Majority
Headnote
[1] Life Insurance — Action on Policy — False Answers of Insured—Incontestable Clause—Pleading.—Although a policy of insurance may provide that “this policy shall be incontestable after one year from its date of issue, except for nonpayment of premium,” if, in an action on such policy, the beneficiary makes no objection to an amended answer pleading the falsity of certain answers given by the insured, such beneficiary may not raise that question for the first time on appeal.On a former appeal had in this case by defendant the judgment in favor of plaintiff was reversed. A second trial was had, which likewise resulted in a judgment in favor of plaintiff, from which, and an order denying its motion for a new trial, defendant has again appealed.
The action was instituted by the mother of Charles B. McEwen, deceased, to recover the amount of an insurance policy on his life, issued by defendant on July 7, 1910,
The insured, who was twentj^-eight years of age, died on November 20, 1910. Defendant’s action in resisting payment of the policy is based upon the alleged ground that the insured procured the issuance of the policy by means of fraud, concealment, and misrepresentations made by him in answer to written questions propounded to him by the defendant, the truth of which answers it believed and upon the faith thereof accepted the application and issued the policy. In the answer to the complaint it is alleged that the answers to the following questions were and are untrue:
“ (1) What is your occupation? • (Full details.) A. Proprietor of collection agency.
“(2) How long have you been engaged in your present occupation? A. Ten years.
“(3) What was your previous occupation? A. Cattle business.
“ (4a) What is your daily consumption of wine, spirits, or malt liquors? A. No daily habit—occasional beer.
“ (lb) Have you at any time used any of them to excess ? A. No.
“(6) Have you ever raised or spat blood? A. No.
“ (7) What illnesses, diseases, or accidents have you had since childhood? (The examiner should satisfy himself that the applicant gives full and careful answers to this question.) A. Typhoid pneumonia. One attack in 1891; duration two months; severe; complete recovery. ’ ’
In addition to these questions, the answers to which are alleged to be untrue, defendant, after the first trial and on April 6, 1915, filed an amendment to its answer wherein it alleged that the answers to the following questions were also untrue:
“(8) How long since you consulted or have had the care of a physician? A. 1891; Dr. Thomas, Bucyrus, Ohio.
“ (9) If so, for what ailment; name and address of physician? A. Typhoid pneumonia.”
At the close of the questions and answers McEwen stated in writing: “I declare, on behalf of myself and of any person who shall have or claim any interest in any insurance made hereunder, that I have carefully read each and all
In addition to a general verdict in favor of plaintiff the jury rendered special verdicts as to the truth of the answers given to the foregoing questions numbered 1, 4a, 4b, 6, and 7, and also the answers given to questions numbered 8 and 9, referred to as being contained in the amended complaint; each and every one of which answers are conceded by counsel for both parties and the trial court to have been material representations. In response to another question, which we will designate as 10, “What do you find the facts to be with relation to the use of wines, spirits, or malt liquors by the deceased?” they answered: “He was not an habitual drinker. We find no evidence to show that the deceased did indulge in wines, spirits, or malt liquors to excess, prior to application of insurance, therefore said deceased’s answers were full, complete, and true.”
