Majority
Headnote
[1] Like Insurance—Death oe Insured—Circumstantial Evidence. In an action on a policy of life insurance, where the deceased disappeared and no trace of him or of his body was found thereafter, evidence that he was last seen on a certain date near where he was accustomed to going in bathing, and that his clothes were later found in one of the bath-houses, evidence of his conduct toward his wife during their married life, showing that he was very affectionate and very attentive, evidence of his financial condition, showing him to have been possessed of some wealth and a substantial income, and other evidence, such as his lodge affiliations, tending to show the improbability of absence due toThe plaintiff sued the defendant to recover on a certain insurance policy. The jury returned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff, and from a judgment entered thereon the defendant has appealed.
[1] Emil Lesser, the husband of the plaintiff, was last seen at Venice, Los Angeles County, on the second day of November, 1915; at that time he was within a few feet of the bathing-house where he was accustomed to go in bathing two or three times a week. In her complaint the plaintiff alleged that death occurred November 2, 1915, and the proof which she introduced to substantiate her allegation consisted wholly of circumstantial evidence. The plaintiff and the insured were married in 1896 at Birmingham, in the state of Alabama. In 1912 they removed to California, and at the time of the disappearance of the insured the family was residing at a house on East Adams Street. At that time the family consisted of the husband and wife, a daughter, the° wife’s niece, and her nephew, and Mr. and Mrs. Minnis. During their married life the husband’s conduct toward his wife was very affectionate, and very attentive. He left the house in the morning at about 8 o’clock
After the discovery of the personal' effects in the bathroom much publicity was given in the newspapers regarding the disappearance of the insured. Although the bodies of drowned persons are generally drifted to the shore, no body came ashore that was identified as being the body of the insured.
The foregoing facts stand in the record without conflict, although there are some other matters in the record concerning which there is conflicting testimony. The principal question presented by the briefs is as to the sufficiency of the foregoing evidence to support the judgment.
It is statutory in California that a person not heard from in seven years is presumed to be dead. (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 1963, subd. 26.) Neither of the parties to this case contend that the rule so stated is exclusive. However, the appellant claims that he who would bring his case within a
Many exceptions by the appellant as to the admission of evidence are contained in the record; but- all of the objections are disposed of by what we have just said to the effect that it is competent to prove by circumstantial evidence the fact and exact date of death. The jury having found for the plaintiff on the evidence which she introduced that her husband was dead, it had the right to find, and did find by its general verdict, that the husband died November
The ruling, regarding the admissibility of evidence in such cases, also disposes of the contention of the appellant that the plaintiff did not submit proofs of loss. The appellant admits that she submitted numerous affidavits, but the contention of the appellant is that the affidavits contain ex parte statements of only such facts as she developed at the trial and that such facts did not prove, nor tend to prove, the death of the plaintiff’s husband. However, we have ruled against the appellant as to the probative effect of the facts proved by the plaintiff and it follows that her proofs of loss were sufficient. In other words, she was entitled to make her showing to the defendant by affidavits setting forth the same facts which later she showed to the trial court.
[2] The appellant also makes a point on the fact that the trial court did not formally announce that the proofs of loss were admitted in evidence. The record with reference to that matter shows that the first witness called was the plaintiff. Shortly after she had taken the stand the proofs were handed to the witness. She identified them and identified a letter written by her attorney, Mr. Clark, as being copies of the papers which had been transmitted to the defendant April 6, 1916. It was stipulated that the same were received by the defendant about April 14, 1916. Thereupon, Mr. Clark was about to read the papers to the court in the presence of the jury, when Mr. Meserve, attorney for the defendant, objected to the same being read in the presence of the jury because the jury might be unable to confine the papers and the contents thereof as being proof solely of the fact that proofs of death had been made, but might also use the contents of the ex parte affidavits as being evidence of the fact of death, etc. Thereupon, the papers were handed up to the judge presiding at the trial and the attorneys stipulated that he might read the same and if he found the papers sufficient the trial court might thereafter state to the jury that the proofs had been made as of date April 6, 1916. The record does not show that thereafter the trial court made the formal statement which had been contemplated; neither does the
No error has been called to our attention. The judgment is affirmed.
Nourse, J., and Langdon, P. J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on August 15, 1921.
All the Justices concurred except Angellotti, C. J., and Wilbur, J., who were absent.
Cases cited
- Fidelity Mutual Life Ass'n v. Mettler 185 U. S. 308 at 319 p. 239
- Rogers v. Manhattan Life Insurance Co. of New York 138 Cal. 285 p. 239
- Western Grain & Sugar Prod. Co. v. Pillsbury 173 Cal. 135 at 138-140 p. 239, p. 240
- Ashbury v. Sanders 8 Cal. 62 p. 240
- Nelson v. Masonic Mutual Life Ass'n 57 App. Div. 214 p. 240