Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Action on Policy—Pleading—Failure op Complaint to Show That Cause op Action has Ripened.—If a complaint in an action on a fire insurance policy makes the policy a part of the complaint as an exhibit and by reference, but does not allege that the things which the policy requires to be done after the presentation of the proofs of loss, nor aver any facts with respect to the passage of the time which the policy declares must elapse before the loss becomes payable, it fails to state a cause of action, and is subject to general demurrer. 'This is an action brought to recover the sum of one thousand dollars with interest, alleged to be due
The first point made by the appellant is that the general demurrer should have been sustained. We think the point is well taken. It is a'cardinal rule of pleading that a complaint must show upon its face an existing and ripened cause of action. The complaint in this case, after setting forth the facts regarding the issuance of the policy covering the property, and its transfer by several assignments from the original parties insured to the plaintiff with the assent of the insurer, and after averring the occurrence of the fire and the destruction of the property at some unspecified time during the year 1912, proceeds to allege “that on the........day of May, 1912, plaintiff furnished the defendant with proof of his said loss and interest, and otherwise performed all the conditions of said policy on his part; that said defendant has not paid said loss or any part thereof, and that the same is long since due, owing and unpaid according to the terms of said policy of insurance.’’ Then follows the prayer.
The difficulty with the plaintiff’s pleading arises out of the fact that while he has made the policy in question a part of his complaint as an exhibit and by reference, he has not alleged the things which the policy requires to have been done subsequent to the presentation of his proof of loss, nor has he averred any facts with respect to the passage of the time which the policy requires must have elapsed before the loss became payable and his cause of action arose. The policy provides that after the insured has furnished the insurer with the proofs of his loss, the insurer must within twenty days after the receipt thereof notify the insured in writing of its
It is further contended by the appellant that the undisputed evidence in this ease shows that the action was prematurely brought. In answer to this contention the respondent insists that the appellant cannot be heard to urge this point for the first time in this court. This might be a good objection if it were borne out by the record in the case; but, as we have already seen, this point was first presented by the general demurrer; which being overruled, the defendant again presented it in the denials of his answer, and also in the notice of motion for a new trial, and in the specifications of error embraced in the bill of exceptions. How insistently the point may have been urged or how fully argued in the trial court we are not advised by the record; but we think there is enough in the record to warrant the appellant in insisting upon it here.
The question thus presented is this: The evidence showed that the insured presented to the insurer his proofs of loss on the twelfth day of May, 1912; that no objection to the amount of loss therein claimed was made by the insurer within the twenty days allowed to it by the terms of the policy, and that therefore, by its terms, the insurer must be held to have “assented to the amount of the loss” claimed by the insured in his proofs of loss. The action was commenced on June 15, 1912. The policy provides that the loss shall be payable in thirty days after the amount thereof has been ascertained either by agreement or appraisement. The problem here presented is as to which date the assent of the insurer to the amount of loss claimed by the insured is referable: whether to the date of presentation of proofs of loss, or to a date twenty days thereafter, during which intervening time the insurer might have made its "objection to the amount of loss claimed by the insured; if to the former date, then the loss was payable on and after the twelfth day of June, 1912; but if to the latter it was not payable until July 1,1912; in which
The purpose of the policy in allowing the insurer .twenty days after the presentation of' the proofs of loss within which to signify its assent or objection to the amount claimed by the insured, was doubtless that of allowing that time within which the insurer might make an investigation as to the propriety of assenting or objecting to the amount of the asserted claim of the insured; and this being so, the insurer had the whole of the twenty days within which to manifest its assent or objection thereto; and if, as the result of such investigation and at the end of its allotted time the insurer had expressly assented to the plaintiff’s asserted amount of loss, it could not be seriously disputed that, according to the terms of the policy, it would have had thirty days thereafter within which to pay the claim. Must not the same conclusion result from its implied assent? We think this logical deduction is irresistible, and hence that in the case before us the time within which the loss was to become payable began to run twenty days after the proven date of the presentation of the plaintiff’s proof of loss. It follows necessarily that the present action was prematurely brought.
There are certain other points presented upon this appeal, but the two questions already disposed of, standing as they do upon the threshhold of the case, render unnecessary any further discussion of alleged errors committed in the course of the trial.
The judgment and order denying a new trial are reversed.
Lennon, P. J., and Kerrigan, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on August 3, 1914.
Cases cited
- Gillon v. Northern Assurance Co. 127 Cal. 480 at 483 p. 698
- McCormack v. North British Insurance 78 Cal. 468 p. 698
- Cowan v. Phenix Insurance 78 Cal. 181 p. 698
- Doyle v. Phœnix Insurance 44 Cal. 264 p. 698
- Irwin v. Insurance Co. of North America 16 Cal. App. 143 p. 699