1. In response to question 8, “How long since you consulted or have had the care of a physician?” McEwen’s answer was: “1891; Dr. Thomas, Bucyrus, Ohio”; and in response to question 9, “If so, for what ailment; name and address of physician?” the answer was: “Typhoid fever.” The verdict that the answers to these questions were true is attacked by appellant upon the ground that the evidence is insufficient to support the same. The declarations made by the appellant in response to the questions are presumed to be true, and hence the burden was upon defendant to prove the contrary. The only evidence adduced on the part of defendant tending to overcome the presumption so attaching to the answers given by McEwen was the testimony of one Hosick to the effect that McEwen, after an occasion when he was said to have been drunk, told him that he had been under a doctor’s care ever since; and the testimony of Dr. Garrett that on August 18, 1909, McEwen stated to him, while acting in the capacity of medical examiner for an accident insurance company, that he (McEwen) was under treatment from Dr. Taylor, which fact of being under Taylor’s treatment McEwen also stated in the notice of an injury sustained which he gave to the accident insurance company. It thus appears that in determining the issue all that the jury had before it was the declaration of Mc-Ewen made in his application to defendant, to which a
2. As alleged in the original complaint, plaintiff sought to recover upon the sole ground that she was named as the beneficiary in the insurance policy. [2] Nevertheless, as held on the former appeal ( 23 Cal. App. 694 , [ 139 Pac. 242 ]), she, by virtue of such fact, since the insured by the terms of the policy reserved the right to change the beneficiary, had no vested interest therein until his death, and, therefore, statements made by deceased which were inconsistent with the representations to defendant were competent evidence upon the ground that they were declarations against interest. Upon going down of the remittitv/r plaintiff filed an amendment to her complaint the effect of which, if the allegations thereof were found true, rendered the evidence incompetent. This amendment was that in July, a few days after the issuance of the policy, McEwen made a gift thereof to plaintiff, named as beneficiary therein. At the trial, for the purpose of showing the falsity
In so instructing the jury appellant, while conceding that a life insurance policy may be the subject of a parol gift, insists the court committed prejudicial error. Its contention is that, since the donee was named as beneficiary in the policy, with power of revocation reserved to the insured, together with the right to designate a new and different beneficiary, the policy could not be deemed the subject of gift to her, since she took it subject to the provision contained therein that the insured might change the beneficiary; that the purported gift vested her with no right other than what she theretofore had, which was an interest in expectancy only. We are not in sympathy with this ingenious argument. Prior to the alleged gift, the mother named as beneficiary therein had no vested interest in the policy. Her interest was merely one of expectancy and subject to the power of the insured to name another to receive the benefits thereunder. The evidence as to the making of the gift is very meager and entirely consistent with the fair inference that the policy was handed to her as the beneficiary therein named, as the then party interested, for safekeeping only, and not with the purpose or intent of vesting her with a donee’s interest or rights other than those which she had as beneficiary. Assuming, however, that the evidence was sufficient to show a gift of the policy was made to the mother, she, by virtue thereof and in addition to her expectancy, acquired an absolute vested interest therein. Notwithstanding the power of revocation reserved in the
[3] Our conclusion is that an insurance policy containing the provision under consideration may be the subject of a gift to the beneficiary named therein, whose interest in expectancy, by virtue of the gift, is changed to an absolute interest (in the donee) without qualification, and thereafter the donor, in the absence of some act again vesting him with title, has no power or control over the policy. The interest of the donee, though named as beneficiary, is not by virtue of such fact, but the qualified interest is merged in the absolute interest due to the completed gift. [4] Since there was evidence, though meager, tending to prove the allegation, it was not error on the part of the court to give the instruction of which appellant complains.
3. The only evidence tending to show the falsity of Mc-Ewen’s answer “No” to question 6, “Have you ever raised or spat blood?” is a statement made by him to Dr. Garrett to the effect that he had, following an injury from being kicked or struck in the chest by the foot of a mule, spat blood. [5] The representation made to the Insurance Company must, in the absence of sufficient proof to overcome the presumption, be deemed to be true, and we cannot say that it is overcome by an inconsistent statement therewith made by McEwen. As to the special verdict rendered in response to this question, no ground appears for complaint, since the jury in weighing the inconsistent declarations decided in favor of the one presumed to be true as against one as to which no such presumption existed.
4. In response to question 4a, “What is your daily consumption of wine, spirits, or malt liquors?” the answer was: “No daily habit—occasional beer”; and the reply to question 4b, “Have you at any time used any of them to excess?” was “No.” The verdict that the answers to these questions were true is attacked by appellant upon the ground that it is contrary to the evidence, in support of which contention counsel quote extensively from the record.
