Majority
This is an appeal by defendant from the judgment below entered on the jury’s verdict, in favor of plaintiff, for $10,000, assessed as damages for personal injuries. At the outset appellant admits that there is evidence which the jury had a right to believe which supports the implied finding that defendant was negligent. It therefore becomes unnecessary to discuss any conflict in the evidence or to do more than sketch the, facts, save as certain parts of the record become essential to illustrate the points presented.
The first claim of appellant is that the plaintiff was as a matter of law guilty of contributory negligence to an extent and with such relation to the accident as will bar
Appellant contends that the law required of the plaintiff an ever alert vigilance throughout the entire crossing and
In Smith v. Southern Pac. Co., 201 Cal. 57 , 68 [ 255 Pac. 500 , 505], it is said: “ ‘Bach [referring to pedestrians and operators of vehicles] may rightfully expect that the other will, at the proper time, discharge his proper duty towards others. He cannot rely wholly on the care of others, nor, on that account, neglect to use the precautions which the particular situation demands of him. But he frequently must, to some extent, depend on others in such situations, and his conduct must be considered in view of that fact in determining whether or not it is negligent. His care, or want of care, in such cases is generally a matter to be determined by the jury from all the circumstances surrounding him at the time. ’ ” The court quotes liberally
In the case of Flach v. Fikes, 204 Cal. 329 , 332 [ 267 Pac. 1079 , 1080], we find the following: “He [the pedestrian] has a right to expect that those operating automobiles upon a public street will operate them in the manner and at the speed customary at the particular place. Whether such a person is guilty of contributory negligence in attempting to cross a street in front of an approaching automobile would depend upon all the circumstances under which he acted. This question is one for the determination of the jury or the trial court and their finding thereon is binding upon an appellate court. ’ ’ After citing many authorities in support of the foregoing the court continues: “While the above authorities all deal with the rights and duties of a pedestrian in crossing a city street in front of an approaching street-car, we think the same rule should govern in the case of persons crossing in front of a moving automobile.” In the same ease the court reviews the factual situation with reference to the pedestrians observing the approaching automobile and concludes that if the former had looked he must have seen the approaching automobile. The court then says: “He may well have reasoned that defendant was traveling at a lawful rate of speed and therefore he could cross the street before defendant’s automobile would reach the point in the street over which deceased [plaintiff] would be required to pass in crossing the same. Had defendant been traveling at a lawful rate of speed decedent [plaintiff] might have crossed the street in safety. Under the circumstances whether he acted negligently or not was for the trial court, and its findings as to his negligence will not be disturbed on appeal.”
And finally the rule is enlarged upon and again exhaustively discussed in the case of Leblanc v. Coverdale, 213 Cal. 654 [ 3 Pac. (2d) 312 ], We will not quote from the last-cited case, but a reading thereof will leave no doubt as to the question of plaintiff’s contributory negligence being one for the jury.
In the briefs on file the parties have not discussed this question at any great length. The contentions of the respective parties go more to the question of the plaintiff’s age, appellant arguing that a minor of the age of eleven
From what we have said it becomes unnecessary to determine this question, inasmuch as a concession to appellant’s contention would bring us only to the point hereinbefore determined. We conclude, therefore, that the question of plaintiff’s negligence has been determined by the jury upon substantial testimony and we will not disturb the finding.
The next two grounds urged by appellant, while separately stated, will be considered as perforce they must, as one. These contentions are as follows: 1. The court erred in refusing to order a mistrial because of the injection of the element of insurance into the record. 2. The judgment should be reversed because defendant’s right to a fair trial was prejudiced by the evidence and discussion of insurance.
Upon the voir dire of the jurors questions were asked concerning the interest, if any, the prospective juror might have in a certain insurance company. No impropriety is urged at this point. At the trial a certain witness was called by the plaintiff which witness was not an eye-witness to the accident and knew nothing concerning the facts of the occurrence. This witness was called to testify regarding a conversation had between the witness and the defendant. He was asked to state the conversation and what was said by the defendant. The reply was as follows: “He said he was very sorry he had hit the boy, he didn’t see him until he hit him, and that his insurance company would take care of him.” At this point discussion began. Counsel for appellant moved. that the answer be stricken out on the ground that it was incompetent, irrelevant and immaterial; he then assigned the asking of the question as prejudicial error that could not be cured, and moved for a judgment of mistrial. Counsel for respondent contended the statement to be but an admission of liability and contended for its admission. Counsel for respondent disclaimed intent of bringing out the question of insurance. The court thereupon struck out all of the answer pertaining to insurance, and directed the jury to disregard it. Appellant then renewed his motion for a mistrial which the court again denied. There was then some further colloquy be
While a reference to the fact that defendant is insured against liability may be highly prejudicial, and the courts do not hesitate to reverse verdicts of juries where such evidence is improperly admitted, it is a well-settled exception to the general rule that where the reference to insurance is incidental to an admission of liability by defendant and a part of the same statement it is admissible, not to prove the fact of insurance, but solely because it is a part of the admission. (Handley v. Lombardi, 122 Cal. App. 22 [ 9 Pac. (2d) 867 ], and cases therein cited.)
