Majority
Appeal from a judgment in favor of plaintiff for personal injuries sustained by her in a collision between an automobile in which she was riding and one driven by the defendant. The collision occurred on the morning of July 14, 1935, at about 1:30 A. M., near the town of Sandyland on U. S. highway No. 101, between Carpenteria and Santa Barbara. Plaintiff and her companion, Jerry Rasmussen, were returning from Ventura to their home in Santa Barbara in a Buick sedan. They were accordingly traveling northerly. The defendant was returning from Santa Barbara where he had attended a theater. Defendant was driving southerly in a Ford machine, and had with him Arline Thurmon and Phoebe Bowen. They were traveling behind a third machine, a Buick coupe, driven by a Mr. Led-ford and occupied by the driver, his wife, a Mr. Johnson, and a Miss Frederick. When the defendant arrived at a point about a mile north of Carpenteria, he attempted to "pass the Ledford car. The highway at this, point consists of three lanes plainly marked with white lines. The Ledford ear was traveling in the right lane, and defendant had been
A reversal of the judgment is asked on the grounds of erroneous admission of evidence and the giving of erroneous instructions. The appellant first contends that the trial court erred in the admission of evidence as to the financial condition of the respondent, and the refusal of the court to strike out such evidence. The evidence of which complaint is made was given by Dr. Hamilton, one of the respondent’s witnesses. Dr. Hamilton had attended the respondent immediately after her injuries, and was called to testify in regard to her then condition. On cross-examination he was questioned regarding the bill he had rendered for his services to respondent, evidently for the purpose of showing his in
This motion to strike was denied on the ground that the witness had a right to explain his previous answer and the fact that in so explaining he gave evidence which otherwise would have been objectionable did not render said evidence inadmissible. It is undoubtedly the settled law in this state that in a personal injury action evidence of the financial condition of the injured party is inadmissible. (8 Cal. Jur., p. 898; Shea v. Potrero & Bay View R. R. Co., 44 Cal. 414 ; Malone v. Hawley, 46 Cal. 409 ; Mahoney v. San Francisco & San Mateo Ry. Co., 110 Cal. 471 [ 42 Pac. 968 , 43 Pac. 518 ]; Green v. Southern Pac. Co., 122 Cal. 563 [ 55 Pac. 577 ]; Story v. Green, 164 Cal. 768 [ 130 Pac. 870 , Ann. Cas. 1914B, 961]; Ensign v. Southern Pac. Co., 193 Cal. 311 [ 223 Pac. 953 ]; Wright v. Broadway Department Store, 199 Cal. 562 [ 250 Pac. 572 ].) In each of these cases the objectionable evidence was evidently admitted for the express purpose and with the intent of showing that the plaintiff was
In the following cases it was held that evidence of the poverty of the plaintiff under circumstances similar to those in the instant case was properly admitted: Hughes v. Quackenbush, 1 Cal. App. (2d) 349 [ 37 Pac. (2d) 99 ]; McNally v. Casner, 128 Cal. App. 680 [ 18 Pac. (2d) 94 ]; Ashley v. Rivera, 220 Cal. 75 [ 29 Pac. (2d) 199 ], From these authorities we conclude that the trial court did not err in permitting Dr. Hamilton.to explain his answer as to the reason for his not expecting payment for certain services rendered by him to the plaintiff in this action.
The further contention is made by the appellant that the court erred in not declaring a mistrial and dismissing the jury by reason of the injection into the case of evidence that defendant carried indemnity insurance. The criticized evidence was given by Irene Fenton, a nurse at the hospital where the plaintiff was confined after her injuries. She was describing the visit of Dr. Stevens to the plaintiff while the latter was a patient at said hospital. In the course of her narration of the events transpiring during this visit the witness stated: “And he [Dr. Stevens, addressing the plaintiff] said: ‘I would like to ask you a few questions.’ ... He leaned over and examined the scar on her face, and I believe she said ... no, he asked if she had any other injuries, and she said, ‘I have some bruises on my knees’, and he reached down and pulled the covers back. He just pulled them off her like that [illustrating] and she grabbed them back, and she said, ‘Don’t uncover me here before God and everybody'. And he reached down and took hold of the covers, and he said, ‘Well, I am not doing this for pleasure. The insurance company sent me’.” Counsel for the defendant immediately moved to strike out the statement, “The insurance company sent me”. The attorney for plaintiff consented to the motion, stating, “I did not know it was coming”. Counsel for defendant further assigned the statement of the witness as prejudicial misconduct, and requested the court to declare a mistrial. The court granted the motion to strike out the objectionable evidence of the witness that the doctor stated
In Citti v. Bava, 204 Cal. 136 , 138 [ 266 Pac. 954 ], a judgment in favor of the plaintiff in an action to recover damages for personal injuries was reversed on the ground that the defendant was prejudiced by the admissióít of evidence that he carried indemnity insurance. In that case the court stated: “The evident purpose of counsel for the plaintiff was to prove the fact of the compromise and settlement with Aftergut by the insurance carrier of the defendant as an admission of liability on the part of the defendant and to get before the jury the fact that the defendant was indemnified by a policy of insurance. ’ ’ In Squires v. Riffe, 211 Cal. 370 , 374 [ 295 Pac. 517 ], this court reversed a judgment in a similar action on the ground that evidence that the defendant carried insurance was improperly admitted. In that case the defendant objected to a question propounded to plaintiff while on the witness stand on the ground that it was an attempt to bring in extraneous matters before the court. The objection was overruled, and the plaintiff answering the question detailed a conversation with the defendant in which she stated that she was insured. The court held that, “It must be presumed that counsel for the plaintiff knew the answer which his client would give to the objectionable