Majority
A jury awarded to the plaintiff judgment in the sum of $6,000 against all the defendants. They appeal from that judgment and from an order of the trial court by which they were denied a new trial.
The plaintiff, as she was crossing Central Avenue at or near the northerly line of Jefferson Street, in the city of Los Angeles, between 7 and 8 P. M. of November 22, 1928, was struck, thrown to the ground and injured by a taxicab. This vehicle was traveling south on Central Avenue, and bore the license number 243516. It will be noted that the defendants comprise six individuals, namely, Gerson, Livingston, Calder, DeVoy, Van Elm and S. G. Stephens; the California Highway Indemnity Exchange, a corporation; and S. G. Stephens sued also as doing business under the firm name and style of Crown Cab Co. For convenience the California Highway Indemnity Exchange will be hereinafter referred to as the Exchange. The same attorneys who have at all times represented the Exchange have at all
Attached to policy No. 5513 is an indorsement dated December 8, 1927, containing the following language. “This policy is a continuing liability notwithstanding any action or recovery thereon”, etc. We believe on the facts recited the jury was justified in finding that cab 135 of the Crown Cab Co. was covered by this policy of insurance on the date of plaintiff’s injury, November 22, 1928. A special agreement attached to the policy limited the Exchange’s liability to $5,000 for injury to or death of any one person, and $10,000 in case more than one person were killed or injured; also provided that “in addition to said limited sums the Exchange will pay the expense of litiga
The only evidence offered by the defendant at the time of the trial was that of a physician who, at the request of counsel for the defendants, had examined the plaintiff a few weeks after the accident. A physician appointed by the court also testified. All the witnesses who testified as to the occurrences of November 22, 1928, were produced by the plaintiff. Among these was one named Nobles, who testified that immediately after the taxicab struck the plaintiff he jumped on the running-board of the cab and asked the driver why he did not stop to try to give assistance, saying, “What do you mean to do? You had better go back and see how much damage you have done; what you have done to that woman.” To the admission of this testimony defendant objected and now assigns the adverse ruling of the court upon that objection as error, on the ground that a proper foundation was not laid for the introduction in evidence of a conversation between this witness and the driver of the cab. It is also contended that the trial court erred in denying motion for a nonsuit and in giving two instructions which appellant claims were not justified by the evidence, and as to one that it did not correctly state the law. The court’s refusal to give a certain instruction requested by the defendant is also assigned as error.
As to the first contention, objection to the portion of Nobles’ testimony above referred to, counsel for respondent comments in his brief upon the fact that the conversation was all on the side of Nobles, for his remarks were the only ones reported to the jury. If the driver replied to Nobles, no one knows from the record in this case what he said. Perhaps he made no reply. At any rate there is no evidence that he said anything whatever to fix the blame for this accident on himself or any of the defendants. This, then, was evidence as to an immaterial matter, having nothing to do with the circumstances or cause of the accident, and therefore its admission does not warrant a reversal of the judgment.
“Answering paragraph IV of said complaint, these answering defendants admit that the Crown Cab Company is a fictitious name, deny that said company is composed of the defendants named in plaintiff’s complaint, or that said parties are copartners doing business under said fictitious name.’’
It will be seen that there is here no denial that the Crown Cab Co., or the individuals named as defendants, owned the cab in question or that at the time of plaintiff’s injury it was being operated by the agent of that company or said individuals.
For more than fifty years section 437 of the Code of Civil Procedure has provided “that the answer of a defendant shall contain a general or specific denial of the material allegations of the complaint controverted by the defendant’’. (Code amendments 1873-74, p. 300.) When this section was amended in 1927 (Stats. 1927, p. 529), although a new method of entering a denial was provided, there was no change in the language above quoted and it remains the rule that a denial must be made. If not made the allegations will be taken as true under section 462 of the Code of Civil Procedure. An evasive answer to the allegations can avail the defendant nothing (21 Cal. Jur., p. 153), and under the pleadings here the plaintiff was under no obligation to prove ownership or agency, both being admitted inferentially by the answer. As respondent points out in his brief, S.
In passing upon defendants’ contention that two of plaintiff’s requested instructions were erroneous because they permitted the jury to find a verdict of more than $5,000 against all defendants, whereas by the terms of the insurance policy liability was limited to $5,000 in the case of injury to one person, we find the point well taken so far as the defendant, the Exchange, is concerned. However, the fault is remedied by a request made by respondent in her brief that the judgment be modified by reducing the amount from $6,000 to $5,000 as to said defendant.
One of the instructions complained of reads as follows: “You are instructed that if you find from the evidence, oral and documentary, given and on file in this ease that cab number 135 bearing license number 243516 was the automobile, that struck the plaintiff in this action and that the policy issued by the California Highway Indemnity Exchange on file in this action covered damages to any person caused by the negligent operation and control of said automobile without contributory negligence on part of the plaintiff, then it will be your duty to bring in a verdict against the defendant, California Highway Indemnity Exchange, for damages against the defendant California Highway Indemnity Exchange in such sum as you see fit in view of the evidence that would compensate plaintiff for her pain and suffering necessarily resulting therefrom. ’ ’
Standing alone, this instruction is open to serious objection. We note, however, as we read all the instructions
The remaining contention of the appellant is that the court erred in refusing to give an instruction bearing on agency and conditions under which an employer’s liability arises. Since other instructions were given covering the same points in different language we hold that this refusal does not constitute reversible error.
The judgment appealed from is affirmed as to all defendants except California Highway Indemnity Exchange, a corporation, and as to said last-named defendant is modified by reducing the amount thereof from $6,000 to $5,000.
Houser, Acting P. J., and York, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Wagnitz v. Scharetg 89 Cal. App. 511 at 517 p. 670
- Grantham v. Ordway 40 Cal. App. 758 at 760 p. 670