Majority
Headnote
Life Insurance—Loan on Policy Assigned as Security—Nonpayment—Cancellation—Claim of Ultra Vires—Estoppel.—Where a life insurance company loaned money to the insured secured by an assignment of the policy both by the insured and the beneficiary, under an agreement that upon default in its payment at maturity, the company may, at its option, without notice or demand of payment, cancel the policy, and apply its cash surrender value toward its payment with interest, and pay the residue to the person entitled, and the policy was so treated as canceled during the life of the insured, the beneficiary, in an action on the policy, is estopped by the loan agreement, .and the consideration thereof, and the nonpayment of the loan, to urge that the act of the company in making the loan was ultra vires.Action to recover upon a life insurance policy. The complaint alleges: That about August 29, 1889, defendant issued to plaintiff a policy of insurance on the life of her husband, William Frese, agreeing thereby to pay to her $5,000 at his death; that the premiums due thereon were prior to his death fully paid; that on July 7, 1899, plaintiff’s said husband borrowed from defendant the sum of $1,930 repayable to defendant on August 29, 1900; that defendant required as security for said loan the pledge of said policy, and plaintiff assented thereto, and thereupon plaintiff and her said husband entered into an agreement with defendant by which they assigned to defendant said policy and agreed therein to repay said sum to defendant on August 29, 1900, and as collateral security, and in consideration of the amount so loaned, did “assign, transfer and set over all their right, title and interest in and to said policy . . . together with all the moneys which may become payable under the same, to the company as collateral security for the payment of said loan with interest.” The agreement further provided: “In the event of default of the payment of the said loan on the date herein above mentioned, the company is hereby authorized at its option, without notice and without demand for payment, to cancel said policy, and apply the customary cash surrendered consideration then allowed by
Plaintiff further alleges that she did not know whether or not said indebtedness had ever been paid; or whether said policy had been canceled, “although the defendant now claims to have so canceled it”; on information she averred that defendant waived performance of said agreement touching payment of said indebtedness at maturity and its right to cancel said policy, and on September 4, 1900, “entered into a new agreement with said William Frese whereby in consideration of the payment by him for $96.50 in cash, which sum was then paid to the defendant, said loan was extended by defendant for one year from August 29, 1900”; and in like manner entered-into “a fresh agreement with said William Frese, upon a like consideration of $96.50,” extending payment of said indebtedness to August 29, 1902; that at said last-mentioned date and for a long time prior thereto said William Frese “was sick in body and mind and was mentally incompetent to attend to business,” and that plain- • tiff was not aware that said indebtedness was not paid or that said policy had been canceled until after the death of her said husband (which occurred April 8, 1903), and not until when she made proof of death of her said husband; that she was furnished by plaintiff with blanks of proof of death on or about May 27, 1903, and made up and duly verified and filed the same with defendant, “and that no objection was made thereto, and no further or other proofs demanded”; that five months have elapsed since said proofs were made, and although payment has been demanded defendant has neglected and refused to pay the sum of $5,000, by said policy agreed to be paid to her by defendant.
Defendant by its answer admits the issuing of said policy and that it has not been paid; that all premiums thereon were paid by the assured prior to his death, and that he kept and performed all its terms “save and except as they referred to the payment of the loan hereinafter mentioned.” Most of the other averments of the complaint are denied. As to the loan defendant alleges that it was made “to said William Frese and plaintiff jointly,” and that “as collateral security
The cause was tried by the court without a jury, and plaintiff had judgment for $107.99. Plaintiff appeals from so much of the judgment as gave her but $107,99, and claims that it should have been for the full amount claimed “or at least for the sum of $2,998.17, with interest thereon from May 27, 1903”; and appeals also from that part of the judgment awarding costs to defendant. The appeal comes up on a bill of exceptions.
It is not necessary to set out the findings specifically— suffice it to say that the averments of the answer are found to be true in all material particulars.
