Majority
Plaintiffs herein are husband and wife. They brought this action against several defendants to re
Before discussing the merits of this appeal respondents’ motion to dismiss the appeal should be considered. This motion was made upon two grounds. The first ground is that appellants’ opening brief did not comply with the requirements of section 953c of the Code of Civil Procedure. An examination of the brief convinces us that there has been a substantial compliance with the provisions of that section. The second ground is that appellants failed to comply with rule I, section 4, of the Rules of the Supreme Court and District Courts of Appeal in that appellants failed to serve a copy of the opening brief upon the attorney for each “respondent” who appeared separately in the lower court. Service was made upon the attorneys for respondents Sarah Peacock and Samuel Peacock, but no service was made upon the attorneys for the defendants L. B. Archer and Joseph Alva. It is a sufficient answer to point out that this appeal is taken from the judgment in favor of respondents Sarah Peacock and Samuel Peacock and against appellants. No appeal was taken from the judgment of nonsuit in favor of the defendants Archer and Alva. These last-named defendants are not “respondents” on this appeal and the above-mentioned rule does not require service of the brief upon the attorneys for said defendants. Respondents’ motion to dismiss the appeal should therefore be denied.
Proceeding to the merits of the appeal, we find that appellants argue for a reversal upon several grounds, among which are excessive damages, insufficiency of the evidence to show that the injured woman’s alleged ailments were proximately caused by the accident and prejudicial misconduct on the part of counsel for respondents which prevented appellants from having a fair trial. In our opinion the judgment must be reversed because of the prejudicial misconduct hereinafter referred to and we therefore deem it unnecessary to discuss at length the other contentions made by appellant.
Keeping in mind the situation as above outlined and the fact that a large verdict was awarded for the alleged results of the fall, we may now consider the alleged misconduct. This consisted of repeated references to insurance by counsel for respondent and the repeated denunciation of one of appellants’ counsel as an atheist. Although no insurance company was a party to the action, counsel for respondent lost no opportunity to get a reference to insurance before the jury. On redirect examination of Dr. Fernish, respondent’s witness, counsel for respondent asked: “Q. Dr. Fernish, they have brought up the question of Dr. Ryan, how did Dr. Ryan happen to go, to request that he examine Mrs. Peacock, who was‘he representing? A. I don’t know who he was representing except the insurance company.” Again, when Dr. Kneeshaw, a witness for appellants, was being cross-examined, he was asked: “Q. Oh, at whose request did you examine her? A. At Mr. Doolin’s request. Q. Who is Mr. Doolin? A. Mr. Doolin is some adjuster, I think.” Thereafter on the same cross-examination counsel for respondent put several questions to the doctor regarding his work in testifying for the defense in personal injury cases and finally elicited the following statement from the witness: “And the attorneys will tell you that, I would say about thirty per cent of the cases, not over thirty, about ten per cent of the cases that I examine for insurance companies ever reach court.”
Following the testimony counsel for respondent made numerous reference to insurance in his argument. He said: “But, wait, if Mr. Richardson's logic is correct, which I reiterate it, it is not correct, but if his logic here, he urged that logic on you, carry it one step further, am I entitled to follow that logic and say that then if that is true then Dr. Ryan and Dr. Kneeshaw who were sent to examine this woman by the insurance company and were paid by them, they also did violence to their integrity, no, but I am showing you how far that kind of logic goes, I am satisfied that neither Dr. Ryan nor Kneeshaw did any such thing.” Again he said: “There has been another very great effort
“By Mr. Jones. Just one moment, if your Honor please, I am going to assign the repeated reference of counsel to insurance company as misconduct. Dr. Ryan testified he was hired by the firm of Golding- & Hale, and it was out of the mouth of Dr. Fernish, who stated he was there by Insurance Company’s request.
“By Mr. Aram. Dr. Kneeshaw testified he was paid by the Insurance Company.
“By Mr. Jones. Dr. Kneeshaw said he repeatedly testified in insurance eases. Counsel keeps repeatedly referring to an insurance company, it is understood of course we know the import of that. I assign it as misconduct, ask the Court to instruct the jury to pay no heed thereto.
“By Mr. Aram. We are willing to take the consequences in this ease. I say to the jury I am not making any statement in this case with any idea of not going through with the statement, but merely raising an impression. I want to tell you it is your sworn duty, so far as I am concerned, to do what you honestly believe is just and right, and does not make any difference whether insurance company or John D. Rockefeller himself, I expect of course you are conscientious. That is silly. ...”
The assignment of misconduct and request that the jury be admonished was not acted upon by the court and counsel continued his argument. The denunciation of Mr. Richardson, one of appellant’s counsel, was as follows: “It is possible and it always happens to have an honest different point of view, but I understand Mr. Richardson’s attitude, and I will pay my compliments to him this way. In all my experience in life I am yet to find one single person who openly and avowedly does not believe in God and that man didn’t have a frozen, poisoned, shriveled lump where his heart ought to be. To feel that there can be honest difference of opinion without violence to integrity requires that tolerant and understanding attitude which bespeaks of the brotherhood of man, but there can be no brotherhood of man unless one first recognizes the common fatherhood of God. It is said in the Book which Mr. Richardson publicly and avowedly says he does not believe in and it is for simpletons to read, ‘Keep thy heart with diligence for out of it are the issues of life.’ That explains Mr. Richardson and his attitude.” Later counsel again stated: “Mr. Richardson is not sincere in that statement, but as I said I am tolerant, I do not expect to find as I said inside of a man who avowedly denies God anything but a frozen poisoned, shriveled up lump where his heart ought to be.”
It requires no citation of authority to demonstrate the impropriety of counsel’s argument. We need not pass upon the question of whether the questions propounded and answers given were proper to show the possible interests of
Summing up the situation, we find that the misconduct in the present case consisted of numerous improper remarks in the argument whereby the flames of prejudice were fanned to such a point that no admonition on the part of the court could extinguish the fire. Under the circumstances we believe that it is immaterial that counsel for appellants did not object at every turn, more particularly for the reason that their objections and requests were not acted upon when made. It has been held that the admission of testimony relating to an insurance company may constitute prejudicial error (Citti v. Bava, 204 Cal. 136
For the foregoing reasons respondent’s motion to dismiss the appeal is denied and the judgment is reversed.
Nourse, P. J., and Sturtevant, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Citti v. Bava 204 Cal. 136 p. 252
- Squires v. Riffe 211 Cal. 370 p. 253
- Keena v. United Railroads of San Francisco 197 Cal. 148 p. 253