Majority
Headnote
[1] Indemnity Insurance — Construction of Poiacies — Evidence — Discovery and Notice of Loss—Recovery.-—In this action on an indemnity insurance policy, there having been no evidence of any kind introduced that showed, or tended to show, that the second policy issued by defendant to plaintiff continued the first issued, the trial court should have instructed the jury that the two policies were independent contracts, and not submitted to the jury the question as to whether the parties intended that the second policy should continue the first; and the first policy issued having insured the plaintiff for the period of one year and covered losses “occurring during the term of this bond, or any continuations thereof, and discovered and notified to the surety within six months after the expiration or cancellation of this bond,” plaintiff was not entitled to recover for a loss not discovered and noticed- to defendant within that time.The plaintiff commenced an action against the defendant on an indemnity insurance policy. The plaintiff had judgment and the defendant has appealed under section 953a of the Code of Civil Procedure.
In pleading its case the plaintiff set forth its claims in two separate counts. In the first count it pleaded certain facts and sought to recover the sum of $2,000. In the second count it pleaded certain other facts and sought to recover an additional $11,003.44. During the period that the defendant carried insurance for the plaintiff such insurance was evidenced by a policy dated January 12, 1917; a policy dated December 19, 1917, and a certificate of continuation dated the seventh day of January, 1919. [1] The plaintiff contended in the trial court, and contends in this court, that all of said papers constituted but one policy. If this were so it would be entitled to recover on the first count. If, on the other hand, the policy dated January 12, 1917, is a separate and independent contract, then the plaintiff was not entitled to recover- on the first count pleaded in this complaint. The loss pleaded in the first count was an item of $2,000, which the plaintiff’s "agent embezzled on December 31, 1917, one of the dates covered by the first policy. That policy by its terms insured the plaintiff from the eighth day of January, 1917, to the eighth day of January, 1918, and covered losses “occurring during the term of this bond, or any continuations thereof, and discovered and notified to the surety within six months after the expiration or cancellation of this bond, ...” No loss whatever was notified to the defendant until the fifteenth day of April, 1919. The policy contained a passage, “This bond may be continued from year to year by the payment of the annual premium to the surety, and the issuance by the surety of its continuation certificate.” Other papers in the record show that the practice of the defendant was to issue a new bond or a continuation certificate as might be requested by the insured. No request to the contrary being made, the defendant issued a new bond December
[2] The appellant contends that there is no evidence to show that the plaintiff sustained a loss of $13,003.44. We think the contention is without merit. The evidence shows that Isaac Upham Company is a corporation, and that the Estate of Isaac Upham is another corporation which owns certain real estate which is income property. Isaac Upham Company transacts the business for itself and for the other corporation, Estate of Isaac Upham. The business transactions of both corporations are kept on the books of the plaintiff. The stock of both corporations is owned in equal parts by two brothers, Isaac O. Upham and Benjamin P. Upham. During the period covered by this litigation H. B. Smith was cashier, creditman and general accountant for the plaintiff. The defendant’s bond undertook to reimburse Isaac Upham Company, the employer, for any pecuniary loss sustained by reason of the fraud or dishonesty of its employee, H. B. Smith. The evidence showed that Smith embezzled June 26, 1918, $2,786.62; October 30, 1918, $3,800; January 31, 1919, $3,000; March 24, 1919, $1,415.70. As between the parties to this litigation all of that money was the money of the plaintiff. The bond, by its terms, covered such items whether the moneys were received for either corporation. (Alabama Fidelity & Casualty Co. v. Alabama P. Sav. Bank, 200 Ala. 337 [ 76 South. 103 , 109].)
[3] The appellant contends that prejudicial error was committed by the attorney for the respondent in making his
[4] In its answer the defendant pleaded that the plaintiff had breached certain warranties alleged to have been contained in the policy. After the evidence had all been introduced it appeared that the alleged warranties were contained in the application for insurance. Among other things, questions 12 (a) and 12 (b) called for replies as to what supervision would be had over the person employed, H. B. Smith. The paper ended with this language, “It is agreed that the above answers are to be taken as conditions precedent and as the basis for the said bond applied for or any renewal or continuation of the same, or any other bond substituted in place thereof, ...” Neither one of the policies, nor the certificate of continuation, contained any ref
[5] As we understand the appellant, it claims that if it be held that the statements made in the application are not warranties, in any event, they are false representations, and
What we have just said answers the next attack made by the appellant. That attack is that the court erred in charging the jury that the negligence of the insured was no defense. The trial court did not commit an error in giving that instruction.
The appellant complains of certain other instructions which the trial court gave or refused to give. Bach and all of the instructions so complained about were addressed to the alleged warranties which we have considered above.
The verdict of the jury and the judgment based thereon was for the full amount claimed by the plaintiff. As we have shown, that claim included $2,000 more than the plaintiff was entitled to. The judgment should be modified by deducting $2,000 from the principal sum therein mentioned so that the language will read, “ ... the sum of eleven thousand three and 44/100 ($11,003.44) dollars, with interest thereon at the rate of seven (7%) per cent per annum . . . ” And as so modified the judgment should stand affirmed. It is so ordered.
Langdon, P. J., and Nourse, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on January 11, 1923.
All the Justices present concurred.
Cases cited
- People v. Rowland 12 Cal. App. 6 at 19, at 18 p. 610
- Cooney v. Glynn 157 Cal. 583 at 588 p. 610
- Young v. Pacific Surety Co. 137 Cal. 596 p. 611
- Larrimore v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. 21 Cal. App. 767 p. 611
- Employers' Liability Assurance Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 177 Cal. 771 at 776 p. 611
- Field v. Austin 131 Cal. 379 at 382 p. 612
- Waters v. Merchants' Louisville Insurance 11 Pet. 213 at 219 p. 612
- Gates v. Madison County Mutual Insurance 5 N. Y. 469 at 478 p. 612