In certain respects the findings are challenged as unsupported by the evidence. It is claimed that the evidence was insufficient to show that the policy was canceled by defendant and also to show that its cash surrender value was as alleged by defendant. The evidence consisted in considerable part of letters between the officers and agents of the company and by them to the assured and plaintiff; also of office records and abbreviated notations on the policy which were explained. It is suggested by plaintiff that these mention the “surrender” of the policy and not its “cancellation.” But the surrender spoken of was explained to have been made
The alleged errors in admitting evidence over plaintiff’s objection may here be disposed of. They are five in number, to wit: (a), relating to the admission of the letter of the defendant’s agent to plaintiff’s husband informing him that the company had canceled the policy; (b), his reply thereto; (c), the company’s reply to this letter; (d), the second letter of - William Frese to the company; (e), the company’s letter to plaintiff declining to pay the policy. There is nothing in any of these letters in the slightest degree harmful to plaintiff. There are no admissions or declarations of plaintiff’s husband affecting the rights of plaintiff; they had some tendency to show that her husband was not mentally deranged.
The real questions presented by the appeal are questions of law, and upon these plaintiff’s position is: 1. That the loan agreement is ultra vires; 2. That the right given by the agreement to cancel the policy is a provision for the forfeiture of
It should be stated that the loan was made to plaintiff and her husband, both joining in the execution of the agreement to repay the sum loaned and assigning the policy as collateral security; the money was paid to them by the company’s check to the order of both; there was evidence that William Frese was sound of mind during all the transactions between him and the company, and although not in good health, the company, so far as appears, was not aware of his condition until he applied for a restoration of the policy after its cancellation, and upon the report of the company’s medical examiner.
1. Was the agreement ultra vires? The argument of appellant is that under the act of March 28,1874 (Stats. 1873-74, p. 777), defendant was authorized “to loan upon mortgages of real estate”; that the agreement of 1899 was prior to the enactment of section 421, subdivision 7, of the Civil Code which permits insurance corporations to loan money on their own policies, and hence there was no authority for making the. loan agreement. The contention is that by the act of 1874 there was an implied prohibition to loan upon property other than real estate. Respondent, it seems to us, makes conclusive answer to this contention: That by the terms of the agreement and as alleged in the complaint, “plaintiff consented to the pledge, and did pledge, the said policy of insurance to defendant as security for said loan”; that plaintiff and the assured received consideration for the loan agreement and have not offered to repay it and are estopped from setting up the act of the corporation as ultra vires. (Grangers’ Assn. v. Clark, 67 Cal. 634 , [ 8 Pac. 445 ] ; Camp v. Land, 122 Cal. 167 , [ 54 Pac. 839 ]; Bay City Building & Loan Assn. v. Broad, 136 Cal. 525 , [ 69 Pac. 225 ].) That the loan agreement was, prior to the death of the assured, fully exe
2. It is contended that the loan agreement provides for the forfeiture of property the subject of a lien, and is void as in violation of section 2889, Civil Code, which reads: “All contracts for the forfeiture of property subject to a lien or satisfaction of the obligation secured thereby, and all contracts in restraint of the right of redemption from a lien are void.” It is claimed that this section is declaratory of the equitable doctrine that property given as security cannot be taken in satisfaction of the obligation secured thereby, and that any provision in the instrument of security that undertakes to provide for such forfeiture or for restraint of the right of redemption is void. (Citing Bradbury v. Davenport, 114 Cal. 593 , 599, [ 55 Am. St. Rep. 92 , 46 Pac. 1062 ] ; Lowe v. Ozmun, 3 Cal. App. 387 , [ 86 Pac. 729 ].) It was sought in the early cases by virtue of this section of the Civil Code to have the court declare void a conveyance of the mortgaged premises by the mortgagor to the mortgagee. But it was held that where the sale is fair and free from undue influence, oppression or fraud and for an adequate price, it is not restrained by section 2889, Civil Code. (Phelan v. De Martini, 85 Cal. 365 , [ 24 