Majority
The action is one to recover proceeds of life insurance policies in the sum of $5,000.
The second amended complaint sets forth two causes of action. In the first it is alleged that the plaintiff was the father of Marion Thomas Lo Prestí, who died on May 22, 1930, leaving a widow, the defendant Margaret M. Lo Prestí; that the defendant, Catherine C. Manning, is the mother of said Margaret M. Lo Prestí; that on the twenty-sixth day of May, 1930, said defendants received the sum of $5,000 from the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States, for the use and benefit of plaintiff, who has made demand for the payment of the same to himself, such demand being refused.
The second cause of action repeats the allegations of the first and then alleges in substance that the deceased entered
The respondents demurred to the amended complaint upon the ground that neither of the causes of action set forth therein stated a cause of action, and that the allegations of the complaint were uncertain. The court sustained the demurrer with leave to amend. Plaintiff and appellant declined to avail himself of the opportunity to amend, and
While a life insurance policy may be made the subject of a gift, and the beneficiary to whom the gift has been made may acquire a vested interest therein, such transaction must meet all the requirements of the law in regard to the making of a gift. A verbal gift is not valid unless the means 'of obtaining possession or control of the thing are given, nor, if it is capable of delivery, unless there is an actual-or symbolical delivery of the thing to the donee. (Civ. Code, see. 1147.) As heretofore indicated, the complaint alleges that the certificates were always with and under the control of the employer of the decedent, and were effective only so long as the decedent remained in such employ; at another place, the complaint alleges that the certificates were at all times prior to the change of beneficiary in the custody and control of the defendant Margaret M. Lo Prestí, who presented them to the Assurance Society, presumably for the purpose of having the name of the beneficiary changed.
One seeking to establish the validity of a gift by parol must allege facts, which, if proved, would tend to establish all of the elements of a completed gift, as defined in our codes. It is the policy of the law to receive with caution the claim to a gift asserted for the first time after the death of the alleged donor. It is therefore incumbent upon the donee to establish a completed gift by clear and convincing evidence, whether it be a gift inter vivos or causa mortis. There can be no gift without an intention to give, and a delivery, either actual or constructive, of the thing given. “There must be both a purpose to give and the execution of this purpose. The purpose must be expressed, either orally or in writing, and it must be executed by the actual delivery to the donee of the thing given, or of the means of getting possession and enjoyment thereof. It is the fact of delivery that converts the unexecuted and revocable purpose into an executed and complete gift.” (Mutual Benefit Life Ins. Co. v. Clark, 81 Cal. App. 546 , 551 [ 254 Pac. 306 , 308].)
The allegations of the complaint do not meet the foregoing requirements. Not only was there not a delivery of the property, actual or symbolical, but the certificates
In Mutual Benefit Life Ins. Co. v. Clark, stipra, the court said: “Where the policy of insurance names a third person as beneficiary, the policy is then a contract made for the benefit of a third person and the third person is called the ‘beneficiary’. The beneficiary is not a party to the contract and is not the owner thereof, and where a policy of insurance reserves to the insured the right to change the beneficiary, the interest of a designated beneficiary, prior to the death of the insured, is that of a mere expectancy of an incompleted gift, subject to revocation at the will of the insured. (Waring v. Wilcox, [ 8 Cal. App. 317 , 96 Pac. 910 ], supra; Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge, etc., 113 Cal. 91 [ 33 L. R. A. 174 , 45 Pac. 185 ]; New York Life Ins. Co. v. Daley, 25 Cal. App. 376 [ 143 Pac. 1033 ]; Supreme Council etc. v. Gehrenbeck, 124 Cal. 43 [ 56 Pac. 640 ]; New York Life Ins. Co. v. Dunn, 46 Cal. App. 203 [ 188 Pac. 1028 ]; McEwen v. New York Life Ins. Co., 23 Cal. App. 694 [ 139 Pac. 242 ] ; New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, 60 Cal. App. 602 [ 214 Pac. 61 ]; Hopkins v. Northwestern Life Assitr. Co., 99 Fed. 199 [ 40 C. C. A. 1 ].)”
In the absence of a showing to the contrary, we must, under the rule that every presumption is in favor of the regularity of the judgment, assume that the insured reserved the right of revocation and change as to the beneficiary named. “Where a policy of life insurance reserves to the insured the right to change the beneficiary, upon written request therefor, the interest of a designated beneficiary prior to the death of the insured is that of a mere expectancy of an incompleted gift, subject to revocation at the will of the insured.” (McEwen v. New York Life Ins. Co., 23 Cal. App. 694 , 699 [ 139 Pac. 242 , 244] ; New York Life Ins. Co. v. Daley, 25 Cal. App. 376 [ 143 Pac. 1033 ]; Blethen v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 198 Cal. 91 [ 243 Pac. 431 ].)
Probably the most frequently cited ease upon this subject in this state is that of Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge, K. of H., etc., supra, in which the court said: “The beneficiary’s interest is the mere expectancy of an incompleted gift which
See, also, Shoudy v. Shoudy, 55 Cal. App. 447 [ 203 Pac. 437 ], in which the policy of insurance was actually delivered to the beneficiary. The policy provided that the assured had the right to change the beneficiary by indorsement. The court held that the testimony fell far short of establishing in the plaintiff such a vested interest as would prevent the exercise by the assured of the right reserved to him in the policy of insurance to change the beneficiary.
We are of the opinion that the foregoing authorities support the judgment of the lower court and that it should be affirmed. It is so ordered.
Knight, Acting P. J., and Cashin, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Mutual Benefit Life Insurance v. Clark 81 Cal. App. 546 at 551 p. 445
- Waring v. Wilcox 8 Cal. App. 317 p. 446
- Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge Knights of Honor 113 Cal. 91 p. 446
- Stites v. Gater 45 Pac. 185 p. 446
- New York Life Insurance v. Daley 25 Cal. App. 376 p. 446
- Supreme Council v. Gehrenbeck 124 Cal. 43 p. 446
- New York Life Insurance Co. v. Dunn 46 Cal. App. 203 p. 446
- McEwen v. New York Life Insurance 23 Cal. App. 694 at 699 p. 446
- New York Life Insurance v. Bank of Italy 60 Cal. App. 602 p. 446
- Blethen v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance 198 Cal. 91 p. 446
- Shoudy v. Shoudy 55 Cal. App. 447 p. 447