Majority
Headnote
[1] Workmen’s Compensation Act—Letter of Injured Employee to Insurance Carrier—Explanation of Immediate Necessity of Operation—• Refusal to Act—Liability of Carrier.—Where a letter written by an injured employee to the employer’s insurance carrier explained the immediate necessity of an operation, and the carrier was also in possession of the reports of its own physician sent to it at its request, and showing that such operation was necessary, it was the carrier’s duty to provide the surgical treatment with all possible diligence, and where it failed to do so within a reasonable time, it was liable under section 9(a) of the Workmen’s Compensation Act for the reasonable expenses incurred by the employee in procuring the same.This matter comes before us upon a petition for a writ of review.
Ysmael Olivera was employed in December, 1919, by New-hall Land & Farming Company at a ranch in San Luis Obispo County. The Continental Casualty Company was the insurance carrier. The parties are subject to the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act of 1917 (Stats. 1917, p. 831), as amended in 1919 (Stats. 1919, p. 910). Olivera was injured in the course of his employment, by being thrown from his horse while trying to overtake a runaway team on the ranch. This accident resulted in an injury designated by the physicians as a right inguinal hernia.
The Industrial Accident Commission found that medical treatment by Dr. Brown was furnished to Olivera by the insurance carrier, which treatment extended from the time of the injury until some time in January, 1920. Olivera testified, as also did Dr. Brown, that a truss was fitted and it was hoped that the injury might be repaired in time without the necessity of an operation. Dr. Brown testified that at first the truss seemed to give good results, but later, during his treatment of Olivera, it became apparent that an operation was necessary for a permanent cure and he so informed Olivera. He testified, however, that he had no authority from the insurance carrier to perform the operation and would not have done it himself and that he did not tell Olivera who would be engaged to perform this service. From his testimony it is clear that he had no reason to believe that the insurance company would authorize or pay for any operation. He also testified that up until the end of January he considered the truss satisfactory and effective in curing the injury; that he never informed the insurance carrier that a surgical operation was necessary and was never instructed by them to perform such an operation or to make arrangements to have such an operation performed. Olivera went to his home in Santa Maria after Dr. Brown had done what he could for him without an operation. About May, 1920, he consulted a physician of his own choosing, and was advised by him that an operation was necessary and that strangulation was likely to result from the injury unless the operation was performed at once.
On the same date he addressed a letter to the Industrial Accident Commission, which has been found by it to be an application within the requirements of section 17(a) Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act of 1917. As this matter is the chief point of attack by petitioners herein and must be disposed of in this proceeding, it is necessary to set out such application in full. It reads as follows:
“San Luis Obispo, California, June 8th, 1920. “Industrial Accident Commission,
“525 Market Street, San Francisco, California.
“Gentlemen: On December 18th, 1919, I was injured while in the employ of Newhall Land & Farming Company at their Suey Ranch near Santa Maria. I was given medical treatment by Dr. Brown of Santa Maria but without being permanently cured. A bad case of hernia has developed as a result of the injury and it is in such an aggravated state that the doctor who examined me recently (Dr. P. K. Jackson of San Luis Obispo) advises that an operation is necessary and that a cure or relief cannot be expected otherwise.
“The Newhall Land & Farming Co. were covered under their policy No. 48564 issued by Continental Casualty Company through their San Francisco office. The matter has been reported to the aforesaid Casualty Company. Under date of May 5, 1920 their check was transmitted to me for $38.38 and at the same time they requested my receipt and
final receipt. I wrote to them that I could not accept their money under those conditions as my case requires medical treatment but to this letter I have received no reply.
“The doctors advise that an operation be performed without further delay and have arranged to do so on Thursday of this week, June 10th. I am under the care of Doctor P. K. Jackson and Dr. N. J. Shields of this city.
“I would ask that the matter of my injury be looked into by you and that the aforesaid company be directed to carry out the intent of the Workmen’s Compensation Act.
“I forward a certificate signed by Dr. Jackson to the office of the Casualty Company with my recent letter to them.
“Thanking you for prompt attention, I am,
“Very truly yours,
“Y. Olivera, “A.”
The Industrial Accident Commission acknowledged receipt of this letter and stated that the insurance company desired time within which to get a report from Dr. Brown and would communicate with Olivera further after receiving such a report.
