Majority
Headnote
[1] Workmen’s Compensation Act—Computation of Weekly Benefit—Temporary Employment Paying Daily Wage. — Compensation for injuries received by an employee while temporarily working in an employment paying a daily wage which was less than the wage in his ordinary employment was properly computed, under paragraph 4 of subdivision a of section 12 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, on the basis of the wage which he was receiving at the time of the injury, in the absence of any evidence of the daily earnings of an employee of the same class working for the time provided in paragraph 2 in the same or a neighboring place.An award was made in petitioner’s favor under an application to respondent Accident Commission for an allowance of compensation under the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act because of injuries received by petitioner on April 16, 1921, and while working as an employee of respondent Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, hereinafter referred to as the employer. Petitioner by the present proceeding asks us to review the action of the Accident Commission on the ground that the
One of the contentions of petitioner is that a certain weekly benefit allowed by the award was computed upon an improper basis. For a long time petitioner had been in the service of the employer as a riveter at a daily wage of six dollars and forty cents. This employment was interrupted by an illness which was suffered by petitioner and which kept him away from the plant of the employer for a week. On the Monday following this absence he appeared at the place, but asked, on the ground that his strength was not fully restored, that he be put to work temporarily as a rivet passer, that employment paying a daily wage of but four dollars and sixteen cents. Petitioner’s request was granted and he immediately began work in the capacity which called for this lesser wage. He continued in that line of work until Saturday of the same week, by which time it had become understood that he was to return to his ordinary employment as a riveter on the succeeding Monday. On that last day of his service as a rivet passer, however, that is,' on the Saturday mentioned, petitioner suffered the injury because of which he asked respondent Accident Commission to allow him compensation. In awarding him a weekly benefit that body computed it upon the basis of his daily wage of four dollars and sixteen cents instead of upon the daily wage of six dollars and forty cents, as petitioner contends should have been done.
The solution of this question depends upon a construction of portions of section 12 of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act (Stats. 1917, p. 831; Deering’s Consolidated Supplement to Gen. Laws, 1917-21, Act 2143c). The section provides, under subdivision (a), as follows:
“(1) If the injured employee has worked in the same employment, whether for the same employer or not, during at least two hundred sixty days of the year preceding his injury, his average weekly earnings shall consist of ninety-five per cent of six times the daily earnings at the time of such injury where the employment is for six full working days a week. Where- his employment is for five, five and one-half, six and one-half or seven working days a week, the average weekly earnings shall be ninety-five per
cent of five, five and one-half, six and one-half or seven times the daily earnings at the time of the injury, as the case may be.
“ (2) If the injured employee has not so worked in such employment during at least two hundred sixty days of such preceding year, his average weekly earnings shall be based upon the daily earnings, wage or salary of an employee of the same class working at least two hundred sixty days of such preceding year in the same or a similar kind of employment in the same or a neighboring place, computed in accordance with the provisions of the preceding subdivision.
“ (3) If the earnings be. irregular or specified to be by the week, month, or other period, then the average weekly earnings mentioned in subdivisions (1) and (2) above shall be ninety-five per cent of the average earnings during such period of time, not exceeding one year, as may conveniently be taken to determine an average weekly rate of pay.
“ (4) Where the employment is for less than five days per week or is seasonal or where for any reason the foregoing methods of arriving at the average weekly earnings of the injured employee can not reasonably and fairly be applied, such average weekly earnings shall be taken at ninety-five per cent of such sum as shall reasonably represent the average weekly earning capacity of the injured employee at the time of his injury, due consideration being given to his actual earnings from all sources and employments during the year preceding his injury; provided, that the earnings from other occupations shall not be allowed in excess of the rate of wages paid at the time of the injury.”
The parties to this proceeding agree that neither paragraphs (1) nor (3) apply to the question we now consider, petitioner insisting that the point is controlled by paragraph (4) and respondents contending that paragraph (2), the one followed by respondent Accident Commission in making its award, is to govern our decision. We are convinced that the view of respondents is the correct one, if all factors contemplated by paragraph (2) may be found in the record. It is obvious that the clauses “If the injured employee has worked in the same employment” and “If the injured employee has not so worked in such em
The next contention made by petitioner arises under section 9 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act. The section provides that, where liability for compensation exists, the employer shall furnish “such medical, surgical and hospital treatment ... as may reasonably be required to cure and relieve from the effects of the injury.” The section also provides that “in case of his neglect or refusal reasonably to do so, the employer to be liable for the reasonable expense incurred by or on behalf of the employee in providing the same.” Some time after petitioner was injured his parents removed him from the hospital in which he had been placed by the employer, that hospital being the place to which the employer regularly sent its injured employees for treatment, to another hospital, and there placed him under medical care other than that which had been provided for him by the employer at the first hospital. The reason assigned for the removal was that petitioner had not received proper care and attention up to the time of the removal. Respondent Accident Commission refused to allow petitioner his medical and hospital expenses after the removal on the ground that there was a conflict of the evidence as to conditions existing in the hospital in which the employer had placed him, that conflict being resolved against petitioner. We have read carefully all the evidence
We cannot say from the uncontradicted items of the evidence on the subject that the removal of petitioner from the first hospital in which he was placed was justified; that is, we cannot say that those items show that the employer either neglected or refused to furnish to petitioner such medical, surgical, and hospital treatment as was reasonably required to cure and relieve from the effects of the injury which he had suffered. The propriety of this conclusion seems so manifest to us that we do not feel called upon to recite the somewhat voluminous evidence bearing upon the question.
Award affirmed.
Finlayson, P. J., and Craig, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on July 13, 1922.
All the Justices concurred, except Wilbur, J., and Lennon, J., who were absent.
Shurtleff, J., was also absent and Richards, J., pro tem., was acting.
Cases cited
- Ex parte Kohler 74 Cal. 38 p. 677