367 p. 49, p. 51, p. 52, p. 53
- Edson v. Industrial Accident Commission 206 Cal. 134 at 138-139 p. 49
- Gardner v. Industrial Accident Commission 28 Cal.App.2d 682 p. 50
- Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 126 Cal.App.2d 554 p. 50
- Wolski v. Industrial Accident Commission 70 Cal.App.2d 427 p. 52
- Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 44 Cal.2d 604 at 609-610 p. 52, p. 54
- Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 39 Cal.2d 83 p. 52
- State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 56 Cal.2d 681 at 686 p. 53, p. 54