Pac. 725 ].) The ease of Bradbury v. Davenport, cited by appellant, was one involving the mortgage of real estate, where the mortgagor was, by unfair advantage taken of his physical condition and financial embarrassment, induced to place a deed of the mortgaged premises to the mortgagee, in escrow, under an agreement to deliver the same to the mortgagee upon payment by him of a certain sum of money, and the holder of the escrow was authorized to discharge the mortgage and return the note secured thereby to the mortgagor. It was clearly a case of an attempt to secure unfairly a waiver of the equity of redemption by the mortgagor. In Lowe v. Ozmun, 3 Cal. App. 386 , [ 86 Pac. 729 ], cited by appellant, the action was for the conversion of certain bonds of a gas company and a railway company. Embodied in the collateral note was an agreement as to the
3. We do not think appellant’s third proposition is tenable, namely, that if the provision relating to the cancellation of the policy was not a provision for a forfeiture, then it was merely an offer or option to sell the policy for $1,932.15 within a reasonable time after August 29, 1900. Appellant’s contention is derived from the provision of the agreement that the company “is hereby authorized, at its option, without notice and without demand for payment, to cancel said policy.” The object of the agreement plainly manifest by its terms, and as shown by the complaint itself, precludes the construction thus given by appellant. The transaction was a loan pure and simple, secured by a pledge of the policy. The agreement of the company was “to loan the parties of the second part the sum of $1,930”; it provided that “the receipt of the foregoing amount as a loan is hereby acknowledged 0 upon the pledge hereinafter set forth of policy No. 371,257, ’ ’ and “in consideration of the amount of said loan the parties of the second part hereby assign . . . said policy as collateral security for the payment of said loan.” There is no element of a sale, or option of a sale to be found in the agreement. It would be a perversion of the English language to call this an offer or option of plaintiff and her husband to sell the policy for a certain sum. The term “option” as used in the agreement means that the company was authorized, on default of the pledgors, at its pleasure or upon its own motion, to apply the cash surrender value in payment of the loan.
4. Neither is the proposition of appellant maintainable, that plaintiff pledged her policy as surety for the money borrowed by her husband, and hence she and her property were exonerated by the new agreement of August 29, 1900, between her husband and the company. There is no evidence in the record that plaintiff signed the agreement as a surety. The evidence is that the loan was to her and her husband; the agreement was signed by both and the money was paid to both. The company was not informed as to what use the
Since the argument of the cause our attention has been called to the very recent case of Sherman v. Mutual Life Ins. Co. (Wash.), 102 Pac. 419 . In that case the same company was defendant as here, and the same form of agreement was entered into between the parties under like circumstances. It was there held that the contract was valid; that the stipulation as to cancellation is- not waived by an extension of the date of payment of the loan; that no notice of intention to cancel the policy was necessary; and that the company had the right, upon default in payment of the loan, to cancel the policy.
5. Defendant had judgment for costs. The allowance of costs is a matter of statutory regulation. Plaintiff is entitled to costs, of course, “in an action for recovery of money damages, when plaintiff recovers three hundred dollars or over.” (Code Civ. Proe., sec. 1022, subd. 3.) “But no costs can be allowed in an action for the recovery of money or dam
The judgment is modified by striking ont that part thereof which provides that “defendant have and recover of and from Ida F. H. Frese, plaintiff, its costs incurred herein,” and as thus modified the judgment is affirmed.
Burnett, J., and Hart, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on November 26, 1909.
Cases cited
- Grangers' Business Ass'n v. Clark 67 Cal. 634 p. 394
- Camp v. Land 122 Cal. 167 p. 394
- Bay City Building & Loan Ass'n v. Broad 136 Cal. 525 p. 394
- Bradbury v. Davenport 114 Cal. 593 at 599 p. 395
- Lowe v. Ozmun 3 Cal. App. 387 p. 395, p. 396
- Phelan v. De Martin 85 Cal. 365 p. 395
- Williams v. Hahn 113 Cal. 475 p. 396
- Farmers & Merchants Bank v. Copsey 134 Cal. 287 p. 396
- DuBrutz v. Bank of Visalia 4 Cal. App. 201 p. 396
- Anthony v. Grand 101 Cal. 235 p. 399