Majority
The plaintiffs recovered judgment in a suit upon an insurance policy for the total destruction of a warehouse by fire. The appellant contends the . claim for insurance was forfeited by failure to present sworn proof of the loss until several days after the time allowed therefor by the terms of the contract. The trial court held this clause of the policy was waived by the conduct of the insurer.
The plaintiff Hayes owned a warehouse at Oroville of the approximate value of $8,000. The Bank of Oroville held a mortgage on this and other property belonging to Hayes to secure an indebtedness of $9,000. Through a local agent, the Minnesota Fire Insurance Company, a corporation, with its western place of business at Seattle, this warehouse was insured February, 1930, for a three-year term, for the sum of $3,000. A mortgage clause was attached to the policy providing that “Loss, if any, on building only, subject however to all the terms and conditions of this policy, payable to Bank of Oroville, Oroville, California”. On June 23, 1931, the warehouse was totally destroyed by fire. At
Having heard nothing further from Smith, after his departure from Oroville, Mr. Putnam wrote him on July 16th, as follows:
“When you were here something over ten days ago to adjust the loss on property of V. B. Hayes, you promised to send me the amount of your adjustment within a week, but up to the present time I have not received same.
“Please advise me what you have decided to do with reference to this loss and oblige,
“Yours very truly.”
To this inquiry the adjuster replied on July 18th with an offer of compromise, in which he said he hoped to go to Oroville and take the matter up with Putnam personally. He, however, stated in this letter that, while it would no doubt cost more than the amount of the insurance to restore the building and that it was old and deteriorated, still he would recommend the payment of $2,000 “if Mr. Playes cares to settle for that amount”.
On July 21st, Mr. Putnam wrote to Smith rejecting the proffer of $2,000, and saying positively they would accept no sum short of the entire amount of the insurance.
Under date of July 23d, Smith wrote to Mr. Putnam as follows:
“In view of the attitude you and Mr. Hayes take in this matter, I think it would be advisable for you to prepare and file proof of loss with the company in accordance with the conditions of the policy.”
This matter was not sent to the Bank of Oroville, which held the mortgage interest in the destroyed property. It was addressed to Mr. Putnam, “President First National Bank of Oroville”. It appears Mr. Putnam was the president of both the Bank of Oroville and the First National Bank. He testified this letter reached the First National Bank in his absence, and that he never heard of it until three or four days before the trial commenced in March, 1932, at which time the defendant called upon plaintiffs to produce the letter. He said that in searching their files it was then discovered in the First National Bank records. No such notice was sent to Mr. Hayes.
Mr. Hayes returned to Oroville about July 21st, and was fully informed by Mr. Putnam concerning the conference with Smith, his promise to prepare the proof of loss and the expectation of a settlement of the claim without further trouble. Hayes returned to his work on the highway without knowledge of the subsequent letter of Smith to Putnam
This letter indicates that Putnam had not heard of the agent’s letter advising them to file the proof of loss. It also suggests that he still hoped for a settlement of the claim, although he cautiously recommended Hayes not to let the time elapse for filing the proof of loss. At least the information contained in this letter from Smith never reached Hayes until the sixty days had passed. When he received Putnam’s letters he promptly prepared and forwarded the sworn proof of loss, which reached the company about six days after the limitation of time specified in the policy. The insurance company immediately notified Hayes that it repudiated the obligation created by the policy on the ground that he had failed to file his proof as required by the contract. The good faith of the adjusting agent, as indicated by his conduct in the transaction, may reasonably be questioned.