In King v. Wilson, 116 Cal. App. 191 [ 2 Pac. (2d) 833 , 834], the objectionable statement was as follows: “ ... he said he was sorry it all happened but he had insurance to pay for everything.” The court refused to reverse the judgment and said: “The remaining question for decision is, did the answer tend to disclose acknowledgment of responsibility and, would its admission be such as to create a prejudicial error that would warrant a reversal of the
Coming to the instant case, there seems but a play of words in attempting to differentiate between the language here used and the language of the cited case. To say “I have insurance to pay for everything” or to say “my insurance company will take care of you” are phrases of identical meaning.
The statement assailed here as prejudicial fits with the statement before the court in Harju v. Market Street Ry. Co., 114 Cal. App. 138 [ 299 Pac. 788 , 789]. In that ease the insured had stated that the accident was his own fault and that he was fully insured. The court again announced the rule of law as follows: “ ... where a defendant makes a statement which may be fairly construed as an admission or acknowledgment of responsibility and as part of such statement makes reference to the fact that he carries insurance, the entire statement may be admissible.” Applying this to the case at bar we find the entire claim of plaintiff to have been that defendant was driving at an excessive speed and without lights, after dark. The statement of defendant that he did not see the boy until he hit him could reasonably be construed as an admission that defendant was guilty of either or both of the negligent acts. Defendant expressed sorrow. While our language is elastic enough to preclude an implied admission of guilt by an expression of sorrow, yet, on the other hand, its elasticity does permit such a construction. We conclude that the showing made is not sufficient to warrant the setting aside of the judgment or its reversal.
We have noted the record hereinbefore. Appellant in the court below seemed quite anxious to thereafter open up the entire question of insurance and if the jury got the impression that defendant had insurance this idea was certainly most strongly impressed upon its mind by appellant. He cannot now claim, on appeal, that the reaction was dis
This question of a reference to the fact of a defendant carrying insurance has been before the courts on many occasions; sufficient, it would be surmised, to have established a definite rule. ■ Tet no hard-and-fast rule has been announced. A fair conclusion, from a résumé of the cases, would' be to class such a reference under the head of misconduct of counsel. It might be conceded that where it is obvious or fairly deducible that the sole purpose was to impress that fact of insurance on the minds of the jury, for no other reason than to create a prejudice, then a reversal will follow. But where the reference, as indicated in the cited cases, is merely incidental, misconduct will not be found. And it would seem a fair corollary of the rule that where the point is debatable and offers an open field for legitimate argument, a reviewing court should not arbitrarily undo the results of a trial had under the supervision of the trial judge, whose opportunity of approximating the situation was in the first instance, and who had refused a new trial.
Lastly, appellant contends that the trial court was in error when it refused certain instructions offered by him. Only two instructions are involved and one of these, it is conceded, was to all intents substantially given in another form. While the concession noted is not absolute, yet no serious error is claimed and we find none. The instruction refused, out of which the serious error is alleged to have occurred, reads as follows: “I instruct you that defendant was under no duty to drive his automobile so as to protect persons who might suddenly run out into the street and into the path of his automobile unless and until he had warning that such person might suddenly run out into the street.”
Judgment affirmed.
Cashin, J., and Knight, Acting P. J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on February 24, 1933.
Cases cited
- Smith v. Southern Pacific Co. 201 Cal. 57 at 68 p. 180
- Scott v. San Bernardino Valley Traction Co. 152 Cal. 604 p. 181
- Flach v. Fikes 204 Cal. 329 at 332 p. 181
- Leblanc v. Coverdale 213 Cal. 654 p. 181
- Handley v. Lombardi 122 Cal. App. 22 p. 183
- King v. Wilson 116 Cal. App. 191 p. 183
- Harju v. Market Street Railway Co. 114 Cal. App. 138 p. 184