After the original award of the Industrial Accident Commission was made, a rehearing was granted at the request of the petitioners here, and additional evidence was submitted and amended findings and award made. It was found that no treatment was tendered to Olivera in response to his demand of May 28, 1920, on the insurance company, and no intimation was made to him that such treatment would be furnished or forthcoming, and applicant, therefore, on the fourteenth day of June, 1920, obtained such treatment from physicians of his own selection; that the time intervening between said demand and the procuring of such treatment was adequate to give said defendant an opportunity to tender such treatment had it been so disposed. The Industrial Accident Commission, therefore, awarded to Olivera the reasonable .cost of such treatment.
It is contended by petitioners that Dr. Brown, the physician for the insurance company, offered to procure for Olivera an operation several months before it was actually performed, and, therefore, the insurance company is not
Allowance of $93.50 was made to the surgeon performing the operation, which was a substantial reduction of his bill appearing in the record for the sum of $261. An allowance of $158.85 was made for hospital bill and $24 for a nurse. All of these sums seem exceedingly reasonable upon the record before us; indeed, petitioners do not contend that they are unreasonable.
[1] As to the contention that Olivera is not entitled to the reasonable cost of medical attention because Dr. Brown suggested and offered him an operation, which he refused,
[2] The only other objection of petitioners is to the “application” hereinbefore set out. It is contended that this is not an application in proper form; that service of same and a hearing thereon were not had as provided in section 17 of the act. It is further contended that the commission did not regard this letter as an application and that the hearing was not proceeded with until after a more formal application had been filed by an attorney for Olivera. This formal application was not filed until December 19, 1920, which was too late under the provisions of section 11 of said Compensation Act. Unless, therefore, the letter of June 8, 1920, hereinbefore set forth, can be regarded as an “application” the employee is barred from all relief. Let us examine the facts with reference to the filing of the two applications: On June 8, 1920, Olivera, realizing that he could not recover from his injury without further treatment, went to a friend and had him write a letter to the Industrial Accident Commission, setting forth the facts and Olivera’s need for further medical and surgical treatment. This is the letter which has been construed by said commission, in making its award, as an application. No results having been accomplished by this letter, Olivera, being uninformed as to the nature of proceedings before the commission, went to an attorney who had had nothing to do with the earlier letter and was probably uninformed thereof and uninformed of the status of the entire matter, and this attorney filed a formal application in December, 1920. Later, when the full facts were disclosed to another attorney who represented Olivera at the hearing, said attorney insisted, on behalf of his client, that the letter of
Section 17 of the Compensation Act, as amended in 1919, provides that: “Upon the filing with the commission by any party in interest, his attorney, or other representative authorized in writing, of an application in writing stating the general nature of any dispute or controversy concerning compensation, or concerning any right or liability arising out of, or incidental thereto, jurisdiction over which is vested by this act in the commission, a time and place shall be fixed for the hearing thereof, which hearing, unless otherwise agreed to by all the parties thereto, must be held not less than ten days nor more than thirty days after the filing of such application.” Section 11 provides that the period within which proceedings for the collection of compensation may be commenced in a case like the present one is six months.
It would seem that the filing of the application in writing stating “the general nature of the dispute or controversy concerning compensation, or concerning any right or liability arising out of, or incidental thereto,” would “commence proceedings” within the meaning of section 11, in so far as the applicant is concerned; any action which the commission might take or not take after that assuredly cannot be chargeable to him and should not destroy his rights. Most particularly is this true in view of the expressed purposes of the Compensation Act and the spirit in which it has always been construed and applied by our courts. The letter of June 8, 1920, assuredly stated fully the matters required to be stated in an application; the commission has accepted it as an application within the meaning of the Compensation Act, and we agree with the contention of said commission that any clerical inadvertence in overlooking this application, as such, for a time, should not be visited upon the injured employee who has no control over the administration of the offices of the commission and who-has done all that is required of him by an act essentially and primarily enacted for his benefit and protection.
Under all the circumstances of this case and after a very full and careful reading of the entire record, we find no
The award of the Industrial Accident Commission is affirmed.
Sturtevant, J., and Nourse, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the district court of appeal on April 13, 1922, and a petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on May 15, 1922.
All the Justices concurred.
Waste, J., was absent and Richards, J., pro, tern., was acting.