We are of the opinion the conduct of the adjusting agent of the insurance company amounted to a waiver of the provision of the policy requiring the insured to file a
It is true that the Bank of Oroville, as mortgagee of the insured property, might lose its right to recover on the policy under the mortgagee’s clause which was attached thereto, in the event of a breach of the contract by the insured even without the mortgagee’s knowledge thereof. (See. 2541, Civ. Code; Welch v. British American Assur. Co., 148 Cal. 224 [ 82 Pac. 964 , 113 Am. St. Rep. 223 , 7 Ann. Cas. 396].) Section 2541, supra, provides: “Unless the policy otherwise provides, where a mortgagor of property effects insurance in his own name providing that the loss shall be payable to the mortgagee, or assigns a policy of insurance to a mortgagee, the insurance is deemed to be
Even though the policy did contain the mortgage clause to the effect that “loss, if any, subject to all the terms and conditions of this policy, is payable to Bank of Oroville”, this did not require the mortgagee to also file a separate proof of loss in addition to the one which the contract required the insured to file. The filing of such proof by the insured, under the circumstances of this ease, is a sufficient compliance with the contract. In 7 Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance, second edition, page 5746, it is said in that regard: “The general rule seems to be that, unless the mortgagee clause attached to the policy makes it obligatory on the mortgagee to furnish proofs of loss and an appraisement, it is not a condition precedent to his right of action that he furnish the same.”
Under the policy in this ease, which provides that “Within sixty days after the commencement of the fire the insured shall render to the company . . . preliminary proof of loss consisting of a written statement signed and sworn to by him ... ”, it became necessary for the insured Hayes to file with the company his sworn proof of loss within sixty days after June 23d, upon which date the fire occurred, unless that requirement was waived by the acts or conduct of the defendant or its authorized agent. (McCormack v. North British Ins. Co., 78 Cal. 468 [ 21 Pac. 14 ] ; White v. Home Mutual Ins. Co., 128 Cal. 131 [ 60 Pac. 666 ] ; Gillon v. Northern Assur. Co., 127 Cal. 480 [ 59 Pac. 901 ]; Estrada v. Queen Ins. Co., 107 Cal. App. 504 [ 290 Pac. 525 ].) The authorities are, however, uniform to the effect that the provision of an insurance policy, which requires the filing of proof of loss, may be waived by the insurer or its duly authorized agent. (See. 2636, Civ. Code; 26 C. J. 393, sec. 507; 33 C. J. 23, sec. 680; 7 Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance, 2d ed., p. 5955, sec. 12; Francis v. Iowa Nat.
In the present case we are satisfied the delay in filing the proof of loss until six days after the expiration of the sixty-day period within which the policy requires that document to be filed was waived by the conduct of the agent of the insurance company.
The law abhors forfeitures of contracts. The question of a waiver of this provision of an insurance policy depends upon the circumstances of each particular case. Where a cause of action upon an insurance policy for recovery of loss sustained on account of fire is otherwise valid, the question of a mere delay in filing the required proof of loss, or the waiver thereof, will be determined in favor of the insured when this may be reasonably done without violence to the facts of the case. In 5 Joyce on Insurance, second edition, page 5564, it is said, concerning the question of waiver: ' ‘ The question concerning whether or not there has been a waiver of this provision must in all cases depend upon the circumstances of each particular case. The courts will construe this provision, as a rule, against the insurer, and will not scan very closely evidence introduced by the insured tending to rebut a technical forfeiture. ’ ’
On page 5607 of the last cited authority the author says: “If the insurer by its acts and conduct leads the claimant to believe that the company is preparing to adjust the loss, the insurer will be estopped from claiming the proofs were not furnished as provided in the policy.”
In view of the foregoing we are of the opinion the findings and judgment are adequately supported by the evidence.
The judgment is affirmed.
Pullen, P. J., and Plummer, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Francis v. Iowa National Fire Insurance 112 Cal. App. 565 p. 515, p. 517
- McCormack v. North British Insurance 78 Cal. 468 p. 516
- White v. Home Mutual Insurance Co. 128 Cal. 131 p. 516
- Gillon v. Northern Assurance Co. 127 Cal. 480 p. 516
- Estrada v. Queen Insurance Co. 107 Cal. App. 504 p. 516
- Savage v. Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society, Limited 125 Cal. App. 330 p. 517