Majority
This is a proceeding to review a decision of the Industrial Accident Commission denying petitioner’s application for compensation upon the ground that the disability from which he was suffering was not caused by an industrial injury.
The evidence taken before the Commission shows without contradiction that petitioner, a man past sixty years of age, while working for a contracting firm as laborer, was struck in the pit of the stomach by the end of a large timber which petitioner and nine other workmen were attempting to carry. He was instantly disabled by the blow, and admittedly since then, besides suffering intense pain in the regions of the stomach, he has been unable to retain any food, and consequently totally incapacitated from performing any kind of work. The evidence further shows, however, that within a few hours after the accident occurred he was placed under the care of the insurance carrier’s doctor, who later sent him to a specialist for a complete clinical review, and that about a month after the accident happened they sent written reports to the insurance company to the effect that petitioner’s disability was due entirely to a pyloric stenosis, which is described as being a narrowing or contracting of the distal or duodenal aperture of the stomach, resulting from a pre-existing ulcerous condition; and they further stated that in their opinions such condition was neither exacerbated or aggravated by any blow which he may have received in the stomach; whereupon the insurance company denied all liability in the matter. Neither of said doctors testified at any of the hearings which took place before the Commission, but the two written reports made by them to the insurance company were introduced in evidence by said company, and it is now contended on behalf of the Commission that the opinions of said doctors, as expressed in said reports, are legally sufficient to raise a conflict upon the determinative issue in the case, and therefore sufficient to support its decision denying petitioner any compensation.
In construing and giving effect to the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation Act it has been uniformly held by the Commission and the reviewing courts that an employer takes the employee subject to his condition when
In the present case, in addition to the letter reports above mentioned, there is ample evidence to support the conclusion that at the time of the accident petitioner was afflicted with an ulcerous condition of the stomach, which sooner or later, in the absence of medical treatment, would have brought about his disability; but it also shows without any contradiction whatever that he was unaware of such condition and that up to the very time he received the blow in the stomach he was earning his living by performing the hardest kind of manual labor; and admittedly since then he has been in an exceedingly distressful condition. He is unable to retain any food, except certain liquids; after attempting to eat he is seized with spells of dizziness and headaches, and' vomits for a half hour or more at a time; and during these spells he suffers intense pains and is unable to straighten up. In view of these positive, uncontroverted facts showing beyond question that petitioner’s acute condition was brought about directly by the blow he received in the stomach, it cannot be successfully maintained that the opinions advanced by the insur
An analogous situation arose in the case of Singer v. Industrial Acc. Com., 105 Cal. App. 374 [ 287 Pac. 567 ]. There a woodsman claimed to have sustained a hernia during the course of his employment; but the employer’s doctor to whom he reported for treatment about a week afterward took the view that the ailment was not of recent origin and refused to administer the necessary medical and surgical treatment unless the employee paid him a fee therefor. In determining the employee’s application for an adjustment of his claim for compensation the Commission held in confirmation of the testimony given by the doctor that the ailment was neither caused nor exacerbated by an injury sustained in the course of his employment; and consequently the application was denied. The decision was reviewed on certiorari and set aside, the court holding in effect that for the reasons there stated, as against the positive, uncontradicted testimony given by the employee, the opinion expressed by the doctor did not raise a substantial conflict. A petition for hearing before the Supreme Court was subsequently denied. Later a similar ruling was applied in the ease of Winthrop v. Industrial Acc. Com., 213 Cal. 351 [ 2 Pac. (2d) 142 , 143]. In that case a young woman employed as a clerk in a store fell from a stool while waiting on a customer. Several days later she was seized with acute pains in the abdominal regions and shortly afterward was taken to the hospital where an operation was performed, and it was ascertained' that she was suffering from a complication having its origin in an ovarian tumor, with which she had been afflicted for some time prior to the accident. In the proceeding she instituted before the Commission for an adjustment of her claim the determinative question presented was whether or not the fall from the stool brought about the acute condition. Medical opinions were introduced on both sides, and at the end of the hearing the Commission denied her application. On certiorari it was contended in support of the Commission’s adverse decision, as here, that the opinions advanced by certain doctors to the effect that the fall did not exacerbate the pre-existing con
In the present ease the report of the specialist employed by the insurance company shows that it was based upon a single examination made more than a month after the injury happened, during most of which time petitioner had been under treatment of the insurance company’s doctor in a hospital. Naturally, therefore, as in the Winthrop case, because of lapse of time evidences of the effects of the industrial injury had disappeared. And an analysis of the report of the doctor regularly employed by the insurance company shows that his opinion that petitioner’s preexisting ailment was not exacerbated by an industrial injury was based entirely upon his theory that no such injury ever occurred; that petitioner had been ill from the effects of said pre-existing condition and had performed no manual labor whatever for some time prior to the asserted injury; whereas the uncontroverted testimony taken later before the Commission shows that these were entirely false assumptions. As said in the case of North Elk Oil Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 81 Cal. App. 582 [ 254 Pac. 582 ], the conclusion of an expert based upon an improper hypothetical case is
It is of course conceded that reviewing courts may not invade the field of the fact-finding body, and that under well-settled rules where a conflict of evidence exists the findings of the triers of the facts are conclusive; but it is equally well settled that the application of the foregoing doctrine is limited to cases where the conflict is substantial and real, and not fanciful or fictitious (Burns v. Faget Engineering Co., 53 Cal. App. 762 [ 200 Pac. 818 ]), nor a mere pretense (Houghton v. Loma Prieta Lumber Co., 152 Cal. 574 [ 93 Pac. 377 ]); and in this regard it has been held that mere conclusions will not serve to meet the definition of substantial or any evidence as against positive, direct evidence of a fact. (Barton v. McDermott, 108 Cal. App. 372 [ 291 Pac. 591 ].)
Additional medical reports made directly to the Commission by other doctors were received in evidence also before the Commission, and while it appears therefrom that petitioner doubtless had been afflicted with a pre-existing ulcerous stomach condition for some time prior to the date
Counsel for the Commission call attention to that part of the record showing that the insurance company introduced in evidence the records of two previous compensation proceedings instituted by petitioner from which it appears that petitioner was injured twice before during the course of his employment with other construction firms, and received compensation therefor. Just what bearing these other proceedings have on the present case is not made clear, for nowhere is it claimed that petitioner was not
For the reasons above stated we are unable to sustain the Commission’s decision denying petitioner all compensation. Therefore the same is annulled, and petitioner’s application is remanded for further proceedings in accordance with the views herein expressed. (Knock v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra.)
Tyler, P. J., and Cashin, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on February 20, 1932, and an application by respondents to have the cause heard in the Supreme Court, after judgment in the District Court of Appeal, was denied by the Supreme Court on March 21, 1932.
Curtis, J., dissented.
Cases cited
- Eastman Co. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 186 Cal. 587 p. 70
- Knock v. Industrial Accident Commission 200 Cal. 456 p. 70
- Singer v. Industrial Accident Commission 105 Cal. App. 374 p. 71
- Winthrop v. Industrial Accident Commission 213 Cal. 351 p. 71
- North Elk Oil Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 81 Cal. App. 582 p. 72
- Burns v. Faget Engineering Co. 53 Cal. App. 762 p. 73
- Houghton v. Loma Prieta Lumber Co. 152 Cal. 574 p. 73
- Barton v. McDermott 108 Cal. App. 372 p. 73