[6] The reply to question 4b is that he never at any time had used such liquors to excess. No court, so far as we are advised, has undertaken to define what constitutes the excessive use of alcoholic spirits. The cases of Malicki v. Chicago Guaranty Fund Life Society, 119 Mich. 151 , [ 77 N. W. 690 ], and Brignac v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 112 La. 574 , [ 66 L. R. A. 331 , 36 South. 595 ], involved different questions and cannot be deemed authority in support of appellant’s contention. The meaning of the word “excess,” as here used, is largely a matter of opinion, depending upon the capacity of the individual and liberality of view entertained upon the subject by the individual, whose opinion might again be governed by the time, place, and occasion. (Clinton v. State, 64 Tex. Cr. 446, [ 142 S. W. 591 ]; Biermann v. Guaranty Mut. Life Ins. Co., 142 Iowa, 341 , [ 120 N. W. 963 ].) In the absence of any standard of measurement, the question is one of fact to be determined by the jurors, whose conclusion, as stated, would depend largely upon their views as to what constitutes excess in the use thereof. It cannot be determined upon the quantity used, because of the fact that an amount which might affect one individual would not be noticeable upon another. The most of the testimony bearing upon the question was given by witnesses from Daggett, near which place it appears deceased was engaged in the operation of a mine and from which he, from two to four weeks, went to Daggett, at which times he concededly drank more or less whisky and beer. There is little testimony touching the quantity of
5. In answer to questions 1 and 2 McEwen stated that he was proprietor of a collection agency, in which business he had been engaged for ten years. These questions called for full details, and considering the sufficiency of the evidence to justify the verdict, we must bear in mind that McEwen certified that “I declare, on behalf of myself and of any person who shall have or claim any interest in any insur
[8] 6. In response to question 7, “What illnesses, diseases, or accidents have you had since childhood?” McEwen answered: “Typhoid pneumonia; one attack in 1891; duration two months; severe; complete recovery.” It conclusively and without contradiction appears from the evidence that in July, 1909, just a year prior to making the application for the policy, McEwen, at his mine near Daggett, was injured by being struck or kicked in the chest by the foot of a mule, as a result of which his back was strained and one rib broken; that owing to total disability caused by the injury, he received from an accident insurance company the sum of $25 per week for a period of sixteen weeks, amounting in all to four hundred dollars. The character of the injury was such that it completely rendered him unfit for doing any business whatsoever; that he raised purulent matter and stated to Dr. Garrett that he spat blood, the cause of which, as stated by McEwen and determined by the doctor, was the injury received in this accident, the effect of which was for a time to seriously impair his health. The question not only called for a statement of diseases from which he had suffered since childhood, but as well accidents to which he had been subjected and from which he had suffered. The answer was in effect that he had had no accidents. Notwithstanding the serious nature of the injury suffered from this accident, which disabled him for a period of nearly four months, he concealed from the company all knowledge thereof, the effect of his answer being that he had suffered no such injury from the accident as that shown. That the information was material and suppressed in bad faith admits of little doubt. (Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. McTague, 49 N. J. L. 587 , [ 60 Am. Rep. 661 , 9 Atl. 768 ] ; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Brubaker, 78 Kan. 146 , [ 130 Am. St. Rep. 356 , 16 Ann. Cas. 267, 18 L. R. A. (N. S.) 362 , 96 Pac. 62 ] ; Bryant v. Modern Woodmen of America, 86 Neb. 372 , [21 Ann. Cas. 365, 27 L. R. A. (N. S.) 326 , 125 N. W. 621 ]; McCollum v. New York Life Ins. Co., 124 N. Y. 642 , [ 27 N.
[9] 7. Appellant complains of the fact that the court throughout the instructions told the jury that their verdict depended upon whether or not they found the “statements” made were false; whereas the court should have instructed the jury that if they found any one of the statements false, their verdict should be in favor of the defendant. Since, however, the jury found all of the statements true, the defendant could not have been prejudiced by reason of the instruction given, even if it be conceded erroneous.
[10] 8. Since the court might in its discretion have refused to submit any questions to the jury for a special verdict, no error can be predicated upon the fact that the court refused to submit to the jury certain interrogatories requested by the defendant. (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 625; Pigeon v. Fuller, 156 Cal. 691 , [ 105 Pac. 976 ].)
There are other alleged errors, but in view of what has hereinbefore been said, we deem it unnecessary to discuss them.
For what we conceive to be errors, herein discussed under subdivisions 5 and 6, the judgment and order denying defendant’s motion for a new trial are reversed.
Conrey, P. J., and James, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on September 4, 1919.
All the Justices concurred, except Wilbur, J., who did not participate.
Cases cited
- McEwen v. New York Life Insurance 23 Cal. App. 694 p. 138
- Waring v. Wilcox 8 Cal. App. 317 p. 140
- Jeffries v. Life Insurance 22 Wall. 47 p. 146
- Pigeon v. W. P. Fuller & Co. 156 Cal. 691 p. 147