question”, and citing Citti v. Bava, supra, reversed the judgment. In Rising v. Veatch, 117 Cal. App. 404 , 406 [ 3 Pac. (2d) 1023 ], the same question was involved. The objectionable testimony was given by the plaintiff in answer to a question propounded to her by her attorney “over repeated objections of appellant’s counsel”. The court in that action followed the case of Squires v. Riffe, supra, and reversed the judgment in favor of plaintiff on the ground that “the question which elicited the answer complained of was put to counsel’s client, and counsel either knew or should have known the answer to be expected”. The appellant cites and relies upon these decisions in support of his contention that the judgment herein should be reversed. In each of these cases the decision holding the evidence that defendant carried liability insurance was prejudicial error was based upon the fact that the attorney for the plaintiff knew or was presumed to have known that the answer of the witness would refer to the matter of insurance and that he intentionally asked the objectionable
There is another all sufficient reason why the evidence of Irene Fenton, as to the statement of the doctor that the insurance company sent him, was not prejudicial to the defendant’s case. There was already evidence 'in the case that the defendant was insured. This evidence was given by a witness who stated that the defendant told him, “he [defendant] was traveling approximately 60, but he was going to say around 45 because of his insurance”. This evidence was received without objection on defendant’s part and no motion was made to strike it from the record. As testimony of defendant’s insurance was before the court and jury without objection by the defendant, evidence of the same char
Appellant’s objection to the introduction of photographs of the plaintiff showing the nature of the injuries upon her face while in the hospital is without merit. The photographs portrayed possibly more strikingly plaintiff's injuries than oral testimony could have done. This fact did not render them inadmissible. The jury was entitled to know of her true condition and if that fact could be more accurately portrayed by photographs than by the testimony of the doctor, or others, it was the right of the plaintiff to resort to that method of proof. (Crabbe v. Rhoades, 101 Cal. App. 503 [ 282 Pac. 10 ]; 10 Cal. Jur., p. 896.) The case of O’Meara v. Haiden, 204 Cal. 354 [ 268 Pac. 334 , 60 A. L. R. 1381 ], is not applicable to the facts in this case.
Appellant attacks instructions numbered 18 and 31, given by the court at the request of the respondent. Instruction 18 is as follows: “If you find from the preponderance of the evidence that any facts disclosed by the evidence contradict or outweigh the testimony of any witness regarding the manner in which the accident occurred, if you find it did occur, then you are at liberty to accept such facts and disregard the testimony of the witness.” Appellant contends that the reference to “any facts” in the instruction must be held to mean “any physical facts”, and upon this premise builds up a most formidable argument.
The court refused to give a similar instruction in which the word, “facts” appearing in the instruction was preceded by the word, “physical”. Evidently the trial court did not consider the two instructions identical, or that the instruction given should be construed as referring to “physical facts”. In view of this action of the trial court, we are not inclined to agree with the appellant’s construction of this instruction. We see nothing objectionable regarding the instruction given. The jury, in effect, was told that any fact proven by a preponderance of the evidence would outweigh the testimony of any witness whose testimony was inconsistent with the proven fact. This must necessarily be so. A fact in the case could not be proven by the preponderance of the evidence unless it outweighed every other fact attempted to be proven in the case upon the same issue. The instruction, while not stated in as clear language as we would desire, did
By instruction No. 31 the court instructed the jury that the burden was upon the defendant to prove contributory negligence by a preponderance of evidence. The instruction was not a formula instruction and when considered in connection with other instructions of the court could not have prejudiced the appellant. The criticized instruction finds an almost exact parallel in one discussed by this court in the case of Olsen v. Standard Oil Co., 188 Cal. 20 , 25 [ 204 Pac. 393 ], where the question now raised by the appellant was disposed of in the following language: “The argument apparently assumes that the jury must have understood it [the instruction] to mean that in deciding the question they could consider only the evidence introduced by the defendant and that evidence produced by the plaintiff tending to show contributory negligence could not be considered. There was nothing in the instruction on the subject that could be so understood.”
This concludes a discussion of all questions raised by the appellant in support of his appeal. In our opinion none of them, nor all of them collectively, would justify a reversal of the judgment.
The judgment is affirmed.
Shenk, J., Seawell, J., Langdon, J\, Edmonds, J., and. Waste, C. J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Shea v. Potrero & Bay View Railroad 44 Cal. 414 p. 576
- Malone v. Hawley 46 Cal. 409 p. 576
- Mahoney v. San Francisco & San Mateo Railway Co. 110 Cal. 471 p. 576
- Runk v. San Diego Flume Co. 43 Pac. 518 p. 576
- Green v. Southern Pacific Co. 122 Cal. 563 p. 576
- Story v. Green 164 Cal. 768 p. 576
- Ensign v. Southern Pacific Co. 193 Cal. 311 p. 576
- Wright v. Broadway Department Store 199 Cal. 562 p. 576
- People v. Burke 18 Cal. App. 72 p. 577
- Muller v. Hale 138 Cal. 163 at 167 p. 577
- McNally v. Casner 128 Cal. App. 680 p. 578
- Ashley v. Rivera 220 Cal. 75 p. 578
- Citti v. Bava 204 Cal. 136 at 138 p. 579
- Squires v. Riffe 211 Cal. 370 at 374 p. 579
- Rising v. Veatch 117 Cal. App. 404 at 406 p. 579
- Nicholls v. Mapes 1 Cal. App. 349 at 358 p. 580
- Crabbe v. Rhoades 101 Cal. App. 503 p. 581
- O'Meara v. Haiden 204 Cal. 354 p. 581
- Olsen v. Standard Oil Co. 188 Cal. 20 at